We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality boutique hotel in excellent location.”
Review of Hotel Nelligan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Nelligan
Ranked #6 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed at the Nelligan Hotel in Montreal for 3 nights in early June. It was an excellent location situated in the Old City and provided us with an ideal base for visiting the attractions nearby. The rooms are very spacious with comfortable beds and all the facilities you need. The concierge service was particularly helpful providing us with excellent recommendations for nearby restaurants and help in planning trips. It would certainly be our hotel of choice if we visited Montreal again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Crockett55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Nelligan, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nelligan, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear M.Crockett 55,

We would like to thank you for your great feedback on trip advisor. We are happy to read that you had a great stay with us, we hope to welcome you back very soon at le Nelligan, and at the meantime, we wish you a nice summer!

Warm regards!

Daisy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,172)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Nelligan
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

942 - 948 of 2,174 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

Quality hotel, ideal location, excellent Versus Restaurant. Creative and imaginitive food.
Front of house staff were particularly competent and helpful. Martin in the restaurant and Nicolas the concierge were outstanding.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Nelligan, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nelligan, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear M.Alan G,

We thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. It is always a great pleasure to read that our guest had a nice experience with us!
We hope to welcome you back very soon!

warm regards from Montréal!

Daisy and team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

A hotel that truly understands service. From the second we walked in we were treated like royalty. The rooms are very nice with great beds. The location is perfect for wandering around old Montreal. The concierge service is very helpful .

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Matthew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Nelligan, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nelligan, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear M.Matthew W,

We would like from the entire team to thank you for your nice words. We are happy to read that you had a great moment at Le Nelligan!
We hope to welcome you back very soon, and at the meantime we wish you a nice summer!

Daisy and Front desk team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here and absolutely loved it. Perfect location, amazing room with a hot tub and fireplace (upgraded for free). Very old building with beautiful exposed brick and very crooked floors that added to the charm. The "Terrace" aka rooftop patio was dangerous, we spent too much money and drank too much because it is so nice and convenient.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Nelligan, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nelligan, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for the comments you shared on TripAdvisor. It is always nice to read that our guest had a good time and did enjoy their stay with us!

War regards!

Daisy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Nice hotel, friendly staff and located in the heart of Old Montreal. Really nice patisserie around the corner and many good restaurants. Our room was quiet and nicely done. Bathroom was a bit on the small size but worked fine for our needs. If you're looking for a quality hotel with a great location in old Montreal, we'd definitely recommend Hotel Nelligan.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank T K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Nelligan, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nelligan, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear M.T K,

We would like to thank you for your great review. It is always a pleasure to read that our guest enjoyed their experience with us!
We hope to welcome you very soon, we wish you a nice summer!

Daisy and front offcice team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We liked this hotel very much and will return next time we go to Montreal. The public areas are attractive, including the exposed-brick atrium serving as an atmospheric breakfast venue. The hotel's Verses restaurant was very good, and the rooftop Terrasse bar-restaurant, with its excellent view, is an enjoyable place for a light lunch.

We would have given the hotel 5 stars if our standard room had been more attractive. Although most rooms shown on the website have an exposed-brick wall, ours didn't - both the walls and upholstery were brown-ish and uninteresting. With hindsight we should have asked if there was another room with more atmosphere, but the front desk was already accommodating us by allowing us to check in early and the room we were given was quiet, as we had requested. And to be fair, the concierge did graciously call us after we were all unpacked asking if the room was satisfactory, but at that point the "transaction cost" of a move didn't seem worth it.

The hotel's location is very convenient for exploring the old city of Montreal. On the way in from the airport, our cab driver opined that it's the best hotel in town. He could well be right, and as previously stated this will be our pick next time in Montreal.

Room Tip: Request a quiet room with an exposed-brick wall.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank villagesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Nelligan, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nelligan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear guest villagesq,

We would like to thank you for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor. We feel sorry, that you did not stop by the front desk to have your room change, as the décor was not what you were expecting.
If in a near future, you are planning to stay with us, Please do not hesitate to ask for a room that has bricks-décor when making your reservation!

Warm regards from Montreal,

Daisy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I stayed one night at Hotel Nelligan on a recent business trip to Montreal. The hotel is right in the heart of Hotel Montreal and if I had to choose one word to describe it, it would be "classy".

Upon arriving to the hotel I was greeted by the doorman and escorted to the front desk. I was promptly checked in and given my room keys. I had a room on the second floor.

The room was nicely decorated. It had an old exposed brick wall which is likely part of the original old building that had been sand blasted and restored for the hotel renovation. The room was finished in pleasing neutral tones. It had a nice desk where I was able to get some work done on my laptop. The wifi was free and fast enough for web surfing.

The room had a small JBL stereo system that was on playing CBC Radio 2 when I came into the room. The sound was quite good. I travel with a JBL Charge bluetooth speaker, so switched over to that once I was settled in so didn't use the JBL system. I also didn't use the television.

The bathroom was nicely equipped with pleasant shampoo, soap, conditioner and shower gel. It had a hair dry and plenty of towels. I prefer a stand up shower separate from the tub, but this had the tub/shower combo. The only complaint I have is that when cold water only was selected for the shower it had a lot of pressure but as soon as you added warm water the pressure dropped for some reason.

I did grab lunch at their restaurant downstairs and the food and service were both phenomenal. Definitely recommend checking out the restaurant if you have time. I also had a beer in the bar before heading out for the evening. Again, great service and atmosphere.

The bed was comfortable and I slept well. Check out was fast and efficient. I left too early to try the breakfast.

If you are looking for a classy place to stay in Old Montreal, I would strongly recommend Hotel Nelligan.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kuttermax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Nelligan, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nelligan, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear M. Kuttermax,

We would like to thank for your sharing your great words on TripAdvisor. It is always a pleasure to read that our guest have enjoyed their stay with us.
We hope that in a near future, we will have the pleasure to welcome you again!

Warm regards from Montréal

Daisy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#8 of 165 in Montreal
2,382 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 165 in Montreal
1,354 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 165 in Montreal
2,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#9 of 165 in Montreal
1,730 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#5 of 165 in Montreal
388 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#4 of 165 in Montreal
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nelligan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nelligan

Address: 106 Saint Paul St W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1Z3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#5 Business Hotel in Montreal
#5 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#8 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: £134 - £373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nelligan 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nelligan's elegant accommodations pair century-old stone walls with a chic, modern decor. Natural light flows through the 44 rooms, 59 suites and 2 penthouses, while stately furnishings and high-end amenities punctuate the ambiance. The hotel perfectly accommodates groups with its expansive ballroom (fits up to 400) and 4 modern conference spaces. In the lobby, a regal, four-story atrium provides the perfect respite for an afternoon drink while adjoining Verses Restaurant offers a market-fresh menu. And for a taste of Montreal's mischievous side, Mechant Boeuf serves up delicious cocktails and great music nightly! Room service is also available. Finally, situated atop the elegant property, Terrasse Nelligan delivers unmatched city views! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Nelligan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nelligan Hotel Montreal
Hotel Nelligan Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing