We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Run down, in need of total overhaul”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Meridien Versailles
Ranked #68 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at Le Meridien Versailles this past week end and were very disappointed in the upkeep and quality of the hotel considering the starpoint category of the hotel. We have stayed at dozens of Starwood properties and are usually very impressed. The staff was very nice and the service great, but the hotel is so run down in in such a poor state of dis repair it was very unpleasant. The carpet worn, stained, ripped in all common areas and in the room. In our room when we checked in there was a huge wet spot on the carpet in the middle of the room and I had to keep my shoes on. Paint was peeling, walls were cracking and chipped, door hinges were rusted, furniture was broken (dresser drawers would not open), surfaces had stains. The redeeming features of this hotel are the staff were very good and the location is convenient.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank queenmilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (666)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

287 - 293 of 666 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

The location is perfect for tourists and business travelers. I liked the valet parking with unlimited retrieval of the car. We used it several times during our 3 day stay and the car was always ready within 5 minutes of requesting it. The hotel also kindly stored our bikes and made them available whenever we needed them. The room was perfectly adequate but quite small. If my husband was at the desk I had to either climb over the bed or make him squish far forward in order to get by. I would stay here again - and request a larger room if they have any!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank milesart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MassimoLeMeridien, Guest Relations Manager at Le Meridien Versailles, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is a beautiful hotel, unique. While we stayed there they had a 24 sound scape playing in the elevator. There were two great cafes not far for our morning coffee and both with delicious pastries!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veronica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MassimoLeMeridien, Guest Relations Manager at Le Meridien Versailles, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the kind review! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your experience with us. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Nice location for business and Tourist travel with a more intimate feel.

If you want to get away from the big hotels that could be placed in any city and feel like you have actually traveled to a European getaway, this hotel is for you.

I have stayed here on business several times. The best thing about this hotel is that as soon as you step in the lobby after a work day, ditch the tie you feel as though you are in some exotic location ready to be discovered. The museums are close by and great choice of restaurants from traditional French to Pubs are with in a 10 minute walk. ( You will enjoy the walk.) The main street with shopping is also only moments away.

Rooms are trendy and the ones I stayed in were corner locations which were large.

Restaurant down stairs with a European feel nice for breakfast.

This is the hotel for the person that wants more than just a bed to spend the night.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gavin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MassimoLeMeridien, Guest Relations Manager at Le Meridien Versailles, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your journey with us. We want all our guest to have a fantastic experience with us. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel located on Sherbrooke street at Saint Mathieu is steps from the Musee des Beaux Arts, Saint Catherine Street and Montreal's night life. The hotel staff are friendly and attentive, but oddly out of touch. A call to the front desk about ice accurately directed to the dispenser on another floor, but failed to mention it was out of order, and partly dismantled. A call down to the front desk for the car valet produced the usual assurance the car would be ready in ten minutes, but the valet having been transmitted no such request when we show up with our luggage. The breakfast? The buffet set us back some thing like $50, the very small banquet table overseen by three clearly underemployed waiters: the pastry table consisting of packaged dinner rolls and buns, bran muffins (thimble-size, dry) , faded fruit breads, then corn flakes, with or without candied fruit, a dish of melon slices, a selection of process cheeses and cold cuts, another dish of yogourt. We mentioned the breakfast to the charming front desk staffer, who apologized, mentioning only that, yes, they hear that sort of thing often. But this is Montreal! we wanted to sputter.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danD04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My husband and I stayed for 4 nights. The first night was a little disappointing because we were in an older room that was very run down. We were able to stay in a renovated room the other three nights and it was fantastic! The staff was wonderful and very friendly. We would stay again!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank misstown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MassimoLeMeridien, Guest Relations Manager at Le Meridien Versailles, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Very happy to hear you were able to experience one of our newly renvoated rooms! We love to hear that our guests get to enjoy them! Thank you for leaving great feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed here for a long weekend in Montreal. I have never stayed in a Meridien before, so I can't speak to the brand standards, but I enjoyed my stay and would go back. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was quiet. The beds were comfortable with lots of pillows. The location was good - downtown but out of the craziness of the main drags. Very convenient to the Musée des beaux-arts and McGill. A walkable distance to the Centre for Architecture and the Atwater Market. Right on the Guy-Concordia Metro line, as well as a bus that goes straight up Ave. du Parc and will deliver you to Mile End. Depanneurs and coffee shops nearby. Pretty much what you'd want in a downtown hotel.

But it was the little style choices that made the stay more interesting, even if the room was small and faced another building. The lobby had a quirky little art show of some photographs of animals wearing clothes (this was more artfully and stylishly done than the description indicates). The room was done up in a fun modernist black/white/silver motif, which a sparkling light fixture and zig zaggy wallpaper. Generally it looked like someone had tried to make the hotel experience a fun one, as opposed to some more expensive but drab hotels that I've stayed at in Montreal. The only negative thing I could say about it was the bathroom was nothing special.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mantaraggio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MassimoLeMeridien, Front Office Manager at Le Meridien Versailles, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for this fantastic review! I am extremely happy to hear that you enjoued your whole experience with Le Meridien! You gave such a great description of the room and exactly what the designers were aiming for! It's nice to hear that you also enjoyed your expereince in Montreal. I do hope to welcome you back soon! Again, thank you for such a nice review.

Warm regards,
Amanda Campbell
Front Desk Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#8 of 165 in Montreal
1,522 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Chateau Versailles
Chateau Versailles
#66 of 165 in Montreal
569 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier International
W Montreal
W Montreal
#23 of 165 in Montreal
1,492 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#12 of 165 in Montreal
1,757 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#21 of 165 in Montreal
2,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Versailles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Versailles

Address: 1808, Sherbrooke Street West, Montreal, Quebec H3H 1E5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: £86 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Versailles 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique Montreal hotel is set amidst historical magnificence and contemporary architecture and offers easy access to the finest things to do in Montreal including attractions, museums, art galleries, and antique shops in the dazzling Golden Square Mile. Located on elegant Sherbrooke Street West in the heart of the historic Golden Square Mile, Le Meridien Versailles is just a few steps from trendy Montreal boutiques, art galleries and eminent museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Le Meridien Versailles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Versailles Hotel Montreal
Le Meridien Hotel Montreal
Le Meridien Montreal
Montreal Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing