We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A chic and elegant choice”
Review of Hotel Gault

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Gault
Ranked #3 of 166 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2009

This was our 3rd stay at the Hotel Gault in the past few years, this time to attend the Montreal Jazz Festival. Once again, we were very pleased with the experience at this true boutique hotel. Service is thorough and professional. The building is a renovated heritage warehouse and the rooms (only about 30 rooms in all) have very high ceilings, polished concrete floors (most, not all), huge Parisienne windows, lush beds and a cool layout (pocket doors, washrooms that open into the room with private WC). The location is perfect for us - on the very northwest corner of Old Montreal, close to the dining, shopping and culture but surrounded by heritage office buildings that assure a quiet night's sleep. We love the understated elegance and will defiitely return....again. Ask for a room with a balcony - they are very limited. They also have 1 great suite that we had on our previous visit that has an adjoining room that is perfect for 2 couples travelling together or a family with older children. Outstanding value.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sam-in-Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,413)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,135 - 1,141 of 1,413 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2009

We hope the owner of the Hotel Gault appreciates his fantastic staff. They are truly the nicest people you will ever meet and competent to boot. Thank you Andre (I still hate myself for not listening to you, twice) and the rest of the lovely people at the beautiful Hotel Gault. We miss you and can't wait to come back. Steve and Lynn, Detroit

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jetts424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2009

I recently spent 3 nights at Hotel Gault, Montreal.

I was extremely impressed with the hotel and felt that it was superior to all the other Tripadvisor hotels I stayed at during my Trip to Las Vegas, Montreal, Quebec and Mont Tremblant, including the Four Seasons/Westin/etc. All the other ones were great, but Hotel Gault has got something SPECIAL....a sense for incredible design and decor. In fact, besides the Four Seasons Maui, it might have been the best hotel I ever stayed at.

PROs:
- The interior design of Hotel Gault is world class. The chairs, the beds, the tables, the showers - it is all very practical, but also very beautiful.
- The loft style rooms are simply gorgeous, with high ceilings and beds that make you want to spend all day in bed. Extremely comfortable.
- No room is the same, so you'll get a bit of a different experience every time you're at the hotel
- The front desk's employees and the concierges are extremely knowledgeable and very friendly
- Internet and breakfast is FREE
- The location is in a quiet street in Old Town Montreal. Simply perfect.

CONs:
- This is hard....the only thing I can think of is that it takes from 7.30am to 7.30pm to get clothes dry-cleaned, unless you want to pay $35 extra. And if you require a bath tub instead of a shower, make sure you make your reservation by phone, most rooms only have a shower.

When staying in Montreal, this is THE place to be. You don't have to trust me, but you can trust Bill Clinton, he always stays there when he's in town.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SHills2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2009

We do not usually use this kind of hotel but were seduced by the comments of others on TA. Though the overall experience was good there were little irritations that could be addressed : chipped paint in the bathroom, dodgy curtain fixings, no in-room coffee making facility, the only full length mirror being in the toilet(!), insufficient rails to hang towels. However, the location is first class and the staff very friendly and helpful. The rooms are huge if you stay on the top floor as we did.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank itsverygrimupnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2009

In February, my wife and I had spent time at the Gault in one of their larger rooms. This time we chose their basic level room, queen bed no bathtub, as nothing else was available. Once again the service was superb and the room immaculate. We really enjoyed the room with its bare stone wall and huge window overlooking an inner 'courtyard' (really car park) as it was dead quiet and private. The design of the room was great though fans of watching TV would be disappointed as the TV was small and not a flat screen. We read from their extensive design and art library in the lobby so were totally satisfied. The breakfast buffet had a good variety of food and the coffee was superb.

Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Droynick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2009

My wife and were in Montreal for a vacation and based on TA reviews took a room at the Gault. The place more than lived up to the big hype. Terrific location (about 2-3 blocks from the Metro, walking around in Vieux Montreal), extremely cordial, friendly and helpful service, and a fantastic breakfast. It was a bit difficult for our minibus driver to find, but the Gault is really just a very quiet block off busy McGill and not hard to find at all. We stayed there for four nights and loved our comfortable, minimalist room. Would definitely stay at the Gault again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SarasotaCurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2009

My husband and I spent our wedding weekend at the Gault, and I would not have changed a thing. I had spoken with the concierge well in advance and asked for flowers be placed in the room before our arrival. When they brought us up to our room, they were there, and they were exactly what I had asked for. The staff were friendly, courteous, and always attentive to our needs. The room was spectacular, airy and beautifully furnished. The only oddity that I noticed was the towel hooks -- although perfectly functional -- needed to be re-anchored.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jukeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#4 of 166 in Montreal
1,127 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#8 of 166 in Montreal
2,540 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#6 of 166 in Montreal
2,275 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#5 of 166 in Montreal
468 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#9 of 166 in Montreal
1,791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gault? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gault

Address: 449 Sainte-Helene, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2K9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Montreal
#2 Business Hotel in Montreal
#3 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#3 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: £102 - £356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gault 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gault is a boutique hotel housed in an historic building built in 1871. The hotel lies in the heart of Old Montreal, just steps away from the downtown and the convention centre. In contrast to the exterior of this landmark building, inside, The Gault features a minimalist style. Together, they create an incomparable communion of old-world comfort and luxurious contemporary design. Furnished with classic 20th-century pieces, The Gault experience is enhanced by huge French windows that flood each of the 30 suites with natural light and create a radiant atmosphere. All the rooms are open-plan and equipped with Mondrian custom oak cabinetry, an LED flat-screen television, and Blu-ray technology. Some suites feature 3D televisions. All guests enjoy HDTV, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, and free local calls. iPads are available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Gault reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gault Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing