We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average and old-style hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Montreal Westmount
Ranked #73 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights. Upon arrival upgraded into one bedroom suite (originally booked with free night certificates, studio room) on 12th floor. Hotel is in apartment buidling in the middle of residential area (probably never disegned for a hotel, anyway), some 2 blocks from subway station and also 2 blocks from nearest grocery shop. There are only 2 lifts, which can be sometimes problematic. Staff is very friendly and accomodating, but hotel is dated and needs renovations ASAP. One bedroom suite was roomy, but bathroom on very small side with some half century old sink and bath, and shower head that was about to break out of the wall. Toilet seat has also seen better times. Kitchen was useful and more modern, same goes for bedroom. Internet was fast and reliable. Breakfast very basic, more motel that hotel style. Good hotel for families and groups, but I would not want to stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PremiumFlyer74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarieLoevenbruck, Management at Residence Inn Montreal Westmount, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear HotCat11,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us and other travelers. We are sorry to hear that you will not be returning to our property. Please know that we have shared your comments with our team leaders and made certain that corrective measures be taken whenever possible. We are happy that you enjoyed the bedroom, kitchen, internet and staff.

Sincerely,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (580)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 580 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

We knew in advance where the hotel was and what was around in the area, so we didn't have any complaints in that regard like some others did. I also didn't mind that the hotel was cautious about not damaging my vehicle and suggested we park in the outside lot only one block away (the cost was $20 a day with in and out privileges either way so I'm not sure what others are complaining about). The room was spacious with a full kitchen and large balcony with a great view of the mountain. Everything was clean and stocked (they even have a coffee maker in the room). the fitness room was very simple, but it all worked and was clean. The breakfast buffet had a good variety. I had no issues with internet access (we have several devices on the go and all worked fine). Front desk staff was friendly and helpful. Overall, this was a good value and pleasant stay.
The hotel is a couple of blocks up from the main strip, but all within walking distance of a number of restaurants. It was a comfortable walk to Crescent Street where there are lots of venues to chose from.

Room Tip: Both sides of the hall offer good views - either of the mountain or downtown, so you can't go wr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gmcnab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The Residence Inn Westmount is in a bit of an unusual neighborhood. Actually we never really did figure out quite where we were. It was a 20 minute walk to a very good group of restaurants, and 20 minutes to the closest Hop on Bus. The staff was friendly, the room as very nice and the breakfast was excellent. It is $40 from the Airport as I remember

Room Tip: Need to do some scouting of the area. On the second night we found c-store and restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hoorae45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a week in early November 2013, and found the property met all our needs. We stayed on Rewards Points and were able to upgrade to a 2 bedroom suite for an additional $50 a night.
We arrived on a weeknight in the early evening and the reception staff had our room key ready. The reception staff spoke both English and French so check-in should be easy for all. We were on a higher floor in a suite with 2 bedrooms, one bathroom, a large walk in closet, a large sitting area, a dining area, and open air balcony. The kitchenette had a microwave, cooktop, large refrigerator, sink, and plenty of storage, but no oven.
Each morning the hotel would have a large hot breafast and appetizers some weeknights. The hotel had a large laundry room and an indoor parking garage.

Access: We were using public transit while in Montreal. It was very simple to get to the hotel from Trudeau airport. Just purchase a one day pass at the STM automated kiosks on the lower level of the airport. Then go outisde to the 747 bus and get off at Station Lionel-Groulx. Take Line 1 towards Station Honoré-Beaugrand and get off at Station Atwater. The hotel is just a few blocks from Station Atwater in a residential area. The hotel is not only near a Metro Station, but also a number of bus lines so it is really easier to use transit than to have a car.

While this hotel is not in downtown it is within walking distance of many areas of interest. One night we even walked to the hotel from the Centre Bell after a Canadiens game because transit was so busy.

There is a large shopping complex nearby at Place Alexis Nihon-which has an IGA Grocery, Dollarama, drugstore, and other shops to pickup whatever you need.

Room Tip: Elevators run a bit slow so you may want to request a lower level room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlabamaTraveler0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Travelled by car to Montreal. Upon arriving at the hotel we are informed that our SUV does fit in their underground garage but that we can use an outside parking lot BUT must pay an extra $20 per day. This should be explicit on your site, not in fine print as I later found it. So the room cost us $262/night rather than $242. The complimentary WIFI might as well not have been. It was sooooo slow that it nearly useless. I quit trying so I would not waste more if my time. The housekeeping was horrible. One day we left the sofa bed half open to indicate it needed to be cleaned and they simply left it, the same way... Half-open. Really? When I complained and they brought me clean towels: they were all floor towels. Really? I give this hotel 3 stars solely based on the location, staff pleasantness and breakfast.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Ana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarieLoevenbruck, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Montreal Westmount, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Ana,

We want to thank you for sharing your comments with us an other travelers. We are terribly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We understand that you had troubles with parking. Unfortunately, our clearance is 5'6'' and we try as hard as we can to make the parking situation aware to all our guests before their arrival, so they can make an informed decision for their stay. We will look into this some more. In regards to Wifi, we are currently working on a project that will increase the speed for the entire hotel. This should be fixed in the next few weeks. We want to assure you that we have shared your thoughts with all team leaders in order to bring corrective measures whenever possible. Again we are sorry for all the trouble. Should you decide to give us another chance, please do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Sincerely,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I booked this hotel for our weekend stay in Montreal. I liked it's location as it was right beside the Comedy Nest (in the old Forum) and the Metro station. The neighbourhood felt safe and was a short subway ride to the heart of Saint Catherine Street. On a nice day/night, it's actually a beautiful walk.

We checked into a high level room on floor 17 as most families with kids avoid being up that high. The rooms have locked doors leading to balconies which are a nightmare for parents with kids!!! The room was so very quiet and clean. The bathroom was showing some age but it was very clean. The girls at the check in desk (Cindy) were awesome and helpful. People often think Montreal is strictly french and rude but we were treated like royalty in English.

Now the downside. The hotel offers a free hot continental breakfast and it is a zoo. I got the impression the guests had not eaten in the last week because the lines were long and elbows were being used. Good luck getting to the waffle station! The busyness of the buffet made for very slow elevators as everyone was trying to get to and from the food.

Oh.....on one other note if MANAGEMENT reads this....your room attendants should NEVER be allowed to cram themselves onto a packed elevator that is already at Max capacity.

I'll definitely return :)

Room Tip: If you can stand a long wait for an elevator, choose a high room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Trudy1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This hotel is located in a quiet neighborhood surrounded by apartment buildings, with lots of stores and restaurants. It's a good but not great location, if you're in Montreal for pleasure: It's a couple miles from downtown, and four miles from Old Montreal. However, the Metro is only two blocks away, and there are at least four bike-share racks within two blocks of the hotel. The rooms seem to be recently re-done, and they are very comfortable and well-appointed. We loved the full kitchen stocked with pots, pans, plates, silverware, and glasses. There are several grocery stores within a couple blocks, and the fabulous Atwater Marche is about a mile away, so we put the kitchen to good use. I can't really comment on the breakfast since we were there on a weekend they were sold out, and there were so many people that we couldn't get near the buffet. We just made breakfast in the room each day. What was really disappointing were the super-slow elevators. There were only two elevators for 20 floors (plus two garage levels), and with a sold-out hotel, we ended up spending 5-10 minutes waiting for an elevator. The elevator is necessary given 20 floors, and even if you're on a floor low enough to use the stairs to enter/exit the hotel, if you want to use the pool or fitness room, those are located on the top floor. All in all, a good experience in a comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank CherFas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Residence Inn by Marriott Montreal Downtown
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - Montreal Centre-ville Ouest
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#22 of 165 in Montreal
2,746 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Comfort Suites Downtown
Comfort Suites Downtown
#71 of 165 in Montreal
696 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Montreal Westmount? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Montreal Westmount

Address: 2170 Lincoln Avenue, Montreal, Quebec H3H 2N5, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range: £94 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Montreal Westmount 3*
Number of rooms: 219
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Montreal Westmount reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Montreal Westmount Hotel Montreal
Montreal Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing