We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel in Old Montreal”
Review of Hotel Nelligan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Nelligan
Ranked #9 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Hotel in Old Montreal”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

My wife and I recently spent a weekend in Montreal and stayed at the delightful Hotel Nelligan in the old port section of the city. First off, the location is fantastic, tucked in behind the Notre Dame Basilica on Rue St. Paul, a narrow, winding, cobblestone street packed with dozens of fantastic restaurants, bars and boutiques. You could basically spend a week and never have to venture farther than a few hundred yards from the hotel. But Montreal is very walkable, making this an excellent location for seeing the whole city. The hotel itself is beautiful, having undergone a recent multi-million-dollar reno. Lots of exposed brick walls and wood beams from the original building mixed in with modern design finishes. The lobby is very inviting and the bustling bar and restaurant give the place a very "happening" feel. The staff were all extremely friendly and efficient and greeted us with vouchers for complimentary drinks at the bar. Our room was lovely: spacious, spotless, quiet and very comfortable. The rates were also very very reasonable given the quality of the accommodations. Because of the time of year, the rooftop bar was closed, but I gather it's a real neighbourhood hotspot during the warmer months. We hope to get back again soon to check it out.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThatJonesBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,093 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,536
    415
    83
    40
    19
See reviews for
211
1,221
57
268
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (486)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
189 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We spent an evening in old Montreal and decided to book this place for one night.. This is a very nice hotel close to many restaurants and bars. Very charming, the rooms are great! Old brick walls, fireplace, nice bathroom. Ipod station, nice entertainment system and free internet.

A very romantic hotel! Highly recommended for romantic escape! :)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank expatsing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

As quaint as the Hotel was, as perfect as its location was, as romantic was the room, the staff still made the experience. We received nothing but the best treatment by every single member of the staff. Courteous, outgoing, helpful, they gave great recommendations and explained everything perfectly for My wife and my first trip to Montreal together. We had a few in room meals that hit the spot perfectly and even the bartenders were helpful. We couldn't ask more for a romantic getaway and I can't see a reason to ever stay anywhere else in Montreal

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BoscoWindsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Nelligan for our 3rd year Anniversary and it was amazing. This was our first time visiting Canada and wanted to stay in Old Montreal. The reviews on this hotel were fantastic and decided to book it, especially since they were running a special where you get 50% off your second night. When we got to the hotel we were greeted by valet/bellhop/door men who took our bags and parked our car for the duration of our stay. Parking is a little expensive, but it is totally worth it. The concierge and all of the hotel employees were extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel room itself was amazing!!! We got a petite suite, which had an extremely comfortable king size bed, a fireplace that was just what we needed after walking back to the hotel after dinner, and an amazing shower and large jacuzzi tub! Everything was better than we expected during our stay at Hotel Nelligan. We also got two $11 vouchers at the hotel's bar, which was a nice little incentive to get drinks there. The hotel is also in a fantastic location and is within walking distance to many bars, restaurants, cafes, museums, shopping etc. We are so happy that we chose this hotel to stay at and the next time we visit Montreal, we will be sure to return. If you stay at Hotel Nelligan you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharda19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Our first trip to Montreal and here we are at the Nelligan. What an amazing experience. Upon arrival the door men and reception staff were wonderful, friendly and excited to see us. We were shown to our room, (406) and could not believe that we would be staying in such a romantic and huge room. Fire place, king sized bed, writing dest and sofa. The bathroom was beautiful with a tub, (that we used every night) fit for two, jets and all. The care amenities have the most beautiful smell and in fact you can smell the scent from blocks away when walking toward the hotel!! We were very central to the most gorgeous tapas and dining experiences we have ever had. We are pretty hopeless at speaking french but that did not stop us from trying and were received with a warmth from everyone we met. We walked so much and saw just about everything one could see given the time we had. But there is a certain relaxed and carefree feel to the Montreal we saw and we loved that. We soon found ourselves strolling down these ancient cobbled streets, people watching and taking in the sounds and scents of this beautiful city. We walked to St. Catherine's and did some serious shopping too. We love taking in a tour on our first day as we do anywhere we go and the guide was very informative. Notre Dame Cathedral is a must see. Overall, we must say that even though we did not see Montreal in the high tourist season, there is still so much to do and see and I strongly suggest staying at the Nelligan while you do.

Room Tip: There is no spa on site at the Nelligan so if you are planning on having a pedicure while on holiday...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zsssssss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Stayed for the weekend, it was a wonderfully relaxing trip. We arrived prior to check in time (about 12) & they asked us to take a seat in the lobby, our room was ready within 15 min. They gave us complimentary drink tickets so we enjoyed mimosas! We booked a petite suite with king bed. It was very spacious had a living room area and a small table and chairs. The fireplace was great visually & it did actually make the room warm too! The bathroom was huge had a jacuzzi tub and very large rain shower. The service was great they turned down the bed, left water & chocolates every evening. Everyone was very friendly & welcoming. The valet had your car available very quickly too. It is located in a great area, you can walk to a lot of bars, restaurants & cafes.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nyc1acc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

As a newly married couple on honeymoon, the Hotel Nelligan was the ideal place to stay in Montreal. Located in Old Montreal there is no shortage of nearby bars, restaurants and art galleries to visit. Also it's within easy walking distance of the majority of tourist destinations. The hotel itself has beautiful decor, our room was spacious and had a romantic fireplace as well as a whirlpool bath. The staff are very friendly too.
Downsides - thin walls between rooms can make for an earlier than planned wake-up call in the morning! And very pricey room service (a shame, as there were no in-room trait coffee making facilities).
However - highly recommended all in all!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Freya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#15 of 164 in Montreal
1,934 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 164 in Montreal
1,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#8 of 164 in Montreal
1,666 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#2 of 164 in Montreal
308 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#5 of 164 in Montreal
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nelligan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nelligan

Property: Hotel Nelligan
Address: 106 Saint Paul St W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1Z3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Montreal
#5 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#8 Family Hotel in Montreal
#8 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nelligan 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nelligan's elegant accommodations pair century-old stone walls with a chic, modern decor. Natural light flows through the 44 rooms, 59 suites and 2 penthouses, while stately furnishings and high-end amenities punctuate the ambiance. The hotel perfectly accommodates groups with its expansive ballroom (fits up to 400) and 4 modern conference spaces. In the lobby, a regal, four-story atrium provides the perfect respite for an afternoon drink while adjoining Verses Restaurant offers a market-fresh menu. And for a taste of Montreal's mischievous side, Mechant Boeuf serves up delicious cocktails and great music nightly! Room service is also available. Finally, situated atop the elegant property, Terrasse Nelligan delivers unmatched city views! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Nelligan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nelligan Hotel Montreal
Hotel Nelligan Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing