We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel deserves a two star for service and four stars for price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Auberge Casa de Mateo
Ranked #100 of 144 Montreal B&B and Inns
Schenectady, New York
Level Contributor
183 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“This hotel deserves a two star for service and four stars for price”
Reviewed 21 March 2013

There is absolutely no service to be found here. The first and last time you will be helped is when you check in. They give you extra pillow cases and what ever soap and shampoo you get is it. We stayed three nights and I can assure you there is NO maid service and no clean towels or anything else. No broom to sweep the floor,

Nothing, except a decent small room with a bath inside or across the hall and a dirt cheap price.

Beware of no elevator and the Auberge(hotel) begins on the second floor and walks to the fourth.

If money is your priority, this is a bargain.

Room Tip: Don't choose the fourth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Upperny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    24
    10
    11
    18
See reviews for
10
29
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Goderich, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

I was looking for a Mexican spot that was more of a sit-down meal than a fast food joint, and this did the trick. Its in the old port, which is nice, and there is a nice atmosphere inside. We were there on a cold night, and we did feel a little chilled, but the margaritas and mojitos made us warm and happy. We all (5 of us) thought our meal was good, but we've had better. Lots of people seemed to be ordering the fajitas (we didn't) and they smelled amazing. Maybe something to try next time.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tellulaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 13 December 2012

As a president of Pars Plumbing and on behalf of all my employees and guests, I would like to thank the Casa de Mateo's Management , Chefs, and Staff Which have made an amazing Christmas & New Year Party for us. In last Five years we have been in different restaurants but Casa de Mateo was extra ordinarily good.
Thanks again and wish you all the best.

Pre Pars Plumbing & Heating INC

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seyed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
83 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

The Auberge Casa de Mateo in the Old City of Montreal is in a great location, within a short walk of the Notre Dame Cathedral, Rue St Paul, and is surrounded by many galleries, cafes and restaurants. I arrived by the 747 bus from Pierre Elliott Trudeau International Airport, and it is a 10 minute walk into the hotel from Boulevard René-Lévesque. The hotel is about a two star rating. It is nothing elegant nor charming, but entirely functional. It makes a great base for exploring, rather than a relaxing place to hang out. The room I had was on the 4th floor - very spacious with a table and two chairs, and a mish-mash of many different pieces of furniture that seemed to be collected from a garage sale, or left-over bits from a family home. The ensuite bathroom was spotlessly clean, modern and very nice. Internet was provided free, and quite strong in signal. Breakfast was provided in the Mexican Restaurant that is part of the hotel. Muffins, croissants, toast and jams were provided, along with coffee, and orange and apple juices. The bed was quite hard. Overall, it was like staying in the spare room of the family home.

Room Tip: Check the room first to see if is your measure of value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTraveller08901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casademateo, General Manager at Auberge Casa de Mateo, responded to this review, 19 October 2012
Thank you, we appreciate your stay at Casa de Mateo.
We will be very happy to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

This hotel has two good things going for it: it's superb location in Old Montreal and the welcoming, service-oriented attitude of the staff. The rooms have most of the basics covered: queen bed, lots of hot water in shower, air conditioner, individual heating, cleanliness, television, nice finishing touches in the room such as free standing full length mirror and kettle. The hotel has an inviting Mexican Restaurant at street level which I very much wanted to try but didn't have a chance.

For many, the lack of an elevator wouldn't be a problem but I found it quite difficult to go up and down the stairs to the third floor where I was lucky enough to get a room when I realized my reservation had put me on the top floor! There was no remote control in my room and was just told with a shrug that someone had stolen it. I guess they haven't heard of universal remotes. The complementary breakfast consisted of bananas, oranges, croissants, chocolate muffins and cheerios. The coffee was good. There was no phone in my room.

I happened to stay over a weekend when the clubs and restaurants were open in the area. My room overlooked the street and was pretty noisy as the partygoers outside frolicked in the night. It didn't really bother me but if someone was sensitive to noise, it could be an issue.

All in all, I think the hotel is a safe and comfortable place to land.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Palmetta1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casademateo, General Manager at Auberge Casa de Mateo, responded to this review, 19 October 2012
We thanking you for your stay, and we are working to satisfy all our customers,
we appreciate all of your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Noida, India
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

We stayed for 2 nights and were welcomed by 'Arrie' who was very helpful. The things that were not so delightful were a broken toilet tank seat, non working phone in the room and the washroom door which got locked (!! somehow) and had to be broken to get in! The continental breakfast had only 1 piece of bread (with butter and jam), a choice of juice, tea/coffee and fruits. For a continental we were really expecting atleast muffins and eggs. It's a good place if you are staying overnight and only going to park your luggage and sleep. But not so good if you wish to spend a week or more in Montreal.

Room Tip: There's nothing like a 'good view' as it opens into the St Francais Xavier street which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anupamgupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casademateo, General Manager at Auberge Casa de Mateo, responded to this review, 19 October 2012
Hi,

Sorry for the inconvenience, we are working on it, and we apologize.
We love to work hard to keep our customers happy at Casa de Mateo.

Thank you so much for your time, nice to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stayed at Casa de Mateo in June 2012 for a family party. Myself, two siblings, and our families made our booking together - two rooms for seven nights, and one room for five nights. My sister even phoned later to confirm the reservation. However, when we arrived, all except for three of these nights had been overwritten in their Excel spreadsheet, and they couldn't accomodate us.

Perhaps the most frustrating part of all was the fact that they were unable to explain what the problem was in the interest of trying to fix it themselves. We had no idea whether to look for other accomodations or what. I felt this may have been partially a language barrier as well.

In the end, only two of us actually had to stay somewhere else for a few nights until more rooms came available, but families were separated, people who were supposed to have beds had to sleep on cots, etc. For those of us who had to stay elsewhere, they did find another hotel that was quite a ways away, and they offered to cover the difference in price. However, we didn't have vehicles and didn't want to separate the family, so we ended up finding our own hotel and paying more than three times the rate just to get something else near the rest of the family.

As for the accomodations themselves, the rooms were adequate. Some were nicer than others, but none were fancy. There were taps that didn't work, water leaks, etc. However, we travel a lot and have stayed in much worse! Note that this is a budget hotel. It doesn't have things like blow driers, and the one or two irons/ironing boards that they have are shared throughout the whole hotel.

Be very clear what bedding configuration you are getting. If they tell you a room will sleep three people, they are probably giving you a cot. All of the kids were begging us to move hotels because most got relegated to cots. Apparently some of the cots were comfortable, and others were so bad that people moved to the floor during the night.

This is a fantastic, but very noisy location. However, this is just part of being in downtown Montreal. Even the hotel that cost three times as much was at least as noisy - if not noisier! If you do have the option, try for the rooms that aren't facing the street.

Because the family who owns the place also runs the restaurant downstairs, there is not always someone at the desk. It's a good idea to coordinate the exact time of your check-in and check-out in advance so someone is there to meet you or alternative arrangements can be made. If you need someone but cannot find them, you may need to check in the restaurant for someone to help you.

Our situation was clearly something that this poor family was not equipped to handle, but in general they were friendly, and they tried very hard to be accomodating.

I would never stay here again, but that's only because of the family stress that it caused for us, and the hours of our vacation that we spent sorting out accomodations. Surely if you know what to expect, check and double-check, you should be okay!

Room Tip: Non-street side rooms are quieter. Rooms directly above the restaurant smell like food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kstevens13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casademateo, General Manager at Auberge Casa de Mateo, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
We apologize again for the mistake that was made through our system. But as you said this auberge is located in a very good location in Old Montreal, and because of the mistake that happened in the system, we offered you the best price that we could, quiet lower than our original price. We tried our best to make your family happy by giving you discounts in our auberge&restaurant. And as I remember this mistake was not made only from us, but from the person who reserved the rooms, because we did have 4 rooms reserved, and 3 was not told to us, however we still gave you the 7 rooms, but unfortunatly one of the rooms, they preferred to stay in another hotel for 2 days. All our staffs tried their best to give you the best service and we apologize if this mistake was made only from us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Montreal hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Bonaparte
Hotel Bonaparte
#4 of 164 in Montreal
982 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
LHotel
LHotel
#20 of 164 in Montreal
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge de la Place Royale
Auberge de la Place Royale
#5 of 144 in Montreal
336 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Habitation du Vieux Montreal
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Epik Hotel Montreal
Epik Hotel Montreal
#3 of 144 in Montreal
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Casa de Mateo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Casa de Mateo

Property: Auberge Casa de Mateo
Address: 438 St Francois Xavier, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2T3, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in picturesque Old Montreal, Auberge and Restaurant Casa de Mateo are in the heart of all the attractions of the Old Port. The 22 rooms in the auberge are exceptionally cozy and equipped with a small kitchenette, air conditioning and cable TV. Our Luxury Suite offers all the convenience of an apartment, with full kitchen and bath as well as a living room and separate bedroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Auberge Casa de Mateo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Casa De Mateo Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing