We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shabby and rif-off - don't go!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Anne Ma Soeur Anne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Anne Ma Soeur Anne
Ranked #87 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Zürich
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Shabby and rif-off - don't go!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2010

I arrived quite late at night, and this was in fact the only reason that kept me from leaving again immediately. The place is just shabby and has the charm of a youth hostel long overdue for renovation. The person at the reception did not lift a finger to help with luggage, so I carried my bags by myself up a few stairs to arrive at my "superior with terrace". There was nothing superior about the room, it has the level of a very simple, cheap, battered B&B or youth hostel: worn out cheap furniture, frail shades, old bathroom, spotty old carpet, plastic furniture on the terrace. The fold-away bed had been announced but again it must have been at least 15-20 years old. That this place supposedly has 3 stars is a mystery to me, it is 1 or 2 stars at most.

I would not complain much about it if they would not ask 135C$ for the room. This is just an outrageous rip-off. The area is very nice indeed but this is no justification for this price in view of the service. The pictures on their website are very cleverly taken to hide the degree of deterioration and lack of charme, to a level which I feel is close to imposture. I moved to a Holiday Inn the next day where I paid 125C$ for a room twice the size, spa, restaurants, business centre etc. - admittedly with little soul and downtown, but at least with reasonable value for money.

I am also surprised and suspicious now of the other enthusiastic reviews the place got and wonder if the authors were really there or are just friends of the owners. When I informed the lady at the reception that I was unhappy and would leave, she reacted as if she had not heard this for the first time.

I am a frequent traveler, both for business and pleasure, and have seen everything from 5-star to youth hostels but this was one of the biggest disappointments so far. In fact I never bothered to write a negative review, even if a place did not fully live up to expectations but this was simply too much.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunne13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    60
    19
    5
    9
See reviews for
10
49
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
toronto, ON
Level Contributor
69 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2010

Anne ma soeur Anne is a great hotel for budget travelers. The rooms are small so it is ideal for a couple. The rooms have a mini kitchen (stove, fridge, microwave) in the room and the croissant delivery in the morning is great. The murphy beds are not the most comfortable, but they aren't horrible either. The small tvs are hinged to the ceiling so you have to crank your head up, but there's no need to watch tv in Montreal anyway! The neighbourhood is awesome for shopping and there are lots of great restaurants within walking distance. You're about halfway in between 2 metro stops, but only about a 5-7 min. walk to either one. Parking is about a block away and cheap. You can park outside the hotel and drop your things off and then park the car after. The staff is helpful and pleasant. The back balcony is nice and yes, sometimes the jazz club below can be noisy, but again, you're in Montreal, you should be down there partying too!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank globalbouncer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2010

My husband and I just returned from four nights in Montreal and couldn't have been happier with our hotel choice. Good reviews from Lonely Planet and Trip Advisor were accurate: comfortable (but modest) rooms, convenient location, great value, clean and quiet. Our room had a bay window with view of bustling St. Denis and snowy Plateau Mont Royal-charming. Perhaps it would be loud in summer but not so in February. The jazz club/restaurant in adjacent building was perfect-intimate, excellent tapas, and the music so good we went there two nights in a row! All in all, an excellent experience. We will most certainly stay on our next visit to Montreal.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenErin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2009

Just returned from a four day visit in Montreal and would highly recommend this studio hotel if you are on a budget but do not want to compromise on service or location. From the friendly help of the staff to the excellent location on Rue St. Denis in Plateau Mont Royal to the croissants on the door each morning, this hotel is a Montreal gem.

Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SVPDEJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2009

Just came back and I'm so glad that I stayed here. The location is PERFECT for everything: shopping, dining, nightlife. Not noisy, but not dead either. Unlike some of what I read from other posts, the staff was nice, the room was clean and not too small, and we could not hear the jazz club downstairs (and we stayed on the first floor). Parking was just down the street and we didn't have a problem leaving and returning. The rates are very reasonable too.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TTT123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2009

Overall pretty good. The rooms were on the smaller side, but each room had a "full kitchen" (fridge, stove, microwave, etc). Location was excellent, everything is within walking distance. The beds were not the most comfortable, but you have to expect that from a european hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AFWine25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2009

We found this hotel-studio on the Trip Advisor site and booked it despite the odd negative review. There were no problems booking online and the price was what we expected for two nights in the heart of Montreal on Rue St-Denis. We took the train so we didn't have to worry about parking and it was only two blocks from a friend's house so we had no problem finding it, though visitors unfamiliar with Montreal or Rue St. Denis may walk right by it.

We checked in quickly and were shown to our cozy room. It was small but it had a tiny, yet very functiional hidden kitchenette, wi-fi, a big balcony, a TV and a very comfortable Murphy bed that can be lifted in to the wall to reveal a table that can be used for studying, eating or anything else. The kitchenette was nice to have because only a croissant is offered for breakfast

It was a perfect location. It is between the metro stations Sherbrooke and Mont-Royal. We had dinner at two fabulous restaurants - Fonduementale and l'Academie - then went to a jazz club with wicked live music, all within a two block range. It is central to the St. Denis boutiques and a ten minute walk to the metro to get anywhere else.

All in all, well worth a visit. I would recommend this hotel-studio to people on extended stays, couples, and singletons.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PSSteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Hotel de Paris
Hotel de Paris
#81 of 163 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Hotel Kutuma
Hotel Kutuma
#41 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Roberval
Le Roberval
#76 of 163 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Hotel de l'ITHQ
Hotel de l'ITHQ
#32 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
#11 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Auberge Le Pomerol
Auberge Le Pomerol
#42 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anne Ma Soeur Anne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anne Ma Soeur Anne

Property: Anne Ma Soeur Anne
Address: 4119 Rue Saint Denis, Montreal, Quebec H2W 2M7, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Anne Ma Soeur Anne 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anne Ma Soeur Anne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anne Ma Soeur Anne Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing