We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget Stay”
Review of Auberge Le Pomerol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Auberge Le Pomerol
Ranked #52 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 28 January 2014

The Auberge Le Pomerol is a good option if you are on a budget and want to stay in a central location, within walking distance of downtown Montreal as well as the beautiful Old Port. The hotel has a huge parking lot right next to it (they charge an extra $30) The receptionist was extremely friendly and gave us directions to the room and told us a bit about the hotel. The room was alright- nothing fancy- the lay out could surely be better, as well as less full of furniture.. But for the price and the short duration of our stay, it did not perturb us. the bathroom is rather old fashioned too.. creaky and not exactly comfortable. Again the bath tub was too big for the space of the room. The best part about the stay though, was the breakfast basket that was hung on the door knob every morning.. it was a generous quantity and assortment of things.. from muffins to croissants, juice packs and bread butter and fruits.. a great start to a hectic day!

Overall, I would definitely return to this hotel if it were still on a deal!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nehaaurora11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (553)
There are newer reviews for Auberge Le Pomerol
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

190 - 196 of 553 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2014

We spent three nights here in the end of December. The first night we had a very small room which was very clean and had very quaint window seats, but the toilet did not work well. We checked in late, so they attempted to fix it that night. The next morning it broke again, when I went down to reception they were aware of the problem, and immediately informed us they would be changing our room. .When a room was available they offered that we to see it prior to moving us. It was much larger and had a tub and a music system.
Throughout our stay the staff provided recommendations about where to go and were consistently friendly and professional.
The Picnic baskets for breakfast are very sweet.
The location is great if you want to be near the metro and the many restaurants on St. Denis.

Room Tip: The larger rooms are a good value, they have much more amaneites
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gowoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

The Pomerol was great. The staff was friendly, the accommodations were clean and comfortable, and the location was perfect for us. Just one block away from St. Catherine St, there is plenty to see and lots of restaurants to choose from.
The breakfast basket hanging outside the door each morning was a real plus, and one morning we supplemented by eating in the small dining area and taking advantage of the expanded selection of foods available.
One night we at next door, at the attached restaurant, taking advantage of the discount for staying at the Pomerol, and the food was superb!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

I spent a weekend in one of their "Superior" rooms, which is about $40/night more expensive than their "Economy" rooms, but at around $150/night and with 50% off on the second night, I'd say it was worth every penny.

First of all the location of the hotel is nearly perfect. It's just a short walk away from the Metro, within walking distance of a lot of great shops, restaurants, and venues, and right next door to a very nice (albeit small) up-scale restaurant. The parking is convenient and affordable, though it's easy to miss if you don't know where it is.

The room was wonderful. It wasn't ritzy or overly-spacious, but for a romantic getaway and for its price-range, it was perfect. The bathroom was a bit cramped, but the large jacuzzi tub and sink are the main room, so the small bathroom size isn't really a problem for what you need it for. You probably would want more privacy if you intend to share with friends or children, but it's no problem if privacy isn't an issue. The room was well-heated, the bed was incredibly comfortable, the brick walls and overall aesthetic were gorgeous...

As for amenities, the WiFi was easy to connect to and reliable, the previously mentioned jacuzzi tub was spacious and wonderful (and one of the reasons we picked this hotel), and the morning breakfast basket was a lovely and original idea. While the actual food in the basket was fairly ordinary, the concept was great and it turned breakfast into a sort of indoor picnic. Very cute. And if you need something more substantial, they offer other breakfast items downstairs.

The service was also excellent. There was no annoying housekeeper waking us up at 10am, when we did leave in the afternoon, the housekeepers did make time to clean up our room, and both of the concierges were absolutely phenomenal.

I cannot overstate how great both of the concierges were. They were both bilingual, friendly, helpful, and pretty much everything they recommend is worth taking the time to do.

Not all of the rooms are identical, but you can look through their various rooms on their website and if you request a particular room when you book it, they can reserve it. I requested room 205 and that was the room we got.

The hotel is small, but that adds to the charm. It feels more personal, like a bed and breakfast, while still maintaining the standards and professionalism of a hotel.

We had a wonderful, romantic vacation in Montreal, and the Pomerol was a central part of that experience. If we return, we will no doubt come back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are designed differently. Look through the pictures on the website to pick the one...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

The pros were many; the negatives weren't that significant but should be noted.

Pros: Staff was helpful and friendly. My room was quiet and felt private. The heat was very nice - adjustable and radiant, so no noise when a fan was blowing. The location of a hotel close the Metro is never bad, and this location had a number of restaurants and shopping close by. Could have been closer to the center of things, but an easy Metro ride from anything and a good walk to most points of interest. The WiFi reliable, strong, and free. Large Jacuzzi-style tub. The breakfast was an interesting idea, in the room via a delivered basket. I'd have gotten tired of the same thing for breakfast in the hotel if I had been there longer. The parking is incredibly convenient, right behind the building, and not overpriced ($15 a night). At about $100 a night, this was a huge bargain.

Cons: The room was small, with only about two feet between the foot of the bed and the wall. This was a bargain room, so it wasn't real surprising. Great for one person but for two people more than a couple of nights might have felt claustrophobic. I hate a bathroom light that comes on only with a fan. There were insufficient outlets in the area of the desk and the bed (well, it's such a small room it's the same area.) The areas where it was not like a boutique hotel - the bed was reasonably comfortable but the bedspread was out of an 80s era chain motel. The pillows were from the same motel. The bottom sheet was so narrow that it didn't stay tucked in. The sheets were not crisp and fresh - not dirty, just limp and not inviting. Some towels in the bathroom were thick and fluffy, some were really limp and thin. Changing the bedspread and other bedding would bring this property to a higher level, and then it would be outrageous to be able to book it at $100 a night.

On balance it was well worth the price, but I'd have been happy to pay a bit more to get a real boutique hotel experience.

Room Tip: 206 was an excellent room - very quiet.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VTLongTimeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

this was a cozy hotel conveniently located to the venues we wanted to see along Rue St Denis. staff was friendly and welcoming. although the rooms are on the small size, they're well set up and spotlessly clean. each morning a basket with breakfast was set outside our door, getting us off to a good start. we're excited about staying there again in the future.

Room Tip: some of the larger rooms have a jacuzzi
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Auberge Le Pomerol is a lovely little hotel in Montreal away from the main hustle and bustle but still a close walk to many great restaurants and shops. There is a metro station right across the road from the hotel making it very easy to get just about anywhere you want without needing to drive. This is a hotel that has a wonderful staff that will do whatever they can to answer any questions you have and will assist you anyway that they can. If you are someone who only likes staying in large hotels this is not for you. My husband and I love going to Montreal and had stayed at a couple of the larger hotels but once we happened to find this one we never turned back. They leave a basket outside your door in the morning with a nice continental breakfast so you don't need to rush in the morning. If you are going to Montreal and are the type of traveler that enjoys a more personal stay I would advise you to look at their website where you can look at each room in every level and decide for yourself. The economy and standard rooms are small but as you upgrade they do get larger. Keep in mind there is so much to do in Montreal you will most likely only be in your room for sleeping and rest so the size of the room shouldn"t be too big of an issue

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OntarioTuiGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel St-Denis
Hotel St-Denis
#44 of 165 in Montreal
687 reviews
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
#51 of 165 in Montreal
423 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
#50 of 165 in Montreal
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Le Relais Lyonnais
Le Relais Lyonnais
#40 of 165 in Montreal
394 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
#13 of 165 in Montreal
294 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Quartier des Spectacles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Le Pomerol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Le Pomerol

Address: 819 Blvd de Maisonneuve East, Montreal, Quebec H2L 1Y7, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > The Village (Gay Village) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Montreal
#10 Best Value Hotel in Montreal
#30 Business Hotel in Montreal
#32 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: £83 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge Le Pomerol 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Le Pomerol with its ultra-design décor filled with finesse and warmth is a real jewel of style and elegance. As you will pass our doors, calm and well-being will overtake you. Its 27 spacious rooms offer you the same great comfort with a different refined look in each of them. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Auberge Le Pomerol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Le Pomerol Montreal
Auberge Le Pomerol Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing