We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice experience”

VIA Rail Canada Montreal Station
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
157 reviews
129 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A very nice experience”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I loved taking the VIA all the way from Toronto to Montreal, and back. Very friendly staff, very clean, and nice food options. Definitely will use them again in the future. Look for those deals as well!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tal_Hameed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    197
    56
    11
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
119 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Civilized way to go”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

To these Americans, the convenient, clean, well organized VIA Rail business class lounge and service to Quebec City was a delight. We stayed in the Fairmont Queen Elizabeth, so just took an elevator down to the station! Brilliant. Comfortable modern cars with good service, including a welcome pretty good hot lunch (with wine if wanted, extra). Relaxing easy on-time travel. The whole underground shops and service area worth exploring. We have serious train envy!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
570 reviews
253 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Always : VIA and business class”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Used it to travel from Montreal to Quebec. Fees were OK. service was nice and polite. Food in business class was good. Will use again. We liked waiting for departure in the lobby for Business class passengers sipping tea. Enjoy the ride.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank RoxidouNoiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal
Level Contributor
95 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“The entryway to Montreal Souterrain”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This station is a busy place as the local commuters stand in line next to the Toronto departees. I worked at VIA one day, in a Finance Position when a bomb went off in the Baggage Lockers. They have since done away with them and it has unfortunately imprinted me with a bitter taste in my mouth.
The place, especially thje Food Square, where most of the workers from the PVM towers lunch , comprise a mix of stockbrokers, secretaries, lawyers or banksters..The rents here around are high and the Bohemia Factor is lower. The mindset is ''ready to go'' to the Airport, to the Hotel, wherever and in a hurry.

The Bureau en Gros , a stationary store akin to Staples, has good service for your printing needs. I mention this because there are not many in Montreal,

If you have a train in an hour and dont want to go far, you can chill out nearby at Place du Canada park , one block to the west....or head up the escalators to visit the PVM interior promenade with some fine stores, but nothing truly original.
Up here, there 's a soul buzz here between 12 and 1 pm when it's lunch time . After that , it's office mode, coffee mode..Outside above, above the Promenade, in the sun, there is a more relaxed vibe. The Queen Elisabeth Hotel is the premier conference hotel in the City, Many a premier or prime minister was chosen here in loud Liberal Conventions. John Lennon did his Beatrnik Sleep in here in the 1960's. The politicians and lawyers, love to go to the more stuffy Beaver Club , a 4 or 5 star restaurant, to negotiate, then charge their Clients. The lobby is simple and their Breakfast Restaurant is unpretentious, less costly and more joyous. It's the perfect place for Breakfast if you want a five star touch, If not, the fast foods at the station level below will do a good job as most are italian , french, or bakery quality fare.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank montrealandre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful trip”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

My mother and I went to Ottawa and the trip was fantastic , amazing food and excellent service,lovely views, the station is very nice , lots of little store and cafeterias ..

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Reina299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed VIA Rail Canada Montreal Station also viewed

 

Been to VIA Rail Canada Montreal Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing