We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, average hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anne Ma Soeur Anne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Anne Ma Soeur Anne
Ranked #88 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Berlin, New Jersey
1 review
“Great location, average hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2010

After reading some reviews I was very nervous about our stay here but actually it wasn't too bad. The hotel was pretty average, though it did include a kitchenette which was nice, though we didn't utilize it. Croissants were delivered to our door every morning and they were pretty good, though after the first day we did opt for a bakery with different options instead. The cleaning ladies don't clean until pretty late - they never got to our room until around 3ish, and by then we usually had just got back to the room to relax before getting ready to go out that night. I did read some stuff about the jazz club and was a little worried about that, but we were on the second floor and never heard a thing. The beds are very, very firm, so if you require a soft bed to sleep then keep that in mind. There are also a lot of steps, including the initial entrance to the hotel, and there is no one to help you with your luggage, so this is DEFINITELY not recommended for people who have difficulty climbing stairs. The location, however, is fabulous. You are right on Saint Denis Street and are within walking distance to La Fountaine Parc as well as some other areas of interest. It is longer walk to Old Montreal and the Port, but we utilized the Bixi bike system. I probably wouldn't stay here again because I'd like to be closer to Old Montreal, but it wasn't that bad. Average hotel in a good location.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Smallworld52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    59
    19
    5
    9
See reviews for
10
48
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2010

Do yourself a favor and stay away from this hotel please. After going to this hotel, like the previous reviewer, I am highly suspicious of the good reviews for this hotel on this site.
We arrived in Montreal early so upon checking in we were told we could leave our bags in the reception office and use the bathroom. The receptionist was friendly and offered us water, we accepted, we were a bit put off by the fact she went to get the water bottles from the same room she had pointed to as the bathroom. After checking in I decided to use the bathroom and as I opened the door I actually stood back for a minute thinking she must have told me to use the wrong bathroom. The bathroom had bags of dirty towels thrown about in the bathtub, really dirty muddy shoes stacked up, and barely any soap (it was a tiny bit of disgusting looking soap bar). We were terrified to come back and see what our room would look like based on the first impression we were given of the hotel.
We actually came back earlier from sightseeing that day because we were concerned we might have to change hotels based on that bathroom. The room wasnt as horrible as we expected, but it was dusty, there were tons of skidmarks. The worst part was the hard as rocks bed. We decided however that the hotel was cheap and we could put up with it for 5 nights. BUT then when we returned at night we discovered that we would not be able to sleep because directly below this hotel is a JAZZ CLUB with live music until 2-3AM every night. If you plan on sleeping before 2 or 3 am and the decide to give you a room in the front you will not be able to sleep at all until that time with the music and customers of the club. That first night we went to complain and the receptionist himself admitted it was unacceptable! However he said he wouldnt be able to do anything that night and that we should speak to the owner the next morning.
But this was not the worst part of the hotel at all. The worst part was the owner of the hotel. The next morning we went to see her at the reception office she told us the hotel was fully booked and she would only be able to move us to another room in the front in the first floor. Literally, it was the room next to ours. She said all she could do was ask the night receptionist to go and tell them to lower their music. How this would be possible given the fact that its live music is beyond me, not only that part of the noise problem is caused by the loud customers of the club. The worst part was that she was completely UNAPOLOGETIC after we told her that we had not been able to sleep. She did not care at all and after we told her we would be changing hotels she did not care at all. And this was the owner of the place, completely uncaring and unapologetic about the fact that we had not been able to sleep because she had given us a room where it would be impossible to sleep before 3am in the morning.

I think that she scams people by renting these rooms in the front and charging them for the night they are essentially trapped here before they change hotels. The worst part still is that that morning she still charged us for a second night (her cancellation policy) despite the fact that it was 8am (before their checkout time) and that we were leaving because she gave us a room where we would not be able to get a good nights rest. She did not care at all, after all she still gets to charge for two nights for rooms she should not be renting anyway.
Oh and the free croissants, they are disgustingly greasy. When we went to complain the night before we saw the receptionist packing them individually with his bare hands and putting them into paper bags. It was gross. And remember they keep the water and orange juice the give you in the bathroom, and yes the bottles are unopened in the bathroom, but they are keeping beverages were people perform their necessities. So PLEASE stay away and do not risk going through this when you are supposed to be on vacation. Even if you get a room in the back the beds are so hard you might still have trouble getting a good nights sleep. This hotel looks way better in pictures.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cibet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Montreal hotels

Zürich
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2010

I arrived quite late at night, and this was in fact the only reason that kept me from leaving again immediately. The place is just shabby and has the charm of a youth hostel long overdue for renovation. The person at the reception did not lift a finger to help with luggage, so I carried my bags by myself up a few stairs to arrive at my "superior with terrace". There was nothing superior about the room, it has the level of a very simple, cheap, battered B&B or youth hostel: worn out cheap furniture, frail shades, old bathroom, spotty old carpet, plastic furniture on the terrace. The fold-away bed had been announced but again it must have been at least 15-20 years old. That this place supposedly has 3 stars is a mystery to me, it is 1 or 2 stars at most.

I would not complain much about it if they would not ask 135C$ for the room. This is just an outrageous rip-off. The area is very nice indeed but this is no justification for this price in view of the service. The pictures on their website are very cleverly taken to hide the degree of deterioration and lack of charme, to a level which I feel is close to imposture. I moved to a Holiday Inn the next day where I paid 125C$ for a room twice the size, spa, restaurants, business centre etc. - admittedly with little soul and downtown, but at least with reasonable value for money.

I am also surprised and suspicious now of the other enthusiastic reviews the place got and wonder if the authors were really there or are just friends of the owners. When I informed the lady at the reception that I was unhappy and would leave, she reacted as if she had not heard this for the first time.

I am a frequent traveler, both for business and pleasure, and have seen everything from 5-star to youth hostels but this was one of the biggest disappointments so far. In fact I never bothered to write a negative review, even if a place did not fully live up to expectations but this was simply too much.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunne13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto, ON
Level Contributor
68 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2010

Anne ma soeur Anne is a great hotel for budget travelers. The rooms are small so it is ideal for a couple. The rooms have a mini kitchen (stove, fridge, microwave) in the room and the croissant delivery in the morning is great. The murphy beds are not the most comfortable, but they aren't horrible either. The small tvs are hinged to the ceiling so you have to crank your head up, but there's no need to watch tv in Montreal anyway! The neighbourhood is awesome for shopping and there are lots of great restaurants within walking distance. You're about halfway in between 2 metro stops, but only about a 5-7 min. walk to either one. Parking is about a block away and cheap. You can park outside the hotel and drop your things off and then park the car after. The staff is helpful and pleasant. The back balcony is nice and yes, sometimes the jazz club below can be noisy, but again, you're in Montreal, you should be down there partying too!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank globalbouncer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2010

My husband and I just returned from four nights in Montreal and couldn't have been happier with our hotel choice. Good reviews from Lonely Planet and Trip Advisor were accurate: comfortable (but modest) rooms, convenient location, great value, clean and quiet. Our room had a bay window with view of bustling St. Denis and snowy Plateau Mont Royal-charming. Perhaps it would be loud in summer but not so in February. The jazz club/restaurant in adjacent building was perfect-intimate, excellent tapas, and the music so good we went there two nights in a row! All in all, an excellent experience. We will most certainly stay on our next visit to Montreal.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BenErin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2009

Just returned from a four day visit in Montreal and would highly recommend this studio hotel if you are on a budget but do not want to compromise on service or location. From the friendly help of the staff to the excellent location on Rue St. Denis in Plateau Mont Royal to the croissants on the door each morning, this hotel is a Montreal gem.

Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SVPDEJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2009

Just came back and I'm so glad that I stayed here. The location is PERFECT for everything: shopping, dining, nightlife. Not noisy, but not dead either. Unlike some of what I read from other posts, the staff was nice, the room was clean and not too small, and we could not hear the jazz club downstairs (and we stayed on the first floor). Parking was just down the street and we didn't have a problem leaving and returning. The rates are very reasonable too.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TTT123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Hotel de Paris
Hotel de Paris
#82 of 164 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Hotel Kutuma
Hotel Kutuma
#40 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Hotel de l'ITHQ
Hotel de l'ITHQ
#27 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
#11 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Le Roberval
Le Roberval
#78 of 164 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Chateau de l'Argoat
Chateau de l'Argoat
#29 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anne Ma Soeur Anne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anne Ma Soeur Anne

Property: Anne Ma Soeur Anne
Address: 4119 Rue Saint Denis, Montreal, Quebec H2W 2M7, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Anne Ma Soeur Anne 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anne Ma Soeur Anne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anne Ma Soeur Anne Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing