We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Nelligan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Nelligan
Ranked #9 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“Outstanding experience”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I went to the Hotel for business and fell in love with it . First, the welcoming and the staff was extraordinary , you could genuinely feel that they do care for you. The dining was an exquisite experience not only for the quality of the Chef but for the diversity of choices as well.. If you visit the Old Montreal ,it is a Must.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Nelligan, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nelligan, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear M. Bernard,

We would like, to thank you for your great words! Be assured that your comments, have been shared with the Chef and his team!
We hope to welcome you again at Le Nelligan, we wish you a nice summer!

Warm regards!

Daisy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,038 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,496
    402
    81
    40
    19
See reviews for
203
1,191
57
258
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Nelligan in Old Montreal on a Sunday Night in April and it was wonderful...rooms, service and staff all top notch...they make everyone feel important!

The front desk clerk Claudia and the concierge Nathalia went above and beyond to assist us with dinner reservation and both were extremely helpful, polite and a delight to speak to during our stay...we will be back for the 2014 Jazz Festival this summer due to Nathalia great suggestion and the Hotel Nelligan will be our place to stay when we visit Montreal!!

:)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SNolan4226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Nelligan, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nelligan, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Guest Noland 4222,

I would like first of all, to thank you for having stayed with us. Your great words and comments have been shared within the team, especially with Claude (front-desk) and Nathalia (concierge). We can't wait to welcome you again at Le Nelligan this summer!

Warm regards from Montreal!

Daisy and Nelligan Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I stayed at this beautiful hotel for 4 nights (4/16-4/20/14). What a great hotel. The room was huge, exposed brick walls, views of the water, bed was so comfortable that I slept so well, and the room was very clean. It is in a great location right in the middle of Old Montreal, near many great restaurants and nightlife.

Claude, and the rest of the staff at the front desk, was very helpful and friendly. Claude was able to help me find some great restaurants and ideas of what to do. She went out of her way to make sure that everything was taken care of for me. I traveled by myself and always felt very safe.

When, not if, I come back I will make sure that it is in the summer time so I can enjoy their roof top! I will be back soon!

Thank you for making my stay in Montreal so wonderful!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raftiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Nelligan, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nelligan, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Guest Raftiny,

We would like to thank you very much for your great words. Your comments have been given directly to Claude and shared with the entire team. Again, Mrs. Raftiny, we thank for staying with us at Le Nelligan, and we wish you a great summer!

Daisy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
126 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I just completed a business trip to Montreal with a colleague and this was my second stay at the Hotel Nelligan. It is a wonderful place especially if you only have a few days in the city. Old Montreal is a must see and the hotel could not be in a better location. There are great restaurants and shopping in the area and the Notre Dame Cathedral is one block away. The roof top bar is one of the best in the city, breakfast is great, the rooms are terrific and the staff is friendly. This is my "go to" place to stay in Montreal and I look forward to coming back again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marad12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Nelligan, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nelligan, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear M.Mourad,

I would like to take this opportunity, to really thank you for your great comments on TripAdvisor. It is always a pleasure for us, to read, that our guest enjoyed their Nelligan experience!
We will be glad to welcome you again!

Have a wonderfull summer!

Daisy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose
Level Contributor
106 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The Nelligan is a lovely hotel in the Vieux Montreal. The interior is tastefully done accenting the old building that houses the hotel. The rooms also reflect this old world charm but with modern ammenities such as a bar fridge, large tub, and flat screen TV.

The front desk staff are very helpful. The lounge area provides a nice ambiance for a drink prior to setting out for the night (order the smoked nuts).

My room was spacious enough for my needs. The work area chair and desk were comfy as I put in a few hours of work. The large tub an excellent tonic to soak away the efforts of the day.

The two downsides to the room were the view; there was none. And I was on the 4th floor just below their roof top restaurant and bar. I could hear all the high heels and chairs scrapping above my head. I would not recommend the 4th floor rooms.

Room Tip: Avoid the 4th floor under the roof top bar and restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freeamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Nelligan, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nelligan, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear M. Freemac,

First and foremost, I would like to thank you,for taking the time to share your experience. I am really sorry to read that you have been disturbed by high heels and chairs scrapping above year head. We will make sure, to put a specific note on your reservation and update your profile for your next stay, in order to avoid any noise coming from the roof!

I wish you from the entire team, a great summer!

Warm regards from Montreal!

Daisy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We spent two nights and found both the hotel and staff terrific. For a small extra charge we upgraded to a small suite and it was well worth it. Spacious,well appointed and a nice view of the river. The location is in the heart of Old Montreal with easy access to the Metro. The concierge was very helpful with good recommendations for restaurants and bakeries. The fitness center is small but well equipped. We only had breakfast in the hotel but it was very good. Definitely a place to revisit.

Room Tip: If available try a small suite versus a king room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Nelligan, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nelligan, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear M. Alan,

We would like to thank you, for sharing your positive comment. it is always a pleanure to read that our guest had a an enjoyable stay!
From the entire team we wish you a wonderfull summer!

Daisy and Front office team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed at Hotel Nelligan for Easter weekend. It exceeded expectations in every way. Most of all, the hotel staff was the friendliest and most helpful of any hotel I've stayed at. We used the concierge service daily and Nicolas helped us select the restaurant styles we were looking for, and took the extra step to ensure we received reservations at the times we desired. Each restaurant he suggested to us met our criteria and we would not have identified them on our own if not for his help. Every question we had was easily addressed.

The hotel is in amazing condition and well kept. The restaurants/bars at the hotel offer different experiences depending on your mood, and they all deliver on those expectations with the sophistication and quality you would desire.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Nelligan, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nelligan, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear M. Dave,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your great words. We are glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay at Le Nelligan, and that Nicolas (concierge) has taken the opportunity to exceed your excpectations!

Warm regards!

Daisy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#8 of 163 in Montreal
1,626 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#13 of 163 in Montreal
1,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#7 of 163 in Montreal
1,006 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 163 in Montreal
1,284 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Bonaparte
Hotel Bonaparte
#4 of 163 in Montreal
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nelligan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nelligan

Property: Hotel Nelligan
Address: 106 Saint Paul St W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1Z3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Montreal
#5 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#8 Family Hotel in Montreal
#8 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nelligan 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nelligan's elegant accommodations pair century-old stone walls with a chic, modern decor. Natural light flows through the 44 rooms, 59 suites and 2 penthouses, while stately furnishings and high-end amenities punctuate the ambiance. The hotel perfectly accommodates groups with its expansive ballroom (fits up to 400) and 4 modern conference spaces. In the lobby, a regal, four-story atrium provides the perfect respite for an afternoon drink while adjoining Verses Restaurant offers a market-fresh menu. And for a taste of Montreal's mischievous side, Mechant Boeuf serves up delicious cocktails and great music nightly! Room service is also available. Finally, situated atop the elegant property, Terrasse Nelligan delivers unmatched city views! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TravelClick, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Nelligan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nelligan Hotel Montreal
Hotel Nelligan Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing