We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely Hotel in the heart of old Montreal”
Review of Hotel Nelligan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Nelligan
Ranked #9 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
121 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A lovely Hotel in the heart of old Montreal”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I stayed at the Nelligan for 4 nights in late Sept early October. The hotel is in a great location in Old Montreal which makes it easy to walk to all the attractions such as the Notre Dame Basilica and the Old Port. The area is surrounded by bars restaurants and shops. When I checked in I was told that my room had been upgraded to a suite , which was great. The room was spacious with a really comfortable bed , music system , nespresso coffee , large bathroom with shower and tub with bubbles. The Hotel is a very homely place , with an Atrium Bar and a couple of restaurants attached. It is situated in an old building that has been beautifully renovated. Breakfast offered a buffet or a la carte options. Unusually , the a la carte was better value in my opinion. Overall I found my stay here to be very relaxing and enjoyable. My only gripe (and it's a small one) is that I informed reception that my tv remote battery seemed to be weak and only worked beside the TV set. They said it would be fixed but it was still not working later. These details are important in a Hotel like the Nelligan. I would recommend the Nelligan to people who want to be in the centre of things in a unique luxury Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnny1405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,093 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,536
    415
    83
    40
    19
See reviews for
211
1,221
57
268
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (486)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We spent 4 nights at the Hotel Nelligan and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The service, especially the concierge, was superb. The buffet breakfast everyday was awesome, especially the chocolate croissants. The location was awesome, with many restaurants and shopping in close proximity. We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and will definitely stay there when we return to Montreal,

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 9 October 2013

This is our fourth stay to Hotel Nelligan, and I look forward to many many more. No matter how many events are going on, the rooms are always peaceful, the staff warm and welcoming and knowledgable about their city (and by now they even now our preferences!) They treat us better than family, more like dear friends. The breakfast is superb and with such a great and convenient location it is easy to visit all of Montreal. The decor is classic and appealing, the bathtubs ROCK, the guests rooms very nicely furnished and the gym is quite accessible. This does not feel like a hotel. I look forward to bringing my children next summer. This is my hotel of choice for business, romantic sojourns, family travel or ladies weekend away or quiet time by myself. It is that awesome.

Room Tip: Do not skip the breakfast buffet. It is delectable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

A friend and I recently stayed at Hotel Nelligan for 5 nights for our first ever trip to Montreal. This is a wonderful, friendly and classy hotel in the heart of Old Montreal and I highly suggest making this the place you stay when visiting.

I made our room reservation online through their website a few months ago and it was a very easy process. Prior to our arrival I also corresponded with the Concierge on matters of car rental and restaurant reservations and received very prompt and helpful responses every time.

The hotel gives a great impression upon arrival. All the staff is incredibly friendly and greets you as a friend, you immediately feel welcome. The decor is very classy and elegant and the exposed brick of the walls adds warmth. We were in room 411 with 2 dble beds and it was a very nice, clean room. Pillows, duvet and mattresses are so comfy, the bathroom is spacious with a large tub/shower combo. Good quality towels and bath products. Water pressure was pretty decent, too. Lots of exposed brick in our room really gave it a great feel. Flat screen tv was good and basic internet was free. Pretty good signal, too. Upgraded internet is $9.95 per day.

Maude and Nathalia from the Concierge desk were so friendly and helpful, chatting with them was always a pleasant experience. They gave us stellar restaurant recommendations for Bocata, Holder and Bevo - we never had a bad meal during our entire stay. Dan at the front desk is also very friendly and lots of fun. We did not eat at the hotel restaurant as we chose to head out each night but did have drinks in the bar a couple times and it was very lovely. Lots of comfortable chairs and couches, great service and fairly diverse drink/wine menu.

There is a rooftop terrace as well that affords spectacular views of Notel Dame and Old Montreal. Friendly staff and great atmosphere. My only complaint of the terrace bar is the pretzels we had ended up costing $3 which i thought was unnecessary. Something so small given the cost of drinks should be provided free. It was a small bowl of pretzels from a bag. Just beware that the little snacks on the roof are not free (pretzels, olives, etc).

The hotel is very close to the cruise ship pier and would make a great place to stay the night before or after a cruise although I would highly recommend planning a longer stay because its such a great location in Old Montreal. Lots of great sights including Notre Dame within a few minutes walk.

Definitely a great place to stay in Montreal. You must stay here!

Room Tip: Rooms along Rue St. Paul could be noisy on the weekends - lots of people out and about until late...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Budson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Lovely lovely place. Beautiful hotel, clean, superb staff, great little promos with free wifi and free drinks at the bar. Comfortable room with the best bathtub I've seen in any hotel I've stayed in (several) recently. Great location within Old Montreal. Not my first stay at this hotel, and won't be my last.

Room Tip: Room close to the elevator had quite a bit of traffic and this was rather annoying before 7am when p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VicUpland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlebury, Vermont
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our anniversary break at the Nelligan. The room was charming, the bed amazingly comfortable, and the hotel surprisingly quiet given that there were several wedding parties happening there over the weekend. The staff is lovely and very attentive. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBfromVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmdel, New Jersey
Level Contributor
97 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Hotel Nelligan is right where you want to be, if you intend to spend most of your time in Montreal in the Old part of the city. The staff is attentive and the amenities are what you require. Food on site is very good, but there is plenty of local choices in walking distance that are more reasonable and better to experience the local flavor. But watch your room selection! Although all the rooms are very accommodating, you do not want to be facing Rue St. Paul. Since you are on a main tourist street with several local bar/restaurants on the opposite side of the narrow street, at night, especially on Friday's, the crowds spill into the street to smoke and are quite loud. Seems like they permit bringing their drinks with them, so the stay for a smoke lasts a long time. I was forced to switch rooms to the opposite side of the building which faces a rear alley. Excellent move because the next 2 nights were great!

Room Tip: Do not face Rue St. Paul. Sleep quality directly effected by room location. Street - poor. Rear alle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 164 in Montreal
1,933 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 164 in Montreal
1,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#8 of 164 in Montreal
1,666 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#2 of 164 in Montreal
308 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#5 of 164 in Montreal
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nelligan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nelligan

Property: Hotel Nelligan
Address: 106 Saint Paul St W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1Z3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Montreal
#5 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#8 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#8 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nelligan 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nelligan's elegant accommodations pair century-old stone walls with a chic, modern decor. Natural light flows through the 44 rooms, 59 suites and 2 penthouses, while stately furnishings and high-end amenities punctuate the ambiance. The hotel perfectly accommodates groups with its expansive ballroom (fits up to 400) and 4 modern conference spaces. In the lobby, a regal, four-story atrium provides the perfect respite for an afternoon drink while adjoining Verses Restaurant offers a market-fresh menu. And for a taste of Montreal's mischievous side, Mechant Boeuf serves up delicious cocktails and great music nightly! Room service is also available. Finally, situated atop the elegant property, Terrasse Nelligan delivers unmatched city views! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, TravelClick, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Nelligan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nelligan Hotel Montreal
Hotel Nelligan Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing