We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“During the week better than the weekend...”
Review of Hotel Gault

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Gault
Ranked #3 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“During the week better than the weekend...”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I stayed for 2 nights over a weekend, and noticed a difference in the weekend service vs. weekday.

Service: arrived late Sat night, check-in was painless, but as I was jetlagged, I could only manage room service that evening and I hate to say it but it was atrocious. The soup was most certainly heated in a microwave, and from a tin, and the ham sandwich was disappointingly messy and small, accompanied by a mass of lettuce - I'm not a fan. It was the 24-hour menu though so I suppose this was the best a non-chef could muster up. The food is rolled in on a table with wheels, and white tablecloth - but no salt or pepper or any other seasoning/extra, which I thought was odd. However, I noticed a massive difference come Monday morning - room service breakfast was much better than the day before, and it came with salt/pepper/the extras!

Room/amenities: the room itself was awesome - I got upgraded to a corner suite and it was MASSIVE. Not carpeted but they thoughtfully provide slippers :) The juliet balconies made me feel I was in Paris. The Molton Brown toiletries were appreciated! The reason I ordered room service for breakfast was because downstairs around the lobby area was very simple, no atmosphere, I would not want to have a drink or food down there.

Location: the hotel is on a quiet street so your sleep won't be disturbed. Central location, I think, but I wasn't there to sightsee so can't really comment on how convenient it really was. A short walk from Chinatown and the water is about all I can say!

Not sure if I would stay here again...nice enough, but...didn't tick all the boxes - I guess I like my hotels to have slightly more atmosphere. And the lack thereof wasn't because of the timing of my stay (over a weekend in a central business district area) - I've stayed at the W Hotel around the corner over a weekend too and it wasn't the same - it was quiet but still had ambience...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoveLuxuryStays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your last experience at the Hotel Gault. I am sorry that you were not able to enjoy the full hotel experience. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we received from you about room service and the ambiance at the restaurant enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary action to ensure similar situation can be avoided.

Rest assured that this situation has been brought to the appropriate departments in order to prevent such situation in the future. If you would like to accept my invitation, I will be glad to offer you the opportunity to taste our lunch served at the hotel and appreciate the menu of our Chef. You can email me directly at smahu@hotelgault.com.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us and we are looking forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,

Sarah Mahu
Front Desk and F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,073
    207
    32
    16
    5
See reviews for
125
703
83
230
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
leeds
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Stayed 4 nights here earlier this week. Cool hotel, good location to be in for proximity to Old Montreal. Very warm staff, nothing is too much trouble and they will tty their best to accommodate you. Nice, modern rooms. I had a room on the top floor with a nice roof terrace. Only issue was the prevalence of ants from outside, but this was a minor annoyance. Breakfast was good and the hotel has a nice, albeit quiet bar. Design is very funky, with exposed concrete walls in part. I enjoyed my stay but the hotel needs to shout out a little more about its services; I only discovered it had a gym on the last day as there was no in-room hotel brochure. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor. A roof terrace comes with!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nadine1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at the Hotel Gault. I am delighted to read you had a wonderful stay and enjoyed the comfort of our rooms and appreciated our restaurant.

Your comments are very important to us and we welcome your feedback as it's the most effective way to improve in all areas. I will pass along your comments to the rest of the team to make sure that the different services offered at the hotel are mentionned to all our guests during their stay.

I look forward to welcoming you again to The Hotel Gault in the future!

Sarah Mahu
Front Desk and F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

10 years later to the day we returned to Hotel Gault. It was just as we remembered, a sophisticated boutique hotel with a great staff. It's just about the right size for quiet coziness but with all the amenities of a larger hotel. Do not miss breakfast here. Hopefully we'll visit again, but less than 10 years from now.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwiwannabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Guest,

We are glad that you came back to the Hotel Gault, even 10 years later, for your recent stay in Montreal! We appreciate your extremely kind comments and looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Next year maybe?

Kind regards,

Sarah Mahu
Front Desk and F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

This hotel is one of our all time favorites now - everyone there was always super alert to our every need and request. When our internet Wi-Fi connection was taking time to work, the hotel clerk offered us her personal I-pad for our stay of 3 nights; our tablet did work though. Terrific dinner recommendations were suggested and made quickly. The room was huge and comfortable and the breakfasts were great. The Gault is also perfectly located in Old Montreal for easy access to walk the wonderful surrounding areas. They simply will not rest until you are completely at ease. Loved it. Oh, and we never heard a peep once inside our rooms - the interior quiet was wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGault, Front Office Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the positive review of the Hotel Gault on TripAdvisor.

I am very pleased to learn that we became your choice hotel and that we are still able to maintain our level of service. It is certainly with great pleasure that we take every opportunity to exceed our guest’s expectations; your comments are well appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Montreal.

Kind regards,

Sarah Mahu
Front Desk and F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Gault in Montreal for 3 nights and enjoyed every part of it. The location, the service, the quiet, as relaxing environment, and the great size of the rooms. The hotel offer charm and modernity, with a rock touch. As I strongly believe in energy, Hotel Gault is an inspiring location for people like me. Thanks to the great team
JD

Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank John-David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGault, Front Office Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at the Hotel Gault.

We sincerely appreciate your feedback about our team and the ambiance.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Gault!

Kind regards,

Sarah Mahu
Front Desk and F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Healdsburg, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This hotel offered the best location, service, great room and excellent food. We checked in early and the concierge, Yannick, was able to give us great suggestions for lunch. We also were upgraded to a very large room with a lounge area. I love it when the windows open and you can still enjoy peace and quiet. The concierge staff was very willing to reserve our dinner reservations every night and make suggestions. The soft music playing in our room, the heated floors, the lush bedding, the great staff makes this hotel and EXCELLENT choice. I will stay here for sure next time!

Room Tip: Travel during the week when less crowded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kellie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGault, Front Office Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your kind comments,

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Gault and that you enjoyed our facilities and the service of our team, especially Yanick, our concierge. Your comments are very important to us and we thank you for taking the time to share them.

We look forward in welcoming you in the near future.

Sarah Mahu
Front Desk Manager and F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

The room is beautiful, very comfortable and also charming. The staff is polite. The hotel is well locate, is close to St. Catherine St and Saint Paul St, two very interesting streets in montreal! I would stay there again without hesitate!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maira_fernandes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGault, Front Office Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments. It is very much appreciated. We are all looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,

Sarah Mahu
Front Desk and F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#2 of 164 in Montreal
334 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#9 of 164 in Montreal
2,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#6 of 164 in Montreal
1,389 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 164 in Montreal
1,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gault? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gault

Property: Hotel Gault
Address: 449 Sainte-Helene, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2K9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Montreal
#2 Business Hotel in Montreal
#3 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#3 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gault 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gault is a boutique hotel housed in an historic building built in 1871. The hotel lies in the heart of Old Montreal, just steps away from the downtown and the convention centre. In contrast to the exterior of this landmark building, inside, The Gault features a minimalist style. Together, they create an incomparable communion of old-world comfort and luxurious contemporary design. Furnished with classic 20th-century pieces, The Gault experience is enhanced by huge French windows that flood each of the 30 suites with natural light and create a radiant atmosphere. All the rooms are open-plan and equipped with Mondrian custom oak cabinetry, an LED flat-screen television, and Blu-ray technology. Some suites feature 3D televisions. All guests enjoy HDTV, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, and free local calls. iPads are available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Gault reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gault Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing