We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Grand Prix weekend!”
Review of Hotel Gault

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Gault
Ranked #2 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Excellent hotel with exceptional staff, we were there for the Grand Prix 2014 weekend. It's a wonderful hotel with really nicely designed rooms, a fantastic lobby area and, again, a staff that was superbly attentive and wonderful to interact with. They literally could not have made our 3yr old daughter feel any more special - she was happy as can be from all of the positive vibes. We'd love to come back again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herr_Niemand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah M, Front Office Assistant Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hotel Gault.

I am proud to learn that our team was successful in providing you with a truly memorable experience and that we made you feel warm and welcome. Your princess has gotten the entire team's attention the second she stepped into the hotel. She is without doubt one of the most adorable children that we have ever met.

We cannot wait to welcome you back at the Hotel Gault.

Kind regards,

Amir Bakir
Front Office Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,404)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

819 - 825 of 1,404 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Incredible service and gorgeous space. From the art in the lobby to the room - the loft terrace is beautiful choice with spectacular view of city. Marc, Yannick, Amir, Melissa and Danny at the bar and the housekeeping service - all amazing!!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Ricky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah M, Front Office Assistant Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hotel Gault.

I really appreciate your good comments and I am glad to read about how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Be assured that your comments have been shared with the whole team, especially Marc, Yannick, Melissa, and Danny!

I look forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in a near future.

Kind regards,

Amir Bakir
Front Office Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Just got back from staying here from June 9 to June 11 and had to write and say what a memorable, relaxing, unforgetable experience we had. From the minute we walked into the hotel to check in we were greated with friendly courteous staff. in the room waiting for us was a plate of cookies, bottled water and a personalized note to me.
We stayed in the terrace suites which had an amazing view of the city from the walk out terrace.
The room was spacious and full of light, very clean and open.
The staff were all extremely helpful booking our restaurant reservations and printing out maps for us to follow. We ordered quite a lot from room service and from the bar to our room throughout our trip and each person was exceptional attentive and cheery. The service was so great, that when we wanted to order some food for delivery, the staff went online checked what was open late in the evening and printed out a menu so we could review.
My only very minor comment would be the limited selection of food through room service other then this place is a great retreat in the heart of montreal. We will definately be back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marianne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah M, Front Office Assistant Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear guest,

I am thrilled that you felt compelled to write a review after your recent stay at the Hotel Gault.

I appreciate all of the compliments and feedback that you shared, especially regarding our team members. I always appreciate an opportunity to recognize my associates for a job well done.

I am delighted to read that you are planning to stay with us again and I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the Hotel Galut.

Kind regards,

Amir Bakir
Front Office Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed at Hotel Gault for our honeymoon in May 2014 and had an amazing experience. Two things make this hotel exceptional, the atmosphere and the staff. The hotel exterior is jaw-dropping and will immediately let you know you're somewhere unique. The lobby and rooms are minimalist chic, with a more timeless appeal than other boutique hotels I've seen. But it's the staff that pull it all together and make the environment welcoming. From the voice of a honeymooner, I highly recommend Hotel Gault!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah M, Front Office Assistant Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear guest,

First and foremost, thank you kindly for recommending the Hotel Gault and for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor.

We constantly strive on guests' satisfaction and providing exceptional service. I am proud to learn that our team was successful in providing you with a truly memorable experience and that we made you feel warm and welcome.

I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for another romantic gateway!

Kind regards,

Amir Bakir
Front Office Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My husband and I have nothing but superlatives to report from our four nights at the Hotel Gault. The contemporary design and furnishings are first rate, with iconic pieces that are the real thing not cheap imitations. Not a chip or nick on any surface, and impeccably clean. Wonderful bathroom, plush bath and bed linens, superior turndown service. All the staff were warm and professional, thoughtful and helpful, from the concierge who called in advance to be sure he understood my email request about restaurant reservations, to the valet attendants and front desk staff. The location is excellent, in the old town but on a very quiet street. Our suite was so quiet we thought we were the only people staying there, and were surprised to find it was actually fully booked. Can't imagine staying anywhere else in Montreal.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CuriousTraveler1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah M, Front Office Assistant Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear guest,

It is with great satisfaction that we had knowledge of your very positive comments about your recent stay with us at the Hotel Gault.

The principal and permanent interests of the entire team of the Hotel Gault is the satisfaction of our guests and I wanted to thank you for taking the time to share your impressions on TripAdvisor.

Be assured, that we constantly continue our efforts to make our guests' stay an exceptional moment. Thus; our greatest joy, precisely, is to read that our valuable guest got the entire team's attention and have been treated as if they had been the only guests at the hotel.

Once again, thank you for your kind review. We cannot wait to welcome you back on your next visit to Montréal!

Kind regards,

Amir Bakir
Front Office Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The Hotel Gault in Montreal is an exceptional hotel. We stayed in this beautiful small hotel (30 rooms) two nights prior to leaving on a cruise. Our room was impeccably clean, and we do mean impeccably. The staff was quite attentive and helpful, and all of them seemed to be bilingual in French and English. The bed was wonderful, and the room was a nice size and quiet. Even with all of this, the price compared favorably to other well-known hotel brands in the downtown area. The hotel is in the Old City, and there's a good bit to see close by, especially the beautiful Notre Dame Basilica.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ross W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah M, Front Office Assistant Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hotel Gault.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay, everything from our gorgeous suite to the accommodating staff and of course our close proximity to most of old port's attractions, especially the beautiful Notre Dame Basilica.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Montéal.

Kind regards,

Amir Bakir
Front Office Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Wonderful, large, comfortable rooms. Not luxurious but has all the right details and necessities. I loved how spacious the rooms were and nice balcony looking out over the street...I can't say enough good things about the staff!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becccaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah M, Front Office Assistant Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for your thoughtful review.

I am delighted to read that you loved our spacious guestroom and terrace. Above all, restful night's sleep. I am very pleased that our friendly and personalized service was beyond your expectation and I will not hesitate to share your feedback with our team as it is always a great source of motivation.

Thank you again for sharing your experience at the Hotel Gault and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Amir Bakir
Front Office Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#3 of 165 in Montreal
1,117 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#6 of 165 in Montreal
2,265 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#7 of 165 in Montreal
2,519 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#5 of 165 in Montreal
453 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#8 of 165 in Montreal
1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gault? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gault

Address: 449 Sainte-Helene, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2K9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Montreal
#2 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#2 Business Hotel in Montreal
#3 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: £101 - £320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gault 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gault is a boutique hotel housed in an historic building built in 1871. The hotel lies in the heart of Old Montreal, just steps away from the downtown and the convention centre. In contrast to the exterior of this landmark building, inside, The Gault features a minimalist style. Together, they create an incomparable communion of old-world comfort and luxurious contemporary design. Furnished with classic 20th-century pieces, The Gault experience is enhanced by huge French windows that flood each of the 30 suites with natural light and create a radiant atmosphere. All the rooms are open-plan and equipped with Mondrian custom oak cabinetry, an LED flat-screen television, and Blu-ray technology. Some suites feature 3D televisions. All guests enjoy HDTV, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, and free local calls. iPads are available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Gault reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gault Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing