We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Auberge Chez Jean”
Review of Auberge Chez Jean

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Auberge Chez Jean
Ranked #35 of 100 Speciality Lodging in Montreal
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Great experience, great staff, great if you're looking for someplace to crash for the weekend. We lucked out and got a private room with some bunk beds downstair. Could not of asked for more at 20$ a night!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kristynicoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2013

This place has a really sweet feel to it. We stayed in a private room which was of adequate size, nice and simple. The only bad thing was the pillows which were waif thin... time for some new ones perhaps? Fold them over and you're good. Everything was neat and clean, and the people we met there were lovely. The breakfast was delicious, and it was great sitting up on the balcony in the sunshine enjoying a coffee. Thanks Chez Jean, we'll be back!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haaames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

The thing I love about this hostel is the athmosphere. It's open, happy and Hippie! Where ever you sleep in the Hostel, it's the same price. You can crash anywhere you want to. The other two couple on our floor were very quiet and calm. The bed were clean and breakfast was provided. Love it !

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShopaSushi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We stayed for 4 nights. We were shocked at the start.

Its more of an open plan hostel. Lots of beds, everywhere. We had a private room but in order to use the bathroom and shower we had to walk through the living room, which is not a problem but the living room was being used as a dorm. One double bed and a singel bed in it. The back yard also has bunkbeds and a very cool lookng campervan. The reception has beds too covered off with bed sheets.

Now this all may seem crazy but it had an ok feel to it. Its grand for a short stay but I dont think we could of done anylonger.

The staff were great. Gave us loads of information on Montreal and were very helpful.

All in all an ok stay at a very cheap price.

The website should explane more about all the beds everywhere.

Thanks for our stay and the best coffee in Montreal.

Room Tip: Ask for the campervan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

My friend from chile and me (german) stayed in that great hostel for 3 nights. We both travel often but never found more helpful and kind stuff before. Everything is clean, new shower and seperate toilet, 2 kitchen to use with everything you need to cook, just buy your food =)
Rented bikes available, not the best but work well. Not far from mount royal, shopping, banks, metro. Breakfast was soooo yummy and included. So many nice people there, very easy to met new characters, rooms lockable, NO bedbugs or anything like others wrote. Well, if you are a little open to something different, a little young, hippie, you will LOVE it. We had the best hosteltime ever. Thanks to you guys =)

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rumpelst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2010

Either you love it or hate it... There are a lot of mattresses in this place, and small kitchen. It looks a bit improvisional. Almost no privacy, and everything is a bit narrow. In my opinion it is perfect for kind of Hippie experience.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SeeMe_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2010

This is honestly the worst hostel I have ever been to and I cannot understand how it meets standards to keep on trading.

From looking on their website, the hostel seemed ok, however when we arrived it was nothing like what we expected. It is basically just a house with matresses thrown wherever they can get them. Some of the beds are even outdoors and one in an old camping van in the back yard.

The first room we were given, the bed was just 2 matresses lying on top of one another, although at least it was in a private room (some of the other beds were just separated by a curtain). However, as we had initially booked for 4 nights, we were moved to another room in an effort to make us stay. This was probably the best room in the house as it was private and had an actual bed. However to get to it, you had to go through the living room (where people were sleeping) and the door opened in to the kitchen. The other door opened up to where there was a toilet, and the van in the back where somebody slept.

I honestly don't understand how some people have left positive reviews, it can't have been anything like they had expected. The only small positive I have to say is the staff did try to help and seemed friendly enough. However, I'm not sure whether this was just because of how long we originally intended on staying.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank travelersreview_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Gite du Plateau Mont-Royal
Gite du Plateau Mont-Royal
#5 of 100 in Montreal
202 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Auberge Bishop
Auberge Bishop
#10 of 100 in Montreal
23 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Samesun Montreal Central
Samesun Montreal Central
#1 of 100 in Montreal
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Victorian Heritage
Victorian Heritage
#5 of 144 in Montreal
237 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Alternative Hostel of Old Montreal
The Village (Gay Village)
M Montreal
M Montreal
#2 of 100 in Montreal
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Chez Jean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Chez Jean

Address: 4136 rue Henri Julien, Montreal, Quebec H2W 2K3, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 100 Speciality Lodging in Montreal
Price Range: £41 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Auberge Chez Jean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing