We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Hotel, Hospitable, Good price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Montreal Westmount
Ranked #74 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Reviewed 19 April 2005

The four of us (two adults, two young children) stayed here for two nights in April 2005. In whole, it was an enjoyable experience. The hotel is very well located (right near the old Montreal forum and the Atwater metro, although about two Metro stops away from the major business and shopping attractions downtown) and we were able to find parking on the residential street where the hotel was situated. Be warned, however, that if you have an SUV or minivan and cannot find parking on the street, the hotel will direct you to a public parking lot about a block away as the hotel garage cannot accommodate any vehicle taller than 5 feet 6 inches.

The lobby and breakfast area were trendier and more European by far than the Marriott Residences that we have stayed in the U.S. The breakfast was very good, with many healthy choices (and unhealthy ones too).

The Penthouse pool was a little small, and the gym consisted of a number of treadmills and a few free weights. There is an excellent view from the penthouse floor where the gym and pool are located.

The staff was very friendly and very hospitable. The price for the hotel was about $130.00 (Canadian) per night before tax, which included one master bedroom, a living room with a pull out couch, and full kitchen applicances. The hotel provided a nice crib for our under two year old with clean sheets, all put together for us, at no cost.

The down side to this hotel is that the interior of the rooms seemed a little dingy, as do the floors where hotel rooms are located. The carpets look like they can use an upgrade and/or a good cleaning. However, the rooms themselves are kept clean, as are the sheets, towels, kitchen etc.

I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel, however, to those looking for a romantic weekend away or for a sophisticated hotel experience, this is not the hotel you are looking for.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank JJudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (580)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

501 - 507 of 580 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2005

I have stayed here a few times. I was impressed by how fresh and hip the lobby and hallways were when I arrived, only to be somewaht underwhelmed by the rooms, which were previously apartments. The rooms were clean and fresh but were rather old and had undergone a "soft" renovation rather than a "hard" renovation prior to conversion into a hotel.

Parking under the hotel is handy, but limited overhead clearance is tough if you drive anything but a car. And, be sure to unload your bags on the street level, as it's a labyrinth of stairs getting the bags from the garage into the elevator.

The staff was friendly and accommodating and the breakfast above average.

5  Thank PHXroadwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2004

As other reviewers have said, nice but not
spectacular. I spent one night here and it was
not a bad choice. Rooms & kitchens modern &
adequate if a little cramped. The 20th floor fitness
center & pool were crisp ,clean & enjoyable, as
there is a great view from the outside terrase.
The hotel is on a quiet, semi-residential street.
Good access to Concordia, McGill & la salle
UNiversities. Lots of good takeout (or sitdown) restaruants. Plenty of small grocers ("depanneurs") to fill your refrigerator. Double check if your room will havethe balcony promised. Staff is pretty friendly &helpfull. Pretty good choice if you are
staying more than a few days & are willing to
walk a few blocks.

3  Thank phil195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2004

Stayed here for 4 nights (Aug 04) and it is a solid suite based hotel. Upsides were 1) walkable to center of Montreal 2) balcony 3) friendly staff 4) breakfast was included 5) clean and presentable Downsides 1) no character whatsoever (realise it doesnt claim to have any) 2) no washer in room (was one in basement) and dated white goods 3) lift was incredibly slow and small (got the stairs more often that not) 3) breakfast was over subscribed as the opening times were too short 4) were next to the lift which while slow could be heard. Wouldnt stay here again, not because there is anything wrong with the hotel just because there is no reason to and Im sure your money could be better spent elsewhere.

4  Thank JBASM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
16114
Reviewed 11 May 2004

I stayed at the Residence in early May. It is a great hotel. The lobby, and public areas are very clean and appealing. The rooms are excellent, as well as the bathrooms. Even a kitchenette, if one desires to cook up something. An excellent buffet breakfast is included. The staff very nice and helpful. A huge shopping mall two blocks away, as well as a 22 screen movie complex, and a Metro stop. Could not have been a better place to stay for the price as far as I am concerned. Highly recommended. You won't be disappointed.

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
London, UK
13
Reviewed 30 March 2004

I just returned from a long stay in Montreal at Residence Inn Westmount. I did love the free grocery service provided with efficiency by the Front desk. I wish I could have the same at home. Room nicely decorated and comfortable. Not to mention the Lobby, very european.
Breakfast is big and delicious. I do commend it.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2004

I spent three nights at the Residence Inn Marriott Mont Westmount (Jan 1-3). The hotel is situated on a nice quiet street (Lincoln) just below Sherbrooke. The room was okay but like many Montreal hotels is in need of renovations. I normally stay in the Latin Quartier or around Crescent St so being all the way down in the Atwater area was a bit inconvenient. The pluses are the AMC Forum is nearby so you can see great movies in a colossal theater and the Atwater Metro is right across from the Forum. The room had a great kitchen but the sleeping area needed sprucing up as did the bathroom but it was all clean. Also each room has a balcony. But the best part is the breakfast which is served daily and is included with your room rate. There were waffles, eggs, fruit, muffins, and numerous other items. Very economical. This hotel also charges a dollar for each outgoing call even local so that was a bit disconcerting but since I had made quite a few to friends, etc. Please note that all rooms that end in 6 or 7 are located right next to the elevator shaft so the constant droning can make you nuts. I was lucky that they had another room available on a lower floor which was much quieter. All in all not a bad place with a great staff and adequate rooms.

8  Thank hobojon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Residence Inn by Marriott Montreal Downtown
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - Montreal Centre-ville Ouest
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#21 of 165 in Montreal
2,749 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Comfort Suites Downtown
Comfort Suites Downtown
#71 of 165 in Montreal
698 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Montreal Westmount? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Montreal Westmount

Address: 2170 Lincoln Avenue, Montreal, Quebec H3H 2N5, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range: £94 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Montreal Westmount 3*
Number of rooms: 219
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Residence Inn Montreal Westmount reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Montreal Westmount Hotel Montreal
Montreal Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing