We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, helpful staff”
Review of Hotel Nelligan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Nelligan
Ranked #9 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great location, helpful staff”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We had a great stay at Hotel Nelligan. Can't say enough good thing about the staff. The concierge was wonderful and very friendly. The doormen were alway very pleasant and helpful. The room was spacious and vey comfortable. The bath products are really nice. Be sure to ask the concierge about the pastry shop located around the corner.

Room Tip: Do not get a room by the elevator as it can be somewhat loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasTeaTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Nelligan, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nelligan, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear TexasTeaTeaxas,

We thank you very much for your feedback. I will share your review immediately with the Front Desk team and the concierge. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Warm regards from Montreal!

Daisy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,070 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,518
    411
    82
    40
    19
See reviews for
207
1,212
57
264
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis Missouri
Level Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Search no further. This boutique hotel is the best place to stay in Old Montreal. Everything from the rooms, service, restaurant and the terrace bar is over the top for this kind of hotel. I have no complaints. Our room and the lobby were very clean and the location in the heart of Old Montreal cannot be beat

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacksfork1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Nelligan, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nelligan, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear M.Jacksfork1,

We greatly appreciate your comments. Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor!

Warm regards!

Daisy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We are very surprised at some of the positive reviews for this hotel. As it is a boutique hotel, rooms can definitely vary, so maybe our experience was simply bad luck. In any case, I'm going to be honest in writing this review- we will definitely not return to Hotel Nelligan.

Pros-
-excellent location- within walking distance to just about everything
-very friendly valets
-inexpensive nightly rate (at least for us it was only about $150 per night)
-quiet- I have to disagree with other reviewers here, we requested a quiet room and ours was incredibly quiet. I can, however, see how other rooms may have had a lot of noise.

Cons-
-not clean - I've attached some pictures of our room, marks on walls, dirty, floors not vacuumed, stains on carpet
-outdated and sharp furniture - definitely not a kid friendly set up, we have bruises from running into the sharp furniture corners. The robes provided were tattered with small holes, and the furniture and walls of our room were scraped and scratched
-extra expenses - parking came to 34.50 per day, and that's not including tips. During the 5 days of our stay, we probably ended up giving about $50 in tips. In the US, we are not used to having to do this.
-no complimentary coffee or breakfast at hotel
-terrible view- we asked for a quiet room with a view. We did have a quiet room, but it was so small and dark in our corner of the hotel, we were unhappy to see that our view was of a brick wall with windows to other rooms. I think in this particular hotel, you will either get quiet or a view. We didn't complain about our small dark cave of a room, because at least it was quiet. (Attached photos)

After staying here and getting to know Montreal for a bit, we came to the conclusion that staying on the outskirts of the city in a clean and more affordable hotel would make more sense. The metro system in Montreal is easy and safe. Also, we were able to rent bikes for only 7 dollars and ride everywhere in the city using a safe bike path. Since this hotels main pro was the location, we realized that wasn't all that important in Montreal with the great city transportation.

Room Tip: Find a room at a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jeffeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Enjoyed three wonderful nights at Hotel Nelligan. Had been highly recommmended by our daughter and son-in-law, and we were definitely not disappointed. Nicely appointed room, spacious bathroom, impeccably clean. Lobby was nicely divided into several "open" sections - but allowed private conversations with family. Two free drinks provided - but be sure to redeem them before 10 p.m. Great location in the Old Port section. Staff was exceedingly attentive, from doormen to front staff personnel - and especially concierge Nathalia, who provided excellent information about restaurants, printouts of requested maps, and an ever-friendly smile. Parking was pricey at $30. a night; Would absolutely stay here again! No breakfast included. We heard that the $20. per person breakfast was really not worth the price. Lots of small, nice eateries for breakfast within very short walking distances. Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: We had room overlooking inside atrium; very quiet. Might have preferred a room with an outside view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Nelligan, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nelligan, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Mrs. Iris,

First and foremost, we would like to thank your daughter for telling you about our place. We are even more happier that you have enjoyed your stay with us! We really appreciate your great words on TripAdvisor! We can't wait to welcome back so have a great summer!

Daisy and team!.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
78 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

You really can't go wrong with choosing to stay at Hotel Nelligan. The hotel has so much charm in the decor and brick interior. Our room was huge with windows that could open out onto the street. The staff couldn't be more friendly and helpful. The rooftop terrace is fantastic for cocktails on a sunny day. The location is perfect in the heart of Old Montreal and for exploring the whole city. Can't wait to go back and will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: You get some street noise in rooms in the front of the hotel; if you are a light sleeper might ask f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripchick99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Nelligan, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nelligan, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear M. Tripchick99,

Thank you for taking the time to share your impression on Le Nelligan. We really appreciate, to read that our guest enjoyed their stay with us!
We hope to welcome you back in a very near future, and we wish you a ''super'' summer

Warm regards from Montreal!

Daisy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Hotel Nelligan has two things going for it; it's a great hotel in a great location. Located in the heart of Old Montreal, you can park your car (they have valet parking pricey at around $30 a day, but well worth it) and walk everywhere you want to go. We had a petit suite and it was wonderful. It had a king bed, sofa and chair with coffee table, and a small breakfast table with two chairs. It also had an electric fireplace and flat screen TV. The bath had a two-person Jacuzzi and a large separate shower. I should note that I have never seen a hotel bathroom as clean as this one. All the fixtures shined and did not have a single water spot on them. When I walked into the room, my jaw dropped. I don't know if this was what I booked, but it's what I got. Everything about the room was upscale.

In short, I would book this hotel again, and I would love to get the suite again. This is not a budget hotel but, if you've been to NYC, it is comparable in price. You get nothing but upscale service and accommodations.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Nelligan, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nelligan, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear M.Fred E,

Thank you very much for your nice review. We are happy to read that you had a great experience with us. We are glad, that Le Nelligan was at your expectations.
We hope to see you again very soon!

Warm regards from Montréal!

Daisy and front office team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnson City, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed at Hotel Nelligan for three nights. We splurged with a small suite that had the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in when staying in a hotel. The room was spacious with plenty of room for our clothes. It was also very quiet and the bathroom was spectacular!

Room Tip: Our room was on the back side (not facing St Paul) and was a smaller suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Nelligan, Front Office Manager at Hotel Nelligan, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Mrs. TaraR,

We would like to thank you for sharing your review. It is always greatly appreciated to read that our guest have enjoyed their stay!

warm regards

Daisy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#8 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,652 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#4 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Bonaparte
Hotel Bonaparte
#5 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nelligan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nelligan

Property: Hotel Nelligan
Address: 106 Saint Paul St W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1Z3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Montreal
#5 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#8 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#8 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nelligan 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nelligan's elegant accommodations pair century-old stone walls with a chic, modern decor. Natural light flows through the 44 rooms, 59 suites and 2 penthouses, while stately furnishings and high-end amenities punctuate the ambiance. The hotel perfectly accommodates groups with its expansive ballroom (fits up to 400) and 4 modern conference spaces. In the lobby, a regal, four-story atrium provides the perfect respite for an afternoon drink while adjoining Verses Restaurant offers a market-fresh menu. And for a taste of Montreal's mischievous side, Mechant Boeuf serves up delicious cocktails and great music nightly! Room service is also available. Finally, situated atop the elegant property, Terrasse Nelligan delivers unmatched city views! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelClick, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Nelligan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nelligan Hotel Montreal
Hotel Nelligan Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing