We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very enjoyable stay in a great hotel.”
Review of Auberge Le Pomerol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Auberge Le Pomerol
Ranked #58 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 30 November 2009

Ideal location, extremely friendly and helpful staff. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for someplace small and romantic, in a great location, and for a good value.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dc22wh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (570)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

309 - 315 of 570 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2008

I had a difficult time finding a place to stay in Montreal, but I am extremely happy that I ended up at the Auberge le Pomerol. Situated just 2-3 blocks from St-Denis, it's a perfect place to stay if you want to visit some of the many excellent restaurants in the area, many of which are APP (bring your own wine). It's also walking distance to Old Montreal and the Contemporary Art Musuem.

The Auberge itself is very homey while being very eclectic and contemporary. Our room was moderately sized with a large bathroom that included a two-person sized spa tub. Breakfast was included - each morning we received a little case with a croissant, a piece of fruit, an orange juice, a yogurt and a couple of oatmeal cookies. They also serve free snacks in the afternoon - cheese and crackers, cookies and fruit.

The auberge is reasonably priced, but it is not a 'full-service' hotel. There is no room service, no porters, no dining room or bar. However, if you are looking for a great base from which to explore the east side of the city and old Montreal, the Auberge de Pomerol is quite nice.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank keslacye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2008

Stayed for one night at the centrally-located Pomerol. The personnel was nice, the room (the "executive" one) was very comfortable - and yes, the jacuzzi was working fine. There was a flatscreen tv set, a stereo, an alarm clock, everything but the bathrobe. We didn't have a nice view but that was not important. It is close to the bus terminal, the Latin quarter and the Village so there are plenty of great food and entertainment options. Continental breakfast was included (not the best croissants in town, but with jam, cheese, coffee, yougourt, etc.). For 150$ a night, it's a very good deal.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2008

We stayed at the Pomerol for 3 nights last week. The staff were nothing but courteous. Our room (an economy room with 2 twins) was small but designed efficiently. The bathroom was sparkling clean. We liked the idea of our complimentary continental breakfast being delivered to our room each morning. The hotel also offers free snacks in the afternoon, but we were never around to take advantage of this. The only complaint I would have (although it did not really concern us - so it is more like a warning) is that the twin beds are arranged so they are touching and you can't move them apart. This could be awkward if you were sharing with someone you didn't know very well. Other than that, our stay was pretty much perfect. Only 2 blocks from St Denis, very close to Ste Catherine and right across the street from 3 metro lines (Berri UQAM Metro station). Some reviews complained of homeless people - yes, we saw some near the Bus Depot at Berri and Maisoneuve, but it was no worse than any other North American city. We were not approached or hassled once. It's a sad and unfortunate thing, but there are bound to be homeless people in any large city and complaining about them when they do nothing to harm us is nothing but rude. Montreal is a lovely city and next time I visit, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kweenshaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2008

We stayed in the hotel for three nights over the 4th of July weekend.

This hotel offers excellent value. We found the location perfect, within easy walking distance to Old Montreal and other sites.

Our room was small, but impeccably clean.

We will gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucky4547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2008

I have stayed a few times in Montreal and for now the Pomerol is my personal favourite!

The Auberge is well-situated, directly in downtown near the Village, just in front of a major subway station and at 2 minutes walking from the bus station.

The Pomerol is quite small, but the interior is well-designed so it doesn't feel tiny at all, only cozy. We have been welcome with kind, polite and competent staff.

But the greatest surprise was when we opened our bedroom's door; our superior room decoration was just perfect. So far away from a lot of kitsch hotel and inn that I have seen before. Everything is very modern and custom made for the Pomerol. I even threatened the staff that I would have to steal their painting because I wouldn't be able to find it anywhere else!

We went back to the front desk and the receptionist offered me to visit the other rooms, what I did (I work for a kind of travel agency). To be honest, the economic rooms are a bit small but look good anyway. But the regular and superior rooms are worth the 20 or 40 bucks more. And the executive are just mind-blowing. Most of the rooms have a little fridge and plasma television with a DVD player where you can also listen to music.

After a free snack offered by the hotel until late in the evening in the guest kitchen (including cookies, cheese, coffee, tea and other) we went to a comfy night of sleep.

The breakfast in the morning is a little light but good. Muffin, crescent, jam, cheese, coffee, all at your front door when you wake up. So no need to hurry and dress up before you go out to eat! You have the chance to be lazy...

So overall, the Pomerol was responsible for a great romantic get-away in Montreal!

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank aranel379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2008

We stayed at the Pomerol while in Montreal for the Grand Prix. It was one of the few hotels that had rooms left. While it is not in the nicest section of downtown Montreal, the hotel itself is very nice. It is very small, but has charm. They only had the ecomonic rooms left which are very small but clean and decorated nicely. The staff really made the place. The two women who were at the front desk went out of their way to be helpful, even letting us stay beyond our checkout time at no extra charge. They have a small kitchen stocked with cheese, crackers, cookies, coffee etc. from 3:00 p.m. until 11:00 p.m. A very nice touch. The subway is right across the street and the walk to old Montreal takes about 15-20 minutes.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ASLCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel St-Denis
Hotel St-Denis
#44 of 165 in Montreal
698 reviews
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
#57 of 165 in Montreal
438 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
#52 of 165 in Montreal
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Le Relais Lyonnais
Le Relais Lyonnais
#34 of 165 in Montreal
402 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
#13 of 165 in Montreal
318 reviews
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Chateau de l'Argoat
Chateau de l'Argoat
#56 of 165 in Montreal
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Le Pomerol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Le Pomerol

Address: 819 Blvd de Maisonneuve East, Montreal, Quebec H2L 1Y7, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > The Village (Gay Village) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Montreal
#12 Best Value Hotel in Montreal
#30 Business Hotel in Montreal
#32 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: £71 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge Le Pomerol 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Le Pomerol with its ultra-design décor filled with finesse and warmth is a real jewel of style and elegance. As you will pass our doors, calm and well-being will overtake you. Its 27 spacious rooms offer you the same great comfort with a different refined look in each of them. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Auberge Le Pomerol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Le Pomerol Montreal
Auberge Le Pomerol Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing