We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy Excellence”
Review of Hotel Nelligan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Nelligan
Ranked #9 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Lexington
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Classy Excellence”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Amazing service from the moment we walked into the hotel. Wonderful rooftop bar. Excellent location. Beds were comfortable and room was clean. No complaints, I loved my stay! (I didn't stay in 2013, my stay was in 2007 I believe)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mgonzalez275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Nelligan, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nelligan, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear M. mgonzalez275,

We thank you for staying with us and thank you for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor. From the entire team, we wish you a great summer and we hope to welcome you back again at Le Nelligan!

Warm regards!

Daisy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,553
    419
    84
    40
    19
See reviews for
216
1,233
57
270
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northport, New York
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We spent a weekend at Hotel Nelligan for a wedding in Montreal. This is a boutique hotel, very cozy, and while I think we had the best view in the hotel (room 505) the view was not much to brag about. However, the Jacuzzi, fireplace (electric) and the convenience to the room restaurant were awesome.

Service was good (although we did have to edit the hotel bill as somebody had put our room # down in one of the restaurants), and I did find valet parking a bit expensive ($30 per day).... but then again.. location, location, location.

Room Tip: Get room 505
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andal03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Nelligan, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nelligan, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear guest M. andal03,

We thank you very much for sharing your comments. We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us!

Warm regards

Daisy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coral Gables, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
345 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here over the Memorial Day holiday. From the moment we stepped in the door we were greeted with friendly staff who were very welcoming and accommodating. We were checked in quickly and questions answered and suggestions and directions offered.

The room was very comfortable, clean and cool. The bed was one of those beds you wish you had at home. We had a petite suite so we had lots of space as well as a fireplace which we didn't use. There was a safe. Nice toiletries. Good sized bathroom. Good blow dryer which I appreciate having long hair that takes a while to dry.

The concierge was very friendly and helpful.

We visited the terrace restaurant for lunch. It was excellent. I visited the lobby restaurant for breakfast. That was a little disappointing.

All in all, this was a great choice for our first ever visit to Montreal. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Nelligan, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nelligan, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Cynthia G,

I would like from the entire hotel staff to thank you for your great comments on TripAdvisor. We are happy to read that it was your first time in Montréal and we hope it won't be the last!
We wish a nice summer and wish to welcome you back very soon at Le Nelligan!

Daisy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We splurged for an anniversary and stayed in a large suite with a jetted tub and fire place and do not regret the upgrade. It was worth every penny- beautiful, large and the bed was extremely comfortable. The staff was nothing but nice and we got a little note congratulating us on our anniversary. Roof top restaurant was perfect for lunch and the adjoining restaurant/bar is just as gorgeous.

As others have mentioned the location is wonderful- and since it is located on a main street the noise from the bar close by can be a little loud on a Saturday night- nothing a pair of ear plugs couldn't fix.

Room Tip: Book the large suites for an AMAZING bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arswift04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Nelligan, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nelligan, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear guest arswift04,

We would like to thank you for sharing your impressions on TripAdvisor. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your experience with us, and that your expectations were met in term of service and hotel facilities!
We hope to welcome you back very soon, at the meantime, we wish you a great summer!

Daisy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Loved this boutique hotel! The staff was extremely friendly and helpful! Hotel Nelligan small, elegant and in a great location in Montreal. Beds were comfy, room size large, and very clean! I chose this over the Ritz and would do it again! Can't wait to return to Montreal and stay at the Hotel Neligan!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MovieQueen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Nelligan, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nelligan, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear MovieQueen 2,

We would like to sincerely thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. It is always a pleasure to see that our guest enjoyed their experience with us!
We wish to welcome you back in a very near future, meanwhile, have a nice summer!

Daisy and front office team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Our second stay. Love the location in Old Montreal. Walking distance to everything and near the water front. Great old brick building with charming inner atrium. Attentive staff at the front desk and knowledgable concierge. The roof top bar is fun with a festive cocktail list. The first night our AC didn't work and they were unable to fix it. We slept with the windows open, but the problem is the Saturday night revelers on St. Paul Street, so we didn't sleep great. They moved our things next morning to another room. Rooms cover all the amenities and many have a fireplace. The new ones have bigger bathrooms, but the old ones have the charming brick walls and old world charm. Comfortable beds with lots of down pillows. We will certainly choose The Nelligan on another trip to Montreal.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior king with a brick wall and a fireplace. If road noise bothers you, stay off St. P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Nelligan, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nelligan, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Lauren B,

We thank you so very for your good words! It is a great pleasure to read that our guest have enjoyed their stay with us!
We hope, to welcome you back very soon at Le Nelligan, meanwhile, we wish you a great summer!

Warm Regards

Daisy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed here recently while going to Montreal to see a Habs playoff game, and it is an amazing hotel. It is a beautiful hotel that has been nicely modernized, yet still maintains that old feeling that you would expect from a place in Old Montreal.

The thing that really sets this hotel apart, in my opinion, is the service. From the time that we pulled up to the valet parking til the time that we checked out, we were treated like royalty. The staff did everything in their power to ensure that our stay was a great one, and they even made an effort to try and find things for us to do while visiting Montreal. Their eyes lit up even more once we told them that they were going to the game, and the next morning they even asked us how the game was the night before.

We also ate lunch at the hotel restaurant, and although the lunch menu is a bit limited, they have one of the best club sandwiches that I have ever eaten! Also, the french fries served with the sandwich are delicious!

Although it is a bit pricey, I would absolutely recommend the Hotel Nelligan to anybody that is visiting Montreal. The location is perfect, and the hotel is worth every penny. I will certainly be back in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Nelligan, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nelligan, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear M. Mark N,

Thank you kindly for your good words, I am proud to read Le Nelligan made it onto your list of favorite hotels in Montréal!
We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back in a near future!

Warm regards form Montréal!

Daisy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 164 in Montreal
1,960 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 164 in Montreal
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#8 of 164 in Montreal
1,692 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#2 of 164 in Montreal
334 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#5 of 164 in Montreal
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nelligan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nelligan

Property: Hotel Nelligan
Address: 106 Saint Paul St W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1Z3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#5 Business Hotel in Montreal
#8 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#8 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nelligan 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nelligan's elegant accommodations pair century-old stone walls with a chic, modern decor. Natural light flows through the 44 rooms, 59 suites and 2 penthouses, while stately furnishings and high-end amenities punctuate the ambiance. The hotel perfectly accommodates groups with its expansive ballroom (fits up to 400) and 4 modern conference spaces. In the lobby, a regal, four-story atrium provides the perfect respite for an afternoon drink while adjoining Verses Restaurant offers a market-fresh menu. And for a taste of Montreal's mischievous side, Mechant Boeuf serves up delicious cocktails and great music nightly! Room service is also available. Finally, situated atop the elegant property, Terrasse Nelligan delivers unmatched city views! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Nelligan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nelligan Hotel Montreal
Hotel Nelligan Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing