We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old Montreal at its finest” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Nelligan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Nelligan
Ranked #8 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
109 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Old Montreal at its finest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

My wife and I stayed four nights at Hotel Nelligan for a quick getaway after our wedding in November 2013. The hotel was incredible in its service. They acquired Montreal Canadiens tickets for the first night of our trip, and had them waiting at the concierge's desk when we arrived. As well, they made a reservation for us at Garde Manger for our final night in Montreal, which was fantastic.

The staff knew us by name and made sure to say good morning and good evening, greeting us by name every time we arrived or left the hotel, which was a nice touch. They were also accommodating when it came to suggesting restaurants, and calling taxis for us when necessary.

The room was spacious, clean, and in impeccable shape. We booked the petite suite, and there was nothing "petite" about it! We were extremely happy with our choice of hotel, we will definitely return to Hotel Nelligan.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tyler S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Nelligan, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nelligan, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear M. and Mrs Tyler S,

First and foremost, we would like to thank your for the time you spent to share your comment on TripAdvisor. It is always a pleasure, to read that our valuable guest have enjoyed their stay and experience with us. We are happy your expectations were met in term of booking tickets for Montreal Canadians or a reservation at ''Le garde-manger'' restaurant. We hope to welcome you back very soon, at the meantime, we wish you a nice summer!

Daisy and front-desk team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,021 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,482
    400
    81
    40
    18
See reviews for
201
1,182
57
254
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (467)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

This hotel offers superb service - reception, concierge, restaurant and housekeeping staff. The entire staff is always happy, friendly and helpful. I had a junior suite this time, and it was spacious. As usual the bed was comfortable and room was clean. I used the gym for the first time they have a good selection of cardio equipment albeit small. This hotel really has the best rooftop view restaurant in comparison to the other hotels in Old Montreal.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkiebax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Nelligan, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nelligan, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear MB36,

It is so pleasant to read how much you enjoyed your stay, and particularly with Maude. Of course, we will share your feedback with her, Meanwhile, we wish you a super summer!

Daisy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Beautiful boutique, modern hotel. The location is ideal. The beds were absolutely perfect and the hotel was very trendy with an outside bar and terrace. The bar within the restaurant is very convenient as well.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad2U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Nelligan, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nelligan, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Mr. Brad2U,

I would like to thank you for your nice review on TripAdvisor. We are very happy to read that have enjoyed our bed, with a good night sleep!
We can't wait to welcome you back at Le Nelligan, but at the meantime, we wish you a great summer!

Daisy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed at the Nelligan Hotel in Montreal for 3 nights in early June. It was an excellent location situated in the Old City and provided us with an ideal base for visiting the attractions nearby. The rooms are very spacious with comfortable beds and all the facilities you need. The concierge service was particularly helpful providing us with excellent recommendations for nearby restaurants and help in planning trips. It would certainly be our hotel of choice if we visited Montreal again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crockett55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Nelligan, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nelligan, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear M.Crockett 55,

We would like to thank you for your great feedback on trip advisor. We are happy to read that you had a great stay with us, we hope to welcome you back very soon at le Nelligan, and at the meantime, we wish you a nice summer!

Warm regards!

Daisy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Quality hotel, ideal location, excellent Versus Restaurant. Creative and imaginitive food.
Front of house staff were particularly competent and helpful. Martin in the restaurant and Nicolas the concierge were outstanding.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Nelligan, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nelligan, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear M.Alan G,

We thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. It is always a great pleasure to read that our guest had a nice experience with us!
We hope to welcome you back very soon!

warm regards from Montréal!

Daisy and team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
124 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

A hotel that truly understands service. From the second we walked in we were treated like royalty. The rooms are very nice with great beds. The location is perfect for wandering around old Montreal. The concierge service is very helpful .

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Matthew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Nelligan, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nelligan, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear M.Matthew W,

We would like from the entire team to thank you for your nice words. We are happy to read that you had a great moment at Le Nelligan!
We hope to welcome you back very soon, and at the meantime we wish you a nice summer!

Daisy and Front desk team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here and absolutely loved it. Perfect location, amazing room with a hot tub and fireplace (upgraded for free). Very old building with beautiful exposed brick and very crooked floors that added to the charm. The "Terrace" aka rooftop patio was dangerous, we spent too much money and drank too much because it is so nice and convenient.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Nelligan, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nelligan, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for the comments you shared on TripAdvisor. It is always nice to read that our guest had a good time and did enjoy their stay with us!

War regards!

Daisy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#9 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,616 reviews
Quartier International
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#7 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#13 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,855 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,270 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Bonaparte
Hotel Bonaparte
#4 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nelligan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nelligan

Property: Hotel Nelligan
Address: 106 Saint Paul St W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1Z3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#5 Business Hotel in Montreal
#7 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#8 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nelligan 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nelligan's elegant accommodations pair century-old stone walls with a chic, modern decor. Natural light flows through the 44 rooms, 59 suites and 2 penthouses, while stately furnishings and high-end amenities punctuate the ambiance. The hotel perfectly accommodates groups with its expansive ballroom (fits up to 400) and 4 modern conference spaces. In the lobby, a regal, four-story atrium provides the perfect respite for an afternoon drink while adjoining Verses Restaurant offers a market-fresh menu. And for a taste of Montreal's mischievous side, Mechant Boeuf serves up delicious cocktails and great music nightly! Room service is also available. Finally, situated atop the elegant property, Terrasse Nelligan delivers unmatched city views! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelClick, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Nelligan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nelligan Hotel Montreal
Hotel Nelligan Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing