We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extra $$ for parking - horrible wifi - poor housekeeping”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Montreal Westmount
Ranked #70 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Long Branch, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
“Extra $$ for parking - horrible wifi - poor housekeeping”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Travelled by car to Montreal. Upon arriving at the hotel we are informed that our SUV does fit in their underground garage but that we can use an outside parking lot BUT must pay an extra $20 per day. This should be explicit on your site, not in fine print as I later found it. So the room cost us $262/night rather than $242. The complimentary WIFI might as well not have been. It was sooooo slow that it nearly useless. I quit trying so I would not waste more if my time. The housekeeping was horrible. One day we left the sofa bed half open to indicate it needed to be cleaned and they simply left it, the same way... Half-open. Really? When I complained and they brought me clean towels: they were all floor towels. Really? I give this hotel 3 stars solely based on the location, staff pleasantness and breakfast.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarieLoevenbruck, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Montreal Westmount, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Ana,

We want to thank you for sharing your comments with us an other travelers. We are terribly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We understand that you had troubles with parking. Unfortunately, our clearance is 5'6'' and we try as hard as we can to make the parking situation aware to all our guests before their arrival, so they can make an informed decision for their stay. We will look into this some more. In regards to Wifi, we are currently working on a project that will increase the speed for the entire hotel. This should be fixed in the next few weeks. We want to assure you that we have shared your thoughts with all team leaders in order to bring corrective measures whenever possible. Again we are sorry for all the trouble. Should you decide to give us another chance, please do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Sincerely,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    235
    108
    42
    23
See reviews for
168
140
47
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Brunswick
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I booked this hotel for our weekend stay in Montreal. I liked it's location as it was right beside the Comedy Nest (in the old Forum) and the Metro station. The neighbourhood felt safe and was a short subway ride to the heart of Saint Catherine Street. On a nice day/night, it's actually a beautiful walk.

We checked into a high level room on floor 17 as most families with kids avoid being up that high. The rooms have locked doors leading to balconies which are a nightmare for parents with kids!!! The room was so very quiet and clean. The bathroom was showing some age but it was very clean. The girls at the check in desk (Cindy) were awesome and helpful. People often think Montreal is strictly french and rude but we were treated like royalty in English.

Now the downside. The hotel offers a free hot continental breakfast and it is a zoo. I got the impression the guests had not eaten in the last week because the lines were long and elbows were being used. Good luck getting to the waffle station! The busyness of the buffet made for very slow elevators as everyone was trying to get to and from the food.

Oh.....on one other note if MANAGEMENT reads this....your room attendants should NEVER be allowed to cram themselves onto a packed elevator that is already at Max capacity.

I'll definitely return :)

Room Tip: If you can stand a long wait for an elevator, choose a high room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trudy1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boerne, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This hotel is located in a quiet neighborhood surrounded by apartment buildings, with lots of stores and restaurants. It's a good but not great location, if you're in Montreal for pleasure: It's a couple miles from downtown, and four miles from Old Montreal. However, the Metro is only two blocks away, and there are at least four bike-share racks within two blocks of the hotel. The rooms seem to be recently re-done, and they are very comfortable and well-appointed. We loved the full kitchen stocked with pots, pans, plates, silverware, and glasses. There are several grocery stores within a couple blocks, and the fabulous Atwater Marche is about a mile away, so we put the kitchen to good use. I can't really comment on the breakfast since we were there on a weekend they were sold out, and there were so many people that we couldn't get near the buffet. We just made breakfast in the room each day. What was really disappointing were the super-slow elevators. There were only two elevators for 20 floors (plus two garage levels), and with a sold-out hotel, we ended up spending 5-10 minutes waiting for an elevator. The elevator is necessary given 20 floors, and even if you're on a floor low enough to use the stairs to enter/exit the hotel, if you want to use the pool or fitness room, those are located on the top floor. All in all, a good experience in a comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CherFas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
2,354 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,642 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is conveniently located on the West Side of Montreal with walking distance to shopping malls, banks, restaurants and much more. The room I had 1703 is a corner room with breathtaking views of Mont Royal.

There's a great breakfast room downstairs and a great pool on the roof top. The rooms are huge with two separate rooms one being the loving room and the other the bedroom. There is also a small kitchen with all amenities from a large fridge, microwave, dishwasher and a small stove top. You can also relax on the balcony while looking at the scenery that Montreal has to offer.

What made me give this place is the outstanding customer service I received from everyone in the hotel. The front desk staff went above and beyond for me and were extremely detail oriented. Two thumbs way up....This place is phenomenal!!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We've come at 5 am and asked for 2 rooms to sleep in until check out time. We've had a hell of 3 days with a newborn member of the family who has been airlifted to hospital in Montreal by ambulance jet from a remote area. We did not sleep for 40 hours and drove for more than 10. And you know what? Every hotel we called or visited that early morning told us they did not have any rooms. I highly doubt that.

This hotel's receptionist was like an angel to us. He thought he did not have rooms. We explained the situation. He found rooms. We had our rest and breakfast and shower, and came back to the hospital ready to keep going.

Breakfast was good, premises were bright and clean, staff was friendly. I would have appreciated a shower cap ( got used to high end hotels having those) but this is a small detail. Comfortable beds were far more important ::)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LakeSimcoeFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lander, Wyoming
Level Contributor
162 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel is located near Concordia University in a fun, student-type neighborhood with lots of good restaurants (mostly noodle joints) nearby. The hotel has been fully renovated except for the inexcusably slow elevators. (That situation would be improved if the staff were asked to walk the one flight up from parking when coming to work and the laundry were taken down during late night hours.) The kitchens are a little smaller than would be found in a RI in the states but perfectly adequate and usable. The bed was comfortable and there was a reading chair and light in the living room. Westmount is a short distance from "downtown" and the old city but easily walkable. The Metro and buses go everywhere and can be accessed with smart cards purchased at the airport (and serve the 747 bus that runs from the airport to multiple stops in the city.) The hotel is an ideal location and is very affordable. The staff, particularly Teal, is extremely helpful, knowledgeable, and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarieLoevenbruck, Manager at Residence Inn Montreal Westmount, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Kristin B,

We would like to thank you for sharing your comments with us. We thrive to offer an outstanding customer service and feedback is always welcomed to better ourselves. Don't hesitate to contact us on your next trip to our wonderful city.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuns' Island
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed at this Marriott Residence Inn for 2 consecutive weeks while preparing my move to Montreal for a new job. I found the area, the room, the service excellent. Breakfast choices were generous, and there were surprising evening refreshments - various cheese choices on one night, hot dogs and oignon rings one night, soup and salad, hamburgers and fries. This was totally unexpected and most welcome. I hope the hotel institutes this practice every night because it does take away from the burden of cooking ones own dinner.

Room Tip: There was no room service to speak of, except that the room is well cleaned on a daily basis, includ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LDumas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarieLoevenbruck, Manager at Residence Inn Montreal Westmount, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear LDumas,

Merci beaucoup! Thank you for sharing your hotel experience with other TripAdvisor travelers. We want all of our guests to feel at home when visiting the Residence Inn Montreal Westmount. Welcome to our beautiful city, we hope you will enjoy your new work and take time to discover what the city has to offer.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Residence Inn by Marriott Montreal Downtown
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Nouvel Hotel & Spa
Le Nouvel Hotel & Spa
#64 of 163 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
La Tour Belvedere
La Tour Belvedere
#84 of 163 in Montreal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
L'Appartement Hotel
L'Appartement Hotel
#36 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Meridien Versailles
Le Meridien Versailles
#66 of 163 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Montreal Westmount? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Montreal Westmount

Property: Residence Inn Montreal Westmount
Address: 2170 Lincoln Avenue, Montreal, Quebec H3H 2N5, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Montreal Westmount 3*
Number of rooms: 219
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Marriott, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Montreal Westmount reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Montreal Westmount Hotel Montreal
Montreal Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing