We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful!!!!!”
Review of Hotel Nelligan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Nelligan
Ranked #6 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2012

This modest looking (from the outside) hotel nestled on the quiet end of the charming Rue Saint-Paul in Old Montreal is a true "Gem" we were lucky to discover, with the help of Frommers.com.,
and contributed greatly our wonderful four day visit to Montreal. My wife and I recommend it highly and are sure to return.
Frommer called it Montreals most romantic. That it is and much more! From the warm and helpful staff, beautifully appointed rooms, super breakfast (we actually eat IN the open window at street level rather than AT the window---we loved it!), charming lounge with open (4 stories high) atrium,roof top bar and lounge to relax and/or dine in after a day of shopping, museums, biking etc.
Yes we did break our budget a little (we usually try to stay under $200. a day for a hotel)---by about 10 to 15% more BUT the wonderfull experience of this quietly elegant hotel added atleast 20% to our holiday enjoyment. You get what you pay for-----we got it in spades !!!!!
Two tiny tips: Try for a room bellow the floor with the rooftop lounge (a bit noisy late in evening) and bring a small flashlight in case you drop some change or an earing, the lighting in the rooms is a little subdued.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,435 - 1,441 of 2,205 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2012

The good and the bad...bad first. Upon arrival to the hotel we were please to be offered an upgrade from a King Atruim room to a Petite Suite. We were told it was facing Rue St. Paul and had a "bit" of street noise but it has a wonderful hot tub. We were happy and did not mind a "bit of noise". Well it was impossible to fall asleep before 3am!!! Between the bar across the street and cars blaring the horns outside it was dreadful!! I do understand that the noise is not in the hotels control but this was in no way an upgrade.
As for the hotel itself, it was very nice, well decorated the room was very spacious. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooftop bar was a nice afternoon retreat and had pleasant service. The lobby bar staff could use some manners. Overall, if you do not plan on staying in the front rooms then this is a nice hotel to stay at. Do request not to stay in Room #306 or any room facing Rue St. Paul.

Room Tip: Do not stay on the Rue St Paul side of the building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jillywade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

While it's true that Hotel Nelligan is showing signs of wear and tear...and true that the recent
renovation is a bit on the less than stellar side, the level of customer service cannot be beat. My husband and I visited Montreal for the annual Jazz Festival. After canceling our reservation at the Ritz Carlton in exchange for a more authentic experience, we were pleased and pleasantly suprised, to say the least. Hotel Nelligan is in a prime Old Town location walking distance from loads of restaurants, Notre Dame Basilica, shopping, art galleries, the metro and a few museums. We are walkers and enjoyed taking in the sights on foot. Everyone at the front desk were more than helpful, giving us insight into the best restaurants, making reservations without hestitation and making sure we had an all around great Montreal experience.

Now I have to mention a few suggestions: Hotel Nelligan should seriously entertain updating the hotel furniture especially in the rooms/suites. A five star hotel should have five star amenities including nice furniture. We stayed in the petit suite and I noticed that the end tables and desk had some scratches. The televison was not as modern as most would expect in a five star hotel. The "renovated" bathroom contained lower end fixtures, tile work that looked unprofessionally done and uneven paint..which by the way, was an odd blue color. I only mention the color because it seemed they were going for a chic, rustic feel and the blue seemed out of place from the stone and warm colors that encompassed most of the suite. The food in the roof top bar/restaurant was subpar and the staff in the Merchant Boef (I believe that correct name) were simply rude. But their behavior in no way detracts from the charm of the hotel or the majority of its staff who were kind, gracious and attentive in every way.

Room Tip: The petit suites are worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank msritajd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

The location of this hotel is it's best feature. You can walk every where easily from here and I loved the charm of the neighborhood. The rooms are pretty much as represented on their website. I found them to be dark and cold. Can't imagine what it's like in the winter. House cleaning not great. No vacuuming of my room for entire week. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Stay in newer wing, rooms are quieter. Room 314 was incredibly NOISY
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We booked the Nelligan for our anniversary. The staff was friendly and efficient, the romm was large comfortable and quiet, the hotle lounge saff were excellent. the one problem was with our breakfast. We put the room service card out the night before as directed. When the breakfast had not arrived at the appointed time, i check and they had not bothered to pick up our order. Other than that it was a great stay

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

This is my second stay during 2012, both were fantastic. Perfectly located for tourists, great meeting facilities, excellent and friendly service. The rooms are elegant, stocked mini-bar was nice (don't see this much anymore), bed very confortable, and many little pleasant surprises that I don't want to give away...

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpschaefer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

This hotel is so charming and the location (right in the heart of old Montreal) is a great place to get away from it all. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and couldn't do enough for us. It was our first time staying in a boutique hotel since we usually go for the larger chain type hotels and we really enjoyed the experience and would highly recommend it. Our room was beautiful - very high ceilings and superbly decorated - very elegant. We would it very peaceful and relaxing and are glad we chose the Nelligan.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ross B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#8 of 165 in Montreal
2,421 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 165 in Montreal
1,368 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 165 in Montreal
2,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#9 of 165 in Montreal
1,750 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#3 of 165 in Montreal
1,080 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#5 of 165 in Montreal
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nelligan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nelligan

Address: 106 Saint Paul St W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1Z3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Montreal
#5 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#5 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#8 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: £135 - £427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nelligan 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nelligan's elegant accommodations pair century-old stone walls with a chic, modern decor. Natural light flows through the 44 rooms, 59 suites and 2 penthouses, while stately furnishings and high-end amenities punctuate the ambiance. The hotel perfectly accommodates groups with its expansive ballroom (fits up to 400) and 4 modern conference spaces. In the lobby, a regal, four-story atrium provides the perfect respite for an afternoon drink while adjoining Verses Restaurant offers a market-fresh menu. And for a taste of Montreal's mischievous side, Mechant Boeuf serves up delicious cocktails and great music nightly! Room service is also available. Finally, situated atop the elegant property, Terrasse Nelligan delivers unmatched city views! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Nelligan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nelligan Hotel Montreal
Hotel Nelligan Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing