We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect!”
Review of Hotel Nelligan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Nelligan
Ranked #9 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
195 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Almost perfect!”
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We were there for a one night stay to celebrate our anniversary and this hotel was SO romantic! It's also located in the best part of the town (Old Port of Montreal).

The hotel was beautiful, the staff very friendly and helpful. The "Petite suite" (room 302) was huge and we loved the decor... The room perfectly clean. We really appreciated the "Welcome drink" at the bar and the jacuzzi.

The only downside: we had a room overviewing St-Paul Street and the soundproofing was (or at least, felt) non-existent? It was saturday night, the noise from the people and the honking cabs outside was unbearable... To the point they had to move us in the middle of the night.

The other room (321) was also very pretty and very quiet and the jacuzzi was better although it was a little bit smaller compared to the first one.

Still, I think that hotel is the best hotel for a romantic week-end and I strongly recommend it. Just ask for a room as far away from St-Paul's street as possible and everything will be perfect.

We absolutely loved the hotel. The staff has been amazing. We will definitely go back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far as possible from St-Paul's street (because the noise from the street is un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank douceophelie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,094 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,537
    415
    83
    40
    19
See reviews for
211
1,222
57
268
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (486)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
115 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

My sister, husband and I visited this hotel earlier this week. We had a very comfy room with two beds. The hotel is perfectly maintained. Beds and pillows are very good quality and comfortable.

The location of the hotel is a couple of blocks from Notre Dame, a short walk to the symphony and restaurants across the street and more than a half dozen within a five minute walk in either direction of the hotel.

The hotel staff was very professional and accommodating. The concierge made restaurant reccommendations and reservations for us. The staff also arranged for a tour of the city for us. Although all of these are things that most hotel staff will gladly do for you, some just seem to be more willing to do it with ease.

Even the young bellman who had arranged for a taxi to the airport for us, took it very personally when the taxi didn't arrive at the appointed hour. He seemed to take it very personally that the taxi might make us late. He offered to call another taxi and make note of the tardiness of the original taxi. Because we had plenty of time, I assured him that he shouldn't be nervous.

Housekeeping did a good job with the room each day. Everything was in order when we returned from our touring.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goman94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012 via mobile

After many visits to Montreal, this was my first stay at Hotel Nelligan. I arrived late night, check in was super efficient; then off to my room. WOW! Cool, well appointed, with fantastic bathroom; everything from docking station to universal adaptors. Great linen, considered lighting and generally faultless. I'll be back!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcskywalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Perfect location, superb staff and outstanding rooms. We stayed 5 nights and were upgraded to a fabulous junior suite on arrival at no extra cost. Our suite overlooked the main road which was only a problem at about 2am on some mornings when the bar next door closed. The rooftop bar was great for cocktails. We would definately return to the Nelligan.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GJHWilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012 via mobile

Just left Hotel Nelligan, and it was a delightful spot from which to enjoy Old Montreal. The front desk staff is remarkably sweet and attentive, and they effortlessly glide between French and English to meet guests' needs. The hotel has both an upscale and casual restaurant, plus its own great bar with a beautiful indoor courtyard, so entertainment for a low-key anniversary like we just had is practically self-contained at the Nelligan. But the location relative to many other shops, restaurants and the river may be the best thing about the Hotel. We would definitely return!

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We decided that we needed some time out after a family loss. We took a train from Smiths Falls to Montreal Central. From there we took a taxi to our hotel. We enjoyed walking the cobble streets of Old Montreal. Even though the weather was damp and drizzle most of the time. The three days that we spent there were great. It brought back memories of Europe. Our hotel room was very nice. But, the hotel restaurant prices were out of our league. We had a simple breakfast for $35.00 - about $15.00 more than we usually pay. From then on we ate at the surrounding restaurants.
Instead of using the high priced drinks, chips, nuts etc., that were in our room - we purchased them from a small grocery store on the same block as our hotel. For the price that we paid for our room ( $299. a night for small suite - hotel with no swimming pool) I thought that something would be free with the price of the room. Even a small bottle of water was $4.00. I couldn't drink the water from the tap because of the chlorine. I am sensitive to chlorine.
The best part of our trip was relaxing in our hotel room and enjoying the area of Old Montreal " Tres Beau !. We are so happy that we took a train and didn't have to worry about parking or driving. It was the perfect time of year to go by train to enjoy the surrounding colors of autumn.

Room Tip: The hotel is only a block from the water front which was great. Right in Old Montreal close to every...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lena59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

We loved Old Montreal and we loved Hotel Nelligan. Upon check-in, the receptionist suggested a room on a high floor in the back of the hotel. It was quiet and the quality of light was very good as we woke up each morning.

We loved being in the middle of all the action, the lovely restaurants, the waterfront so near for morning walks and evening strolls. We enjoyed our morning breakfasts in the open-air patio with a selection of complimentary English newspapers.

The staff members went out of their way to provide great service and managed to make us feel special even though there were two weddings taking place there during our stay! That took some doing I am sure.

We will return to Hotel Nelligan on our next trip to Montreal. We hope to return soon. Our trip was in mid August and already it seems a lifetime away.

Room Tip: We liked being on the 4th floor in the back of the hotel. It was quiet and our room was large and lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jtybinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#15 of 164 in Montreal
1,933 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 164 in Montreal
1,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#8 of 164 in Montreal
1,666 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#2 of 164 in Montreal
308 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#5 of 164 in Montreal
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nelligan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nelligan

Property: Hotel Nelligan
Address: 106 Saint Paul St W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1Z3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Montreal
#5 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#8 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#8 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nelligan 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nelligan's elegant accommodations pair century-old stone walls with a chic, modern decor. Natural light flows through the 44 rooms, 59 suites and 2 penthouses, while stately furnishings and high-end amenities punctuate the ambiance. The hotel perfectly accommodates groups with its expansive ballroom (fits up to 400) and 4 modern conference spaces. In the lobby, a regal, four-story atrium provides the perfect respite for an afternoon drink while adjoining Verses Restaurant offers a market-fresh menu. And for a taste of Montreal's mischievous side, Mechant Boeuf serves up delicious cocktails and great music nightly! Room service is also available. Finally, situated atop the elegant property, Terrasse Nelligan delivers unmatched city views! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Nelligan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nelligan Hotel Montreal
Hotel Nelligan Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing