We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Greatest Cheap Hotel in the Old Port Montreal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Auberge Casa de Mateo
Ranked #99 of 144 Montreal B&B and Inns
1 review
“Greatest Cheap Hotel in the Old Port Montreal”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

For the price and location, i would recommend this place to anyone visiting Montreal to spend less on hotel spots and more on the cities' great activities.

The receptionist was very polite and responded to all of my needs. The restaurant downstairs really accommodates the hotel's overall relaxing ambiance with it's Mexican theme.

I would go stay here again in heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlo Ronald P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    24
    10
    11
    18
See reviews for
10
29
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

So I went with my boyfriend for a nice romantic getaway in Montreal for 4 days, and we chose Casa de Mateo for the location and the nice comments on the mexican romantic feeling.
The location was excellent indeed, and the room size was ok, however the mattress was very hard, there was no room service at all (we stayed 4 nights and we never had our bed done) and there was no-one at reception ever. When we first arrived we had to go to the mexican restaurant (to the kitchen) to find someone to check us in.
The breakfast was a cup of coffee or tea, a croissant with jam, an orange and a yoghurt, but it was free so no complaints.
Finally, our room was at the 4th floor and it was a though walk up (no elevators), so I would not recommend it to older people.
Overall, I would only come back if I had a very tight budget... if you have a little extra cash, go to another of the romantic auberges available at the old port.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the second floor, the stairs are very steep and there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carla R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Montreal hotels

Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We enjoyed our week long stay and the hospitality offered at the Casa de Mateo. The breakfast has the added ambiance of Old Montreal; and at dinner one evening we were impressed with the roving musicians. We would return again.

Paul Shew

Room Tip: Not fancy, but a great value and very nice people
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Pros: Great location. Decent room size. Nice bathroom. Breakfast was included from the restaurant downstairs. Breakfast was delicious. Sometimes hung out there at night for a drink before bed.

Cons: Rooms could be upgraded or re decorated to look more modern. Bed was a bit firm.

Overall, would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Today I leave the Casa de Mateo with a smile on my face. I have been sightseeing around North America on my own for quite some time now, and I need a break from hostels sometimes. Budget hotels are usually horrible. Casa de Mateo is the perfect balance between hostel and hotel, with great service and value for money. I highly recommend it to anyone who wants to see Montreal on a budget. It is in the best location, and breakfast is included. What more could you want.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We stayed at Casa De Mateo for 3 nights for the fireworks in Montreal. We called ahead to ask if our 4 month old mini poodle was allowed. They said they accept small dogs. The floor in the room clearly was not cleaned before our arrival, and to make things worse, there were toenails on the bay window seating area. I requested that this be cleaned 3 times, and the woman who owns the building refused to clean the room. She was rude and even went as far as suggesting that the nails were my dogs'. I would not recommend this place to anyone. The stress and frustration I endured trying to get my room cleaned (without success) was not worth it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casademateo, Manager at Auberge Casa de Mateo, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
As we all rememeber your presence at the Auberge because the hotel is a no pet allowed and we kindly accepted that you bring your little dog in the room as you said there will be no noise and dirtiness. We had busy weekend and we got overloaded complain from other guests from the Auberge from your dog. Your dog has urinated in all the floor and we, as managers cleaned up the stairs and the floor everytime your dog entered or exited from the auberge. Housekeeper cleaned your room at least one or two times a day. And finally the day you wanted to check out, with all the disrespect that you and your partner have made to everyone and also the untruthful review, we always try to serve our guests as best as we can with respect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacific Grove, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

This is a fantastic deal if you don't care about your hotel and just want to see the sights. Please don't mistake this place for a romantic getaway. At forty dollars a night in the Old Montreal section it's a steal. It's clean, spare and functional and the gentleman who met me at the door couldn't have been nicer. The deal about this place is the location. Right in the heart of Old Montreal. I had a single with shared bath and on fourth of July weekend it seemed like I was the only one there. If you want romantic go across the street for $189.00 to Auberge Bonaparte if you want cheap and clean come here. I reserved on the internet and paid $50!! So reserve directly to the hotel.

Room Tip: The professional photos are a little over romanticized. Think YMCA penzion
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank artnants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Bonaparte
Hotel Bonaparte
#4 of 163 in Montreal
962 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
LHotel
LHotel
#19 of 163 in Montreal
1,178 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#9 of 163 in Montreal
2,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
No photo provided
StFX Appart'hotel
#55 of 94 in Montreal
1 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Epik Hotel Montreal
Epik Hotel Montreal
#3 of 144 in Montreal
366 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge de la Place Royale
Auberge de la Place Royale
#5 of 144 in Montreal
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Casa de Mateo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Casa de Mateo

Property: Auberge Casa de Mateo
Address: 438 St Francois Xavier, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2T3, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Auberge Casa de Mateo 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in picturesque Old Montreal, Auberge and Restaurant Casa de Mateo are in the heart of all the attractions of the Old Port. The 22 rooms in the auberge are exceptionally cozy and equipped with a small kitchenette, air conditioning and cable TV. Our Luxury Suite offers all the convenience of an apartment, with full kitchen and bath as well as a living room and separate bedroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Auberge Casa de Mateo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Casa De Mateo Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing