We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Location in the Old City”
Review of Hotel Nelligan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Nelligan
Ranked #8 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
West Palm Beach
Level 6 Contributor
362 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“A Great Location in the Old City”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The hotel is conveniently located between Notre Dame Cathedral and the river which was our chief criteria for it's selection. It is also walking distance from downtown with many nearby restaurants. The room was clean and well furnished. The desk staff and concierge were extremely helpful and friendly. The price was a higher than I would have liked, but that is the cost of wanting a prime location in a city.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FloridaSunDevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,567
    423
    85
    40
    19
See reviews for
223
1,245
57
270
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Stayed in the petite suite for 2 nights. The room was wonderful - well decorated and cozy, fireplace and jacuzzi tub were a nice touch. The staff really made the stay special - they were extremely friendly and helpful all around - from the valet to the front desk staff, concierge, and bar/restaurant staff. We are looking forward to coming back! The location (in the center of the old town) can't be beat, and the attention to detail shows throughout the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chrystinadc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

My husband and I visited the Nelligan in October 2013 for an overnight jaunt from Ottawa. When we arrived (a little earlier than planned) the friendly desk clerk stated that she had some "bad news" for us -- I feared the worst because the hotel was hosting two weddings (!) that weekend. Turns out the "bad news" was that we couldn't yet check in (we weren't expecting to since we were early) but to compensate us, we were upgraded to the penthouse suite! Wow!

Later that afternoon, we went up to the room ("room" - it was larger than my first apartment!) and were delighted at the space, which included a full kitchen (with dishwasher and full-sized fridge), private balcony and two bathrooms. Wonderful! Also, the staff was attentive without being intrusive, which can sometimes be the case in smaller hotels. We asked the concierge where she recommended we eat because we were in the mood for italian; she not only recommended a wonderful restaurant, but called ahead to get us a reservation on a very busy Saturday night. And it should be said that even with the hustle and bustle of the extensive other parties in the hotel over the weekend, we never felt neglected, nor was noise an issue.

I would definitely recommend this to friends and family, and will visit again.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the river can be a little breezy, which we enjoyed but others might find the water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LFD816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waldoboro, Maine, USA
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

My parents and I recently spent three wonderful nights at this charming boutique hotel in the heart of Old Montreal. The staff were always smiling and very extremely helpful. They were always ready to answer any question -- even where to find fresh croissants for breakfast. The location is a perfect base for walking around the old port.. We would definitely go back!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side may be a bit quieter.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank otjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Stayed here for only one night, but I wish we could have stayed longer. When we checked in they told us that we had been upgraded to a penthouse, which is always a great surprise! The room was more like a loft style apartment. It had a full kitchen, large dining room table, living room, separate bedroom and huge outdoor terrace with enough seating for a party. Too bad it was just the two of us and only one night. It's an excellent location if you're looking to be in the Old Port area and everything is walking distance from this hotel. I'd recommend staying here in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: We booked a petit suite and were upgraded to a Penthouse suite. I think all of the rooms are great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristineL1084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

I really enjoyed my stay and highly recommend it. I am a big fan of modern hotels but lots of times get disappointed because in a lot of places modern means lack of space and poor service. Definitely not the case here.

Rooms are extremely well decorated (modern and very elegantly) and staff is top notch. They gave me only great suggestions and always made sure to keep me happy.

Location is sensational, in the heart of old Montreal, steps away from the old port, Norte dame church and lots of galleries and restaurants. This was only my first visit to Montreal, so westmount and the museum mile could be good neighborhoods to try, but anyway, I really enjoyed to be in the old town.

Food was good, although I did not find breakfast to be very exciting (but not bad at all). Not a big issue since one can find great breakfast spots 5 minutes away, Had lunch twice in Verses restaurant, and food was very good.

Worth noticing that they gave complimentary bottle of water every night alongside a couple of Swiss chocolates. And wifi is free,

Overall, extremely satisfied with the hotel. Highly recommend it.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Arielmorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

Excellent hotel in the old part of Montreal. Fantastic location amidst plenty of restaurants and bars. Comfy and welcoming design and very friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are spacious and spotlessly clean with large comfortable beds. Great amenities and minibar. Had a couple of nice lunches in the restaurant. Thoroughly recommend!

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Rnjbowden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#6 of 165 in Montreal
2,341 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 165 in Montreal
1,342 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 165 in Montreal
1,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#9 of 165 in Montreal
1,706 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#2 of 165 in Montreal
357 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#4 of 165 in Montreal
1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nelligan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nelligan

Property: Hotel Nelligan
Address: 106 Saint Paul St W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1Z3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#5 Business Hotel in Montreal
#7 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#8 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nelligan 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nelligan's elegant accommodations pair century-old stone walls with a chic, modern decor. Natural light flows through the 44 rooms, 59 suites and 2 penthouses, while stately furnishings and high-end amenities punctuate the ambiance. The hotel perfectly accommodates groups with its expansive ballroom (fits up to 400) and 4 modern conference spaces. In the lobby, a regal, four-story atrium provides the perfect respite for an afternoon drink while adjoining Verses Restaurant offers a market-fresh menu. And for a taste of Montreal's mischievous side, Mechant Boeuf serves up delicious cocktails and great music nightly! Room service is also available. Finally, situated atop the elegant property, Terrasse Nelligan delivers unmatched city views! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Nelligan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nelligan Hotel Montreal
Hotel Nelligan Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing