We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We will stay here again and highly recommend it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Habitation du Vieux Montreal
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“We will stay here again and highly recommend it!”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We stayed in room 501, the Caribbean room. It was perfect for a family of 4. We were two adults and a teen. There is enough room that we hosted friends up for tea. Great location in the heart of Old Montreal. We walked through Chinatown to St Catherine St - no problem t all! The place was perfectly clean - with beautiful hardwood floors. Our bedroom and full bath was upstairs while the living room (with leather futon), kitchen and dining area were downstairs. The washer and dryer are in a closet in the hall but this room is the only one using the hall. The only reason for not giving 5 stars was the air conditioner/fan was a bit noisy for sleeping and there was a slight odour entering the building (ultra sensitive nose). The place was extremely clean so it would not stop me from rebooking! We will travel to Montreal more often now that we have found this little gem!! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familyuvfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    28
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
25
26
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
orchard park, ny
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We stay here over Memorial Day weekend and had a nice time. The weather was terrible....it rained the entire time we were there and it was cold but that is not the hotels fault! We booked at the last minute and got the smaller room...#302 but when we got there we were upgraded to #301 because of a cancellation. That was a nice surprise! We are a family of four so the bigger room is a bonus. The room/apt. was very nice...it was certainly big enough for all of us. I really like having a full kitchen for the morning. We had breakfast here everyday and it was nice to have snacks etc. for the kids. My kids are ages 9 and 14.
We had a corner room that looked over the main road....that was nice! The only problem is the noise! Believe what others have said....the noise at night is terrible! We hardly slept at all! I felt like I was sleeping in the street. The third night we were there we had neighbors in the next room. The walls are so thin I could here a man snoring and there was a baby crying a lot during the night. That is one reason I gave this a 4 star rating.
The other negative was the bathroom could use some updating/cleaning. The shower had some mold and could use new caulking.
One other thing to keep in mind is this is an apartment rental so there is NO maid service. There is a washer/dryer so you can wash the towels. We called because we were not sure of the level of service and they did bring more towels but told us to wash them if we wanted to reuse them. Of course for the price we paid I'm not complaining.
The location is perfect....right in the heart of Old Montreal. You can walk anywhere from here. We felt like we lived there instead of just visiting....my kids liked that part! My 14 year old is studying French in school and was thrilled that she could read and understand the language. Mostly everyone speaks English so there wasn't a language problem.
Even though we never met Kolkila, she was very accommodating every time we called her. She really wanted us to have a nice stay.
We had a good time and would definitely stay here again if we go back. If you want to experience the city like a local this is the place to stay. It is very nice, in a great location for an affordable price! I definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lskwara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

I totally agree with all the other reviewers. This hotel is small (just 5 rooms available) but it makes you feel you are home. The Old Port is a couple of blocks away; you can walk to the Old Port at night to enjoy the view. rue St Paul is just next street and China Town is a comfortable walk from this hotel. BTW, Notre Dame Basilica is less than 10 minutes leisurely walk. This is the perfect location! There is no hotel parking (actually, there is only one spot on the street right in front of the boutique to the left of the hotel, only allowed to unload or load your things). I parked my car overnight in the Marriott Hotel garage parking a few steps from the hotel, overnight is $20 (cheaper than other places). There is also open parking in front of the hotel but I prefer the Marriott garage parking, safer that way. Our room is the Canadien type, with kitchen (microwave, stove, refrig) living room, and washer/dryer (no coins needed! Just put in your clothes and hit Start and ready to go - bring your own laundry soap). Room is in excellent shape, exceptionally clean. The hotel owns a souvenir shop as well, along rue St Paul, so I suggest that you buy your souvenirs from their store and get a discount, which I did - am happy!. Equally important, the manager is so friendly and always makes sure you are happy with yiour stay. Since she also works at the souvenir store, you need to call the hotel phone number when you get to the hotel (again, park your car in front of the boutique while waiting for her!) and she will run to open the door and give you the door keys. I'm trying to think of something negative about this hotel but everything is really excellent! If I have the chance to visit Old Montreal again, I'll definitely book this hotel months in advance. You will not regret it!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ValueSaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

The quality of this accommodation at this pricepoint would be hard to beat in downtown Montreal. It gets my A+ for everything except the street noise from below. But I guess that's to be expected with antique French windows. Maybe ask Kokila which of the suites is the quietest. Kokila is the owner/manager and does her job extremely well. I had a late evening flight when I was leaving and left my suitcase in her office until late afternoon. It was a hot summer day and when I returned to pick up the luggage I must have been a little bit sweaty and dissheveled. Kokila noticed and asked if I'd like to have a shower before I started my journey home. She said that one of the suites was vacant, handed me the keys and I had the luxury of a shower before getting on the plane. You'll never get treatment like that even at a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gLoBe-HoPpErMaN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markham
Level Contributor
121 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Right at the center of old Montreal we stayed in a three bedroom suite. Spread over 3 floors it was exactly what we were looking for. They do need to spruce things up a bit with some missing paint, dust in the bathroom vent and the screens repaired.

The residence manager was very attentive and positive and accommodated all our requests.

Steps to old Montreal it is a great location. We did heed the other reviews to bring ear plugs that were needed as the suite we had overlooked the piano bar.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelcritic-ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longwood, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Habitation du Vieux in September for four nights. We had booked one of the smallest units because we knew we would be out exploring the city most of the time. Upon arrival, we were shown the small unit and another apartment that was available (I had actually considered this one.) The upgrade was too good of a deal to pass up. The apartment manager was very helpful. The unit we selected was a one bedroom apartment with a full kitchen. The apartment was very clean and comfortable. The hotel was very secure. The location was perfect for our daily adventures. We would certainly consider staying here again. (Although I am listing this trip under couples, it would be a great place for a family as well.)

Room Tip: Each room is fully detailed on the hotel website. Even though the smallest unit is in the "bas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunsetovergulf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

I was unbelievably impressed by the service, the cleanliness, and the over all experience. Kokila was incredibly accommodating and was nothing but positive. We needed an extra late checkout when we left and she completely understood and gladly accommodated out needs. The apartment was flawlessly clean when we arrived and is equipped with a washer/dryer, full kichen w/ dishwasher and the most beautiful views of Old Montreal. I know you wouldn't want to just spend time in the hotel when you're on vacation, but this place is so much more worth your money and it's literally steps to China Town, Notre Dame, Garde Manger and a ton of museums and the science center! You gotta stay here, it's just amazing. Most amazing hotel experience yet, along with all the magical experiences Montreal gave me that weekend!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NalCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#8 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#9 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,066 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Bonaparte
Hotel Bonaparte
#5 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#4 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,906 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Habitation du Vieux Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Habitation du Vieux Montreal

Property: Habitation du Vieux Montreal
Address: 401 Saint Laurent, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 3Z9, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 94 Speciality Lodging in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Habitation du Vieux Montreal 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Habitation du Vieux Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing