We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoy the stay with bed bugs!”

Auberge Louisbourg Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Auberge Louisbourg Hotel
Ranked #107 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Earth, Texas
1 review
“Enjoy the stay with bed bugs!”
Reviewed 26 August 2012

I picked this hotel only because of the walking distance to McGill University, but regreded when I found myself suffering from 24 bug bites in the mid of night! This is the worst hotel experience ever in my life! I believe there are plenty good hotels in Montreal.

Room Tip: Check out the bed bugs before stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peace082412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    2
    2
    0
    7
See reviews for
2
1
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 September 2011

YULY was our service attendant at the hotel. She was great. Helped with questions and was good at advising what to do in the city while there. The hotel was kept very decent and the location is accessible to parking lots, rent a bikes, hot spots and etc. Check it out!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jay p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banff, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

I stayed at this fleabag hotel (no room service) recently. I checked in in the evening and it was the only room left in the hotel. A lot of the hotels in town were already booked or overpriced. They gave me a room for $65 in the building 2 doors away. The old building smelled of urine and rotting wood but the lady at the desk assured me that the room was clean. Anyway, it was fairly clean though it smelled a bit and the room was on a slant facing downwards. The room was a cubbyhole and so small that u could not open the door all the way because the bed was in the way. There was no coffeemaker or faceclothes. There was a teenyweeny hair dryer mounted on the wall and an air conditioner and tv, which was kind of hard to watch because it was on a bureau that was on a downwards slant. Just like the hotel itself-going downhill all the way. In the morning, ta da!! Breakfast was served in the cramped dining area and it consisted of horrible bitter coffee( I wonder if they wrung the coffee out of an old dirty towel) , orange juice, milk, and a cold croissant with a packet of strawberry jam( no other flavor was offered). I decided to give them a second chance and stayed a second night hoping to get a better room and was given a much larger room on the main floor for $65. The room has a carpet that was a bit worn and again, no coffeemaker and only one facecloth for a double room. There was the TV and airconditioner and a bistro table with 2 badly stained chairs. The bedspread stunk of bad body odor and I changed it around to the other side and it smelled better from that end. The bedspread also had some cigarette holes in it. I awoke the next morning to itchy red blotches on my skin and they looked like bed bug or mite bites. They went away in a few days. The same lousy breakfast was served in the morning and they seriously consider giving their coffeemaker a good cleaning as well as the hotel itself. This place is no gem. I would not stay there again if it was for free! I am sure the cockroaches would feel at home here.

Room Tip: shop around!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sugarpie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Montreal hotels

Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

I didn't stay in this hotel for longer than 10 minutes. I went to my room, pulled back the sheets to inspect for bed bugs, and saw a few critters scurry away from the light. I picked up my luggage, ran downstairs, and told the concierge that I'd found bugs and I didn't want to stay anymore. He didn't believe me at first - he insisted that a mother and daughter had stayed the night before, and asked that we head upstairs to check the bed. I found additional dead bugs under the mattress. He finally decided to refund my money, and I stayed elsewhere that weekend.

The bathroom had hair all over the floor and sink, and the carpet was also dirty. Stay away from this disgusting hotel, and always check your sheets and mattress for bed bugs while staying in Montréal.

Room Tip: Check your mattress and sheets for bed bugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marieantoinette_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Very near from the main bus station, price really good compared with other prices in Montreal and in Canada in general, room OK, you have a little breakfast in the morning included in the price. The best thing is the girl who works at the reception, Giully, always trying to make your stay more confortable and ready to help you in case of any problem, she is speedy and very nice person

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megustaviajar03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2011

The rooms are cute, nice and comfy.
The only complaint I have is with the houskeeping cause honestly.. the maid didn't change the sheets one time!! And only bothered to clean at all when she wasn't so tired or hadn't had many rooms to do before yours came up.
The recepcionist Giulliana was always very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlejandraTMtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

The hotel has a good location near Sainte-Caterine street, shop arteria of the city. The Village, gay community quarter, is just 5 minutes away. Half-an-hour walk from the centre of downtown. The breakfast continental includes just croissant, juice and coffee. I would recommend the hotel to backpackers and tourists.

The staff is friendly, they helped us with a cork screw (there is not any in the hotel and they asked for us in the nearest hotels), they always warned us about parking rules and provided us with useful information about the city.

The drawbacks: no elevator, the upstairs seem to be unsafe, the hotel is a little bit filthy. The charge is on check-in for all the nights (which contradicts booking.com reservation policy for this hotel). There is no free parking, so you should find a free place in the street in accordance with city policy and re-park your car almost every day, which is ammoying. The nearest parking is 12 CAD per day.

Room Tip: ask the lowest floor possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marisha_n1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Elegant
Hotel Elegant
#115 of 164 in Montreal
175 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Bon Accueil
Hotel Bon Accueil
#105 of 164 in Montreal
69 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
#52 of 164 in Montreal
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Visitel
Hotel Visitel
#91 of 164 in Montreal
145 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Le Saint Andre
Hotel Le Saint Andre
#100 of 164 in Montreal
305 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Auberge Le Pomerol
Auberge Le Pomerol
#39 of 164 in Montreal
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Louisbourg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Louisbourg Hotel

Property: Auberge Louisbourg Hotel
Address: 1649 Saint-Hubert, Montreal, Quebec H2L 3Z1, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > The Village (Gay Village) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Auberge Louisbourg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing