We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful rooftop terrace!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Gite Plateau Mont-Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Le Gite Plateau Mont-Royal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
“Beautiful rooftop terrace!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed for two nights at this great hostel. We came from Ontario and were nervous about the language barrier but everyone who works here tries their hardest to accommodate you. We stayed in a 6 person female dorm and it was exactly what we expected (plus they had a sink and mirror which was super convenient.) not super fancy but it's just what you need. The second night was in a nicer, more private 3 person room. The hostel is in a perfect location from old montreal, blvd saint laurent and downtown montreal. If you're going with friends this is the best place to stay. Inexpensive, close to the hot spots and free breakfast! The staff are all amazing and super friendly too; if you're unsure of where to eat or spend the day just ask them. If you're looking to kill time or enjoy the view go to the rooftop terrace!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniella D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C0umba, Gérant at Le Gite Plateau Mont-Royal, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Google Translation
Bonjour Daniella. Merci pour votre excellent commentaire. Toute l’équipe du Gîte du Plateau Mont-Royal vous remercie d’avoir bien voulu partager votre expérience dans notre auberge de jeunesse. Notre mission est de rendre agréable le séjour de nos voyageurs et nous sommes heureux de voir que nous avons atteint notre objectif,
Au plaisir de vous accueillir à nouveau.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    62
    15
    4
    2
See reviews for
15
43
60
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

I highly recommend this hostel to any traveler. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms and bathrooms are very clean. Common areas are well organized and breakfast is awesome. Definitely a good place for individual travellers or couples.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seraina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C0umba, Gérant at Le Gite Plateau Mont-Royal, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Hi Seraina. Thank you for this excellent review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hostel! We will be happy to welcome you again very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

I liked the overall ambience and appreciated the free computer/internet service available to guests. I asked for a lower bunk but was not accommodated, and the upper bunks don't have rails - scary, or ladders. Staff was nice, excellent kitchen for guests' use, breakfast good. I didn't stay longer because of the upper bunk situation and lack of bathrooms for so many guests. Watch out for the wonky floor in the hallway at night (on way to bathroom, 2nd floor) - I took a fall, luckily was not injured.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C0umba, Gérant at Le Gite Plateau Mont-Royal, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Hi. Thank you for choosing Le Gîte du Plateau Mont-Royal and taking the time to share your comment. We are happy to know that you liked your stay in general. We are sorry that you did not have a lower bed. Unfortunatly, we are not able to reserve beds in dormitories, it is first come first served...We hope to better satisfy you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belo Horizonte, MG
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Loved so much this place. Affordable, nice, organized and clean. Outstanding location, just 4 blocks from the metro station. Staff so amazing and frilendly. Free breakfast with delicious pancakes. Nice and charming neighborhood. You can leave your bags there before/after you check out no charge, so convenient! I stayed about 20 days and I really won't stay anywhere else if I come back to Mtl.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MelSeixas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C0umba, Manager at Le Gite Plateau Mont-Royal, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Hi .Thank you for this excellent review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hostel! We will be happy to welcome you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Loved Montreal (even in wintery March) and loved this hostel! My boyfriend and I had a private double room with shared bath. The room was clean, had a sink, the bed is comfortable and the bathrooms are cute and clean. The staff was very friendly, especially when we attempted to speak french. They were very helpful in giving us advice to get around the area and places to go. The common rooms are very cozy and it is in a perfect location. Close to the metro and close enough to walk to centre-ville, the plateau or the old port. The neighborhood has more of an authentic, local vibe.

Room Tip: Our room in the back was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kit-kat-louise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C0umba, Gérant at Le Gite Plateau Mont-Royal, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Hi Louise. Thank you for this excellent review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hostel! We will be happy to welcome you again very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

We arrive there making a reservation the night before (we had an awful experience in another hostel). The common rooms were really cozy, the rooms where very clean (and they had a sink, which was very useful) and the staff is really friendly. The prices are very good and they include breakfast (which is all you can eat, they have yoghurt, tea, cereal and PANCAKES (YES and they even had maple syrup :D). The hostel is close to the old Montréal and Mont Royal, we didn't use the public transport, we walked everywhere plus it is really close to the bus station

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vero156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C0umba, Gérant at Le Gite Plateau Mont-Royal, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Google Translation
Bonjour Véro. Merci pour votre excellent commentaire. Toute l’équipe du Gîte du Plateau Mont-Royal vous remercie d’avoir bien voulu partager votre expérience dans notre auberge de jeunesse. Notre mission est de rendre agréable le séjour de nos voyageurs et nous sommes heureux de voir que nous avons atteint notre objectif,
Au plaisir de vous accueillir à nouveau.

Coumba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach Gardens
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

Hot water shower... instantly (it's 5F degrees outside). Extremely helpful staff. Continental breakfast included and inexpensive. Close to busses/metro or walk to get some exercise. Great neighborhood to get some cultural cuisine.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kornbred3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C0umba, Gérant at Le Gite Plateau Mont-Royal, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Hi Kornbred. Thank you for this excellent review. We are so glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay in our hostel! We will be happy to welcome you again very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
#11 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
#71 of 164 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Quartier des Spectacles
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Hotel de Paris
Hotel de Paris
#82 of 164 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
M Montreal
M Montreal
#1 of 92 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Gite Plateau Mont-Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Gite Plateau Mont-Royal

Property: Le Gite Plateau Mont-Royal
Address: 185, Sherbrooke East, Montreal, Quebec H2X 1C7, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 92 Speciality Lodging in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Gite Plateau Mont-Royal 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Plateau Mont-Royal, our hostel is in the middle of three subway stations. Attractions at 5min walking: Saint Denis Street, Saint Laurent Boulevard, Quartier des Spectacles. Don't miss the chance to enjoy our concerts and BBQ parties our rooftop terrace in summer time. Our staff will be glad to show you all Montreal's treasures by suggesting you many activities.Affordable rates including an all you can eat breakfast, Wi-Fi and linen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Le Gite Plateau Mont-Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing