We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay at the Gault!”
Review of Hotel Gault

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Gault
Ranked #2 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Greer, SC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay at the Gault!”
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We recently stayed at the Hotel Gault in Montreal for 4 nights and our experience there was fantastic. The room was modern and spacious and the use of an iPad during our stay and an iPhone docking station in the room were very nice bonuses. The employees at the Gault were very pleasant and most helpful in giving directions and making suggestions for restaurants in the area. We liked that the location of the Gault is near the center of Old Town Montreal but yet it was on a quiet street which made us feel like we were coming home each night. We would definitely stay at Hotel Gault again the next time we visit Montreal.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BijouxGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGault, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this review, 2 September 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments!
It will be a real pleasure to share them with the entire team!

We look forward to your next visit at the Gault, your "home" in Montréal!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,080
    209
    32
    17
    6
See reviews for
126
710
85
231
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gibsons
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

I only stayed here for 2 nights but from the moment I arrived I felt like I was living here instead of staying here. The front desk treated me like I was returning home even though I had never stayed here before. I loved the open concept of the room. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in. I could truly live in this hotel for months and be quite happy.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gibsonsmolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGault, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this review, 2 September 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind comments!

The entire team was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, especially the front desk service and the famous comfort of our Flou bed!

We are all looking forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2011

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon and it was beautiful. The hotel is modern and clean inside of a beautifully classic building in old Montreal. The service was amazing and we felt very welcome staying there. The only downside was that it was a bit pricey for us. They gave us a dessert plate in the first day that we thought was complimentary, but we were surprised when we were charged for it.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurenbrookepenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

I have been meaning to write this review since my husband and I returned from our 3 night stay in July. I picked this hotel based on Trip Advisor, and you can add us to the chorus of highly satisfied guests! We are very fussy about hotels and few meet our admittedly sometimes unrealistic expectations. The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. If you even opened a map while standing in the lobby, someone would ask if they could be of assistance. The people working at the hotel genuinely seem to enjoy their work, and it was a pleasure to return there at the end of a long day of sightseeing! The rooms are huge and immaculate. As many have said, they are very modern in furnishing, so don't be surprised by the loft-like feeling. We loved the room so much we wished our apartment looked like our room! Also, the food (breakfast and lunch) was delicious and not at all overpriced, unlike many hotels. Location can't be beat -- close to everything but still out of the main tourist strip. We loved Hotel Gault and can't wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jfried01Nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OlivierBottois, Asset Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this review, 24 August 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Hotel Gault! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay!!! A bientot!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

I stayed for three nights at the Hotel Gault, checking in on a Thursday night and out on Sunday. It it is, by far, a hotel that I found to be charming, cozy, sophisticated and sexy, all at the same time.

I was booked to stay at a large chain hotel the morning I departed for Montreal. But, after a quick call to the front desk of the Gault, I learned that I could stay at the Gault, with two hot breakfasts included in the nightly rate, for less than what I would have paid at the generic chain hotel.

Though the rack rates at the hotel are not inexpensive, the pre-paid rates are considerably discounted. I got a very generously sized, well appointed room, with a king size bed and standalone shower for a very reasonable nightly rate. Because I booked the morning before I departed for Montreal, I was comfortable pre paying (the pre-paid bookings can not be cancelled). And for $10 more, my companion and I we able to each have a hot breakfast of eggs cooked to specification, toast, bacon, coffee, orange juice (freshly squeezed, no less) and a choice of fresh fruit, or cereal, or yogurt. It really was a lovely breakfast, served in the the dining area off the lobby, next to tall windows overlooking the streets of old Montreal. The service was excellent and the breakfast was a a great value for $10 for two people.

The room itself was large, modern in style, very clean and well appointed. I had a Loft Deluxe. It had polished concrete floors, very high ceilings, gorgeous tall bright windows that opened to Juliet balconies, an area rug under the bed, and ipod/ipad dock, flat screen TV with DVD and cable television, lounge chairs and a coffee table, a comfy kind size bed behind which was a gauzy curtain separating the bathroom from the bedroom.

Modern in style, the bathroom sink and closet area were open to the room (in the area behind the gauzy curtain), while a water closet and shower are located behind doors. And there was ample closet space. Towels and bathrobes are plush. All in all, it was a lovely room. I could have spent way more than just three days there.

The lobby features modern, but comfortable furnishings and high ceilings. It has a very fresh and airy feel to it, in an understanted luxury kind of way. The lobby isn't much of a scene like you might find at other hotels, which is a good thing in my opinion. It was nice to come in from a day of sightseeing, or dinner, or shopping to the serene calm of the lobby, where you could unwind with a drink in the lobby. The staff would go so far as to inquire about your dinner/day/tour, etc, and gently invite you to enjoy a cocktail at the bar (or even have them sent to your room).


The staff at the hotel are very professioinal, attentive, service-minded, charming, friendly and helpful. Restaurant and bar recommendations were excellent. I needed to store my luggage for the day after I checked out on Sunday, and they were more than helpful...even when I had to go back to retreive a few things I needed for my day in Montreal. On my return, the bags were promptly loaded to a taxi for my trip to the train station.

The location of the hotel is fantastic, in Old Montreal. Cobblestone streets, elaborately ornate buildings, charming streets radiate every direction from the hotel. The hotel is a short walk to the Old Port, a short walk to the more bustling areas of Old Montreal, a short walk to shops and bars and restaurants (ask about Boris Brasserie, around the corner and it's c-h-a-r-m-i-n-g open-air courtyard dining area). The Metro is nearby. Cabs are plentiful down the street on McGill Street. Notre Dame Cathedral is a five minute walk away. And you're a 10-15 minute cab ride to the train station, bus station, shopping on Sherbrooke and St Catherine streets, the gay village, the Museum of Fine Art and retaurants on a street whose name escapes me at the moment, among other attractions. Additional note: the hotel is gay friendly.

I highly recommend this hotel and would not hesitate to go back. In fact, I'm already thinking about my next trip.

Room Tip: Ask about the pre paid rates. The rates might be so good that you end up moving up a class of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nathan_M2TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OlivierBottois, Asset Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this review, 23 August 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Gault! Your feedback is helpful and appreciated.Looking forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Very nice rooms with design pieces of furniture like Arne Jacobsen look.
Great staff, smiling, always available to help and giving very good tips!
Perfect to stay a few days in Montreal, close to all places to see (walking distance).

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley0678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We needed a box to pack up for our purchases
- no problem
We needed to freeze our ice bags to keep food cool on the drive home
- no problem
Suggestions for restaurants
- Direct, clear and high value

Clean, contemporary design without being too awkwardly trendy. Comfortable and higly functional rooms. We booked a room with a terrace which gives a lot of light and interesting views. But the separation from the other terraces is just a planter although they are well spaced. At this time of year the rooftop condensers on all the other buildings are also very audible.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marekw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OlivierBottois, Asset Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this review, 22 August 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind comments shared with the entire team! Looking forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#6 of 165 in Montreal
2,349 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#3 of 165 in Montreal
362 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#8 of 165 in Montreal
2,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#7 of 165 in Montreal
1,413 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#4 of 165 in Montreal
1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gault? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gault

Property: Hotel Gault
Address: 449 Sainte-Helene, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2K9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Montreal
#2 Business Hotel in Montreal
#2 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#3 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gault 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gault is a boutique hotel housed in an historic building built in 1871. The hotel lies in the heart of Old Montreal, just steps away from the downtown and the convention centre. In contrast to the exterior of this landmark building, inside, The Gault features a minimalist style. Together, they create an incomparable communion of old-world comfort and luxurious contemporary design. Furnished with classic 20th-century pieces, The Gault experience is enhanced by huge French windows that flood each of the 30 suites with natural light and create a radiant atmosphere. All the rooms are open-plan and equipped with Mondrian custom oak cabinetry, an LED flat-screen television, and Blu-ray technology. Some suites feature 3D televisions. All guests enjoy HDTV, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, and free local calls. iPads are available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Gault reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gault Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing