We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't say enough about this hotel. Amazing weekend.”
Review of Hotel Gault

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Gault
Ranked #2 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Absolutely perfect hotel for a romantic getaway. Guys, if you want to impress your lady, stay here. The staff was incredible, took care of every small detail, and truly went the extra mile. I took my girlfriend here for her birthday for the weekend, and when we saw the hotel from the outside she started to cry. Then when we got to our room, with its modern design and beautiful flower covered terrace, she cried even more. I proposed to her later that night on the terrace, and it was absolutely perfect. The manager brought us champagne the next morning to celebrate.

Incredible experience, can not say enough. Thank you Hotel Gault. We will absolutely be back someday.

Room Tip: fifth (top) floor rooms have a very romantic walk out terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah M, Front Office Assistant Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Hotel Gault.

We pride ourselves in providing constant high-end personalized service; your testimony is well appreciated. We were thrilled to learn that our level of service is moving in the right direction as we constantly look for opportunities to improve ourselves and exeed expectations.

Thank you again for this glowing review. On behalf of the entire team, we wish you a joyful and a blessed life with your beautiful bride and We look forward to welcoming you back on your next romanitc getaway!

Kind regards,

Amir Bakir
Front Office Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,405)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

804 - 810 of 1,405 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

I sincerely highly rate this hotel property. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The hotel is unique, clean, quiet, well staffed in a great location. I would definitely recommend this hotel to all and would go back.

This hotel went out of their way to make our stay very comfortable, enjoyable and memorable!

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor up and one of the smaller rooms (I believe). It had all that we need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah M, Front Office Assistant Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your recent experience at Hotel Gault.

I am very pleased to read that our team members went above and beyond to make your stay memorable! Thank you again for your thoughtful review.

It would be an absolute pleasure to welcome you back and I hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

Amir Bakir
Front Office Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We loved the Hotel Gault. We were a family traveling together and stayed here for several days. We had three rooms, and upon check-in (late at night, but they were ready and waiting for us, and there were cookies waiting us for us in our rooms) two of three rooms were upgraded, which was a nice treat. The rooms were spacious, well designed, and had nice amenities (the only thing missing was an in-room coffee maker -- a Nespresso in my room would have made it practically perfect). We loved the Molton Brown products, the slippers and turn-down service, and the free WIFI. The decor is modern in an old building, and the service is wonderful. Everyone was kind, helpful and did everything they could to make our stay great. We had breakfast many mornings in the lobby, and it was very good and well-priced. We were tourists, and the location made it easy to walk virtually everywhere we wanted to go and also access the subway. Overall, we would return here in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Corner rooms were airy and spacious; "suite" was just a larger room with more windows, tho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank EuroReisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah M, Front Office Assistant Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Hotel Gault.

I am thrilled to read that you had memorable stay with us. Your feedback and kind words keeps us dedicated towards seeking perfection. I will pass along your thoughtful review to the entire team.

I look forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in a near future!

Kind regards,

Amir Bakir
Front Office Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Absolutely loved this place. The service was incredible! Everyone was so nice. We checked in around midnight and the guy at the desk was so sweet to us, helped us unload the car and parked it for us. He was very sweet to our dogs which I loved. We ordered room service (which they had all night) and it was sooooo yummy. Best caeser salad I've ever had. Also, there was a delicious cookie in our room. The room was clean and the bed was so comfy. The hotel is in this beautiful old building but it is very modern on the inside. We sadly had to leave the next day but our room service breakfast was also super yummy and again, the service was amazing. I will absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gainsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah M, Front Office Assistant Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your recent experience at Hotel Gault.

I greatly appreciated reading this glowing review of our hotel. It is always a great source of motivation for all our team members and I will without doubt share your outstanding comments with all the departments.

I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Montéal.

Kind regards,

Amir Bakir
Front Office Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Excellent location with very helpful staff. We just returned and are happy with our choice in hotel. I felt so well taken care of that I knew they could help me even if I ended up lost or with another problem. From cookies and water left in the room to coffee upon arrival, everything was very nice. Also, the hotel was so quiet with very comfortable beds. It was a little oasis after a full day of walking, visiting, and seeing new sights.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Louise2797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah M, Front Office Assistant Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Hotel Gault.

I am delighted to read that you received exceptional service from our team members thus; making your stay memorable.

I look forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future!

Kind regards,

Amir Bakir
Front Office Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at the hotel for a couple of days over the Montreal Jazz Festival. We had a very pleasant stay. The room was large and well appointed. We had room 540 with the large wrap around terrace which was very nice. The staff was very helpful. The concierge booked our dinner reservations for both nights and his selections were very good. He even ordered us a complimentary desert on the first night. I would stay at the Gault again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah M, Front Office Assistant Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to to share your recent experience at Hotel Gault.

It is our mission to have guests leave happy and amazed thinking about their next trip back. We are already looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Amir Bakir
Front Office Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Spent a week here and found every aspect superb. The staff were very polite and helpful and the loft-like room was extremely comfortable. The hotel is also very well located -- close to Vieux Montreal and a short walk to St Catherine. Overall, highly recommend this property for charm, convenience and comfort and there was nothing whatsoever that was grounds for complaining..

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah M, Front Office Assistant Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Hotel Gault.

Also, I would like to thank you for complimenting our staff and for recommending our hotel. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and loved our product and location.

We look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to Montréal.

Kind regards,

Amir Bakir
Front Office Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#3 of 165 in Montreal
1,119 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#6 of 165 in Montreal
2,265 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#7 of 165 in Montreal
2,523 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#5 of 165 in Montreal
455 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 165 in Montreal
2,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gault? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gault

Address: 449 Sainte-Helene, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2K9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Montreal
#2 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#2 Business Hotel in Montreal
#3 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: £100 - £324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gault 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gault is a boutique hotel housed in an historic building built in 1871. The hotel lies in the heart of Old Montreal, just steps away from the downtown and the convention centre. In contrast to the exterior of this landmark building, inside, The Gault features a minimalist style. Together, they create an incomparable communion of old-world comfort and luxurious contemporary design. Furnished with classic 20th-century pieces, The Gault experience is enhanced by huge French windows that flood each of the 30 suites with natural light and create a radiant atmosphere. All the rooms are open-plan and equipped with Mondrian custom oak cabinetry, an LED flat-screen television, and Blu-ray technology. Some suites feature 3D televisions. All guests enjoy HDTV, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, and free local calls. iPads are available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Gault reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gault Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing