We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chic and well appointed loft rooms make for dreamy stay in Montreal.”
Review of Hotel Gault

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Gault
Ranked #3 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Chic and well appointed loft rooms make for dreamy stay in Montreal.”
Reviewed 17 October 2011

I will keep this review short as there isn't much to say about Hotel Gault other than the staff is superb...every single employee I spoke to was open, accommodating, and interested in making our stay enjoyable. Our loft style room on the third floor had views of Old Montreal and was as romantic as scenes from a Parisian movie. Every detail in the room and the hotel has clearly been thought through. I loved being close to public transit, Bixi bikes (which I highly recomment), and cabs arrive within minutes. The hotel is close to several great dining options, right by the water, right by all these chic little boutiques...oh Montreal. Such a great city.
Everything was excellent. I couldn't recommend a place more so than Hotel Gault. Just perfection!!! And Melissa was so attentive and accommodating. Thanks for making our first trip to Montreal so memorable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanquerochicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGault, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this review, 19 October 2011
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to hear that your recent stay at the Gault was memorable!

It will be a real pleasure to share your comments with the entire team!

We are looking forward to welcoming you back,

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,064
    204
    31
    16
    5
See reviews for
122
698
82
226
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We just returned from a 3 night stay at the Hotel Gault and I had to write about our great experience. The hotel itself is beautiful and we were extremely satisfied with our room (#230). It was a deluxe loft with a spacious shower (great water pressure) and a king sized bed. We had more than enough space to place our things and there were nice conveniences like slippers, bathrobes, and water with the nightly turndown service. The room was very clean and we enjoyed the modern decor. Quality of sleep was excellent thanks to the super comfy bed and pillows and the A/C-heat unit was nearly silent. The location of the hotel is terrific - we were 2 blocks from Victoria Square metro station and right in the old port area of town too. Food choices were close by and abundant as well. We ate at this little trendy (& very yummy) cafe down the street called Olive and Gourmando every day. But the best thing by far about the hotel was the fabulous staff who greeted us, made recommendations to local & off the beaten path areas/pubs, and truly went out of their way to make our first stay in Montreal enjoyable. Special commendation to: the concierge, Andre and reception staff: Betina, Jean Christophe (thanks for Dieu du Ciel) and Alejandro (for lending us his personal umbrella). On top of being extremely professional, they each were very personable and had great energy. We will be recommending Hotel Gault to everyone we know traveling to Montreal!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennynDerek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGault, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this review, 19 October 2011
Dear guest,

It is a pleasure to hear that you had a wonderful time at the Gault!

Thank you for taking time to share your experience on Trip Advisor,

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Just finished a long weekend at the Hotel Gault. Most all of the reviews read were fairly accurate. The hotel is minimal on amenities, but provides outstanding service. The only criticism i would have is that I think the rooms would be better suited with carpet rather then the bare concrete. While I think I get the look they wanted, I didn't care for the concrete floors. The hallways were carpeted and I would have kept that throughout the rooms as well.

As far as the service, I couldn't give them more praise. Everyone, and I mean everyone, on the staff were sincerely interested in being as helpful as they could be. The staff made our Montreal stay extremely pleasant with their intimate knowledge and advice on Montreal. I will give extra praise on their exceptional service to Alejandro, Andre, Andra and Elodie.

Montreal is a great city to visit. The Hotel Gault is an initmate boutique hotel located in Vieux Montreal, clean, comfortable and with an amazing staff.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fattyflubber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

wow. great hotel, great location for business and fooling around. Large rooms, with huge windows. Well appointed and on a quiet street. A real find with only 30 rooms. Hopefully you won't have taken the last room when I come to stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parrot101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenscliff, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

We enjoyed 3 very comfortable nights at Hotel Gault and found the staff very friendly, helpful and professional. The location is excellent, the food sensational, the beds perfect and the decor very modern but functional. There are many fabulous restaurants and cafes within a few minutes walk and the Old Town ambience has a very European feel.
An excellent all round Hotel

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cunno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGault, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this review, 5 October 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you for your fabulous comments on your recent stay!

The all team is looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We stayed here as a special treat and it was. It's very easy to find from the highway; the room was ready with a sweet bite and classical music; the staff inquired after us every time we left or arrived; it was extremely clean; I loved the robes. We walked from the hotel up to St. Denis and through Old Montreal in only about 5 m / 8 km. Some of Montreal's best dinner spots are within a 10 minute walk.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGault, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this review, 5 October 2011
Dear guest,

It was a pleasure having you stay at the Gault and we truly appreciate your kind comments!

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunoon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

The hotel is stunning with immaculate reception areas and extremely helpful check in staff who give fantastic tips for places to visit and eat. We took one of the terrace room which was large and lovely and as it was so nice outside was great to be able to sit out. The rooms have all the mod cons, ipod dock, dvd player, stereo, large tv etc however the one LARGE downside as far as I am concerned was 1. the lack of a kettle which seemed very strange (I don't function in the morning without a coffee), room service was available, $19 for 2 cups of coffee however they forgot the sugar and 2. only one comfortable chair in the room, which when you think about it there are generally 2 people sleeping in the room means someone has to sit on the bed. Nice touch was the homemade cookies left for us when we returned at night. Breakfast was okay (my french toast was burnt and as we were running late didn't have time to complain or send it back)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJMACLLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGault, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this review, 5 October 2011
Dear guest,
Thank you for your kind comments on the front desk service and room amenities!
We use feedback such as yours to evaluate the achievement of our service and be sure we will take your comment regarding the coffee and breakfast service in consideration.
The entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back to the Gault,
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#2 of 164 in Montreal
308 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
#1 of 164 in Montreal
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#9 of 164 in Montreal
2,093 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#7 of 164 in Montreal
1,359 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 164 in Montreal
1,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gault? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gault

Property: Hotel Gault
Address: 449 Sainte-Helene, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2K9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Montreal
#2 Business Hotel in Montreal
#3 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#3 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gault 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gault is a boutique hotel housed in an historic building built in 1871. The hotel lies in the heart of Old Montreal, just steps away from the downtown and the convention centre. In contrast to the exterior of this landmark building, inside, The Gault features a minimalist style. Together, they create an incomparable communion of old-world comfort and luxurious contemporary design. Furnished with classic 20th-century pieces, The Gault experience is enhanced by huge French windows that flood each of the 30 suites with natural light and create a radiant atmosphere. All the rooms are open-plan and equipped with Mondrian custom oak cabinetry, an LED flat-screen television, and Blu-ray technology. Some suites feature 3D televisions. All guests enjoy HDTV, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, and free local calls. iPads are available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Gault reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gault Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing