We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent location excellent service excellent rooms”
Review of Hotel Gault

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Gault
Ranked #3 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Very nice expeience. Very nice rooms. Not so nice food. Loved the location. Staff was very friendly. Great spacious rooms and bathrooms. In the heart of Old Montreal and so many nice restaurants at walking distance. Excellent concierge service as well. Congratulations on this fine hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abraham r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francisco G, Front Office Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about the Hotel Gault on TripAdvisor. We're thrilled to know that you enjoyed your experience with us, and that the rooms and services were up to your satisfaction. In addition, we're glad that you were able to take advantage of our concierge services, and our proximity to Montreal's various attractions.
We sincerely thank you for the kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you in a near future.

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,390)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

915 - 921 of 1,390 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2013

Hotel Gault is a classic heritage building located on a very quiet street in the Old Port but very close to lots of wonderful restaurants. The decor is very contemporary. The rooms are spacious and most have floor to ceiling windows that open to a quiet street below. The staff are wonderful - making you feel like you are their most honoured guest in residence. Women travelling alone will feel particularly safe given guests must pass the reception desk to access the elevator and all are greeted by the front desk staff.

Room Tip: Room 320 is incredibly spacious with a huge washroom including a separate wc, a glassed in shower an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laurie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francisco G, Front Office Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your kind review about your recent stay at The Gault Hotel.

We strive to make each guest's stay memorable and I thank you for the 5 star review that you gave the Hotel Gault on TripAvisor, we are delighted that you enjoyed our location and it’s surrounding’s and our service.

We look forward to your next stay with us.

Regards,

Francisco Gonzalez Gil
Front Office/F&B Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

My husband and I have stayed at this hotel on many occasions. We return because the location is great and we love the interior design choices. Last time we went (Dec. 31st), we were upgraded to a suite, which was quite a surprised since we had booked the basic room. So in total, we have seem 4 different types of rooms over the past few years. The style is very minimalistic (which I love). The basic rooms include a bed, a tv and sometimes a desk. The bathrooms are nice, the shower is big!!! In the apartment suite, you have a small kitchenette, a full living room area with DVD and LCD tv. Although they advertise that they have 3D blue-ray readers (which we saw), they don't have any 3D movies! Their movie selection is not that great, but you can probably find something you like. The bathroom in the apartment is awesome with a separate bath (didn't use), huge glass shower and heated floors (which is great in January). Overall, the beds are comfortable. There was a turn down service last time we went and I found that to be a nice touch.

The breakfast is usually good but quite pricey. The plates are not too big. I suggest going to eat out if you are on a budget, but if it's included in a package, then go for it. It's not a buffet type, but a sit down menu with a few options. On our last visit, the package we had taken included the most expensive bfast, and although I wouldn't have paid that much for what it included, it was good.

The staff there is usually very friendly. Never had a problem. We ordered room service a few times. One, I ordered a glass of orange juice. just a glass of orange juice... well I ended up paying over 10$ for it with service fees and other taxes. Last time we were there, we ordered the cheese platter before going out. While the cheese selection and portion was reasonable, the amount of bread was RIDICULOUS, only a few small baguette slices for 4 big pieces of cheese. I would suggest asking for extra bread. the plate was 20$, but with taxes, service and tip, it cost us 32$.

If you are coming with your car, take note that the parking in Montreal (especially in old montreal) can be very tricky. We always take the valet parking. No problems with the parking, but I found out last time that their parking is actually 10 minutes away from the hotel, so if you are in a rush, call ahead of time. However, on check out morning, they bring the car closer to the hotel. Of course, valet parking is expensive, but it is anywhere!

The location is great if you want to be in Old Montreal but expect to walk approximately 10-15 minutes to the subway.

We will come back, for sure.

Room Tip: the cheapest rooms are on the small side and have a terrible view. I suggest paying a bit more if th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank psycho_dalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francisco G, Front Office Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2013

Dear Guest,

I was delighted in reading your kind review about your recent stay at the Hotel Gault and I would like to thank you for taking the time to point out your concerns

The feedbacks we receive form our valued guests such as yourself are extremely important to us as it enables us to constantly improve our services.

We do have a small 3D movie selection only!, however, not all rooms have 3D tv sets, I apologize if you did not made aware of this during your stay, since your comments, we are also working in expanding all of our lists.

As far as your comments about the quantity of bread served, I have taken immediate action in this regard and once again I apologize.

Once again, I thank you for taking the time to write about experience and welcome the opportunity in welcoming you back at the Gault in the near future.

Regards,
Francisco Gonzalez Gil
Front Office/ F&B Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

By my title I don't mean to say that the rooms (it goes without saying at a place like Gault that they were clean in excess of quotidian cleanliness). The interior design was exquisite. The ceilings are high making the rooms feel exceptionally spacious. With regard to decor: Nothing was extraneous, not even paint. Many walls and floors made do with polished cement. The furniture plays a fine balance between modernist chic and functionality.

One unexpected surprise was that the bed was the most comfortable I have slept on in recent memory. The TV and bath were large but unobtrusive. Let me be clear here: you can open a massive sliding door and watch tv from the tub.

The only downside is that it isn't the cheapest hotel in Vieux-Montreal, but, hey, you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jefftesla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francisco G, Front Office Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2013

Dear Guest,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Hotel Gault and for posting a review of your stay on TripAdvisor about our rooms and your stay.

It is wonderful to read such a delightful review and would like to have the pleasure to welcome you again at the Gault in future occasions!

Sincerely,
Francisco Gonzalez Gil
Front Office/ F&B Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

This hotel was great, comfortable bed, great amenities.
The room had all a modern traveler is expecting. Ipod docking station, (small) tv with multi channels, spacious powerfull shower.
Friendly staff, modern lobby.
The location is good if you plan to gourmet around the old port. Not much shopping to be done in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlobalCitizen1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francisco G, Front Office Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at the Hotel Gualt.

I sincerely appreciate you acknowledging our associate team as it is with great pleasure that we welcome all the feedback from our valued guests such as yourself.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Gault!

Best regards,

Francisco Gonzalez Gil
Front Office / F&B Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Beautiful hotel, classy service, truly felt at home with the service of the professional staff.
What made my stay more enjoyable was the sight of snow from the lobby while having breakfast. It was magical.
Our new destination in Montreal no question! maybe on the next snow storm :)

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francisco G, Front Office Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your recent experience at the Hotel Gault, your comments are very important to us and we are delighted to know that you enjoyed your visit with us.

I will pass along your kind comments about the team which we are always delighted to hear, and yes indeed the scenery at the lobby when it snows is very beautiful, having big and tall windows all around the lobby gives it a special feeling.

I look forward to welcoming you again to the Hotel Gault on future occasions!

Regards,
Francisco Gonzalez Gil
Front Office / F&B Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

We stayed for four nights at the Hotel Gault. Hotel Gault is a very nice boutique hotel in Old Montreal. The metro at Square Victoria is very close so there is easy access to all parts of Montreal. Old Montreal is a nice neighborhood to explore the boutiques, art galleries, cafes and restaurants as well.
The building is a lovely turn of the century building. The rooms are well-designed, stylish and understated. The bathroom was very clean and the amenities, bathrobes, slippers and toiletries were very nice. The turndown service and bottled water was a nice touch too. The bed was very comfortable and overall the room was very quiet. There was one night where there was a private event Christmas party going on in the lobby and the sound did travel up to our floor but it soon subsided. There are only five floors and maybe 6 rooms to a floor. We felt like we had the place to ourselves. The staff was courteous, professional and bilingual. Check-in and check-out was very smooth. Hotel Gault is an elegant, well-designed, quiet hotel. When we come back to Montreal we will definitely stay at the Hotel Gault.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mchutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francisco G, Front Office Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at the Hotel Gault.

I am delighted to read you had a wonderful stay and enjoyed the comfort of our rooms and their amenities. I apologize for the sound from the private function we held that night.

Your comments are very important to us and we welcome your feedback as it's the most effective way to improve in all areas. I will pass along your kind comments to the rest of the team as they are always delighted to read such comment from our entire valued guest such as yourself.

I look forward to welcoming you again to The Hotel Gault in the future!

Francisco Gonzalez Gil
Front Office/ F&B Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#2 of 165 in Montreal
1,108 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#6 of 165 in Montreal
2,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#7 of 165 in Montreal
2,475 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#5 of 165 in Montreal
438 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#8 of 165 in Montreal
1,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gault? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gault

Address: 449 Sainte-Helene, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2K9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Montreal
#2 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#2 Business Hotel in Montreal
#3 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: £106 - £335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gault 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gault is a boutique hotel housed in an historic building built in 1871. The hotel lies in the heart of Old Montreal, just steps away from the downtown and the convention centre. In contrast to the exterior of this landmark building, inside, The Gault features a minimalist style. Together, they create an incomparable communion of old-world comfort and luxurious contemporary design. Furnished with classic 20th-century pieces, The Gault experience is enhanced by huge French windows that flood each of the 30 suites with natural light and create a radiant atmosphere. All the rooms are open-plan and equipped with Mondrian custom oak cabinetry, an LED flat-screen television, and Blu-ray technology. Some suites feature 3D televisions. All guests enjoy HDTV, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, and free local calls. iPads are available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Gault reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gault Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing