We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissatisfaction with bed at Hotel Le Saint Andre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Le Saint Andre
Ranked #110 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Reviewed 23 August 2013

I am writing this review as a courtesy for those who don't want to be bitten by bedbugs. After spending my first nite at this hotel, I started itching all over my body and thought it was food allergy as a result of eating cuttlefish. Then I felt 3 lumps on the back of my head getting itchy a to as well as the rest of my left arm and right foot. Then when I went back to my room to check on any bedbugs, I couldn't believe my eyes when I saw bedbugs on my bed. My friend also found some on the other bed he sleeps in. He picked up a bigger bedbug with a tissue and presented it to duty manager. He advised me that someone also reported bedbugs last year but the customer did not get bitten as bad as I did.

I had submitted this review and attached pics of my bedbug bite marks before but was not detailed enough and so it did NOT get published. I will defer to TripAdvisor as to whether they want to publish this review since this is my second submission. I hope what I had experienced at this hotel won't happen to other people.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank gggg7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

108 - 114 of 319 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2013

I would love to give this hotel more points, but overall am unable to do so.
It is in a great location (convenient for bars, clubs, transport, tourism, old city) and the staff are fantastic.
However, the walls are very thin so you hear people who can't sleep, people getting back late, water running through pipes, showers running, etc.Oh yes, and the beds are comfortable, but creak and make noise with each more of yours.
Good option if you want a good value hotel in the centre of things though.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Captain_Condor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

The location is exceptional. It is steps from St. Catherine's which means shops, clubs, restaurants and a lovely street to stroll on. The street is pedestrian only in the summer. It is in between two metro stations, one of which (Berri-UQAM) is the big station where you can switch metro lines.

The room is quite small and the bed leaves some thing to be desired in the comfort department. The air conditioning works well but is a little loud to leave on at night. The bathroom has everything that you need even if the faucets could use some updating and the grout a good cleaning.

There is no elevator so be prepared to hoof it up the stairs if your room isn't on the main.

Daily breakfast delivery is a nice touch and the staff was very friendly and always helpful.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canadian_Cait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

This is a clean, affordable two star in a location convenient to the Village. On top of that, it's a proper, well-managed hotel (i.e. not a dive) that serves a breakfast to your room each morning. The staff are superb.

The downside is that it is a two star in need of renovation.

The rooms I saw were small (i.e. around 20 square metres). It would have been a tight fit with two people.

I was there during a heat wave. The air conditioners are old and useless, so the temperature in the room was rather unpleasant during the heat wave. However, heat waves do not hit Montreal that often.

It is located about halfway between Berry-UQAM and Beaudry metro stations.

The suggested safe parking at the library was a pain, and cost about C$10 a night.

The main street near the hotel is seedy, as is the entire Village actually. Really seedy. At times the street comes alive with al fresco diners and strollers. However, there are lots of street people.

Nearby there were many restaurants, an outstanding gym, a drug store and an upscale supermarket.

As a two star, it should get two out of five. Location and price would perhaps bump it up to three, but I feel the heat wave made the rooms too uncomfortable. So I'm going to give it two. However, in giving this score, I'm not saying it is a poor hotel. It is a nice hotel with a few issues. If you find the price irresistible, I wouldn't stay longer than a day or two.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zwerf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

Stay at the Hotel Le Saint-Andre for 4 days with friends. The great thing about this hotel is the great location in Le Village (gay area). But it ends there. The hotel is old. The rooms are something to be desire. The staff does the best they can do and I commend them. The rooms have no iron or microwave. This is not the place I will stay again. Only because its a very busy weekend and everything was sold out. The lobby is ok and a/c is ok. If the hotel was to do a complete renovation. It will be the perfect spot.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prairways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Hotel Le Saint Andre is a delightful small hotel with a convenient location, well-kept facility and cordial staff. The continental breakfast was served in the room (on your schedule -- and it was right on time)and was more ample than expected. They have a SMALL parking lot that's free, but you'll need to be an early arrival. A great value.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J K B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

As everyone says, the location is fantastic. It is in The Gay Village, which is fun whether you're gay or not. Tons of activity, great restaurants, pedestrian area. Two blocks from UQAM and the metro. The hotel is very basic, but it is clean, quiet, and pleasant. The room was small, but we had two double beds and they fit. I would stay there again, especially for such a decent price. The hotel smells a bit like smoke, but it is Montreal. Breakfast is wonderful (warm croissants and coffee/tea/juice brought to your room). The only problem is parking. There is no free parking. They have 6-8 spots for the whole hotel. But nearby, indoor, monitored parking is only $9/night, which is far better than most cities.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
Thank JFoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Bon Accueil
Hotel Bon Accueil
#109 of 165 in Montreal
70 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Elegant
Hotel Elegant
#123 of 165 in Montreal
192 reviews
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Hotel Viger
Hotel Viger
#114 of 165 in Montreal
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Roberval
Le Roberval
#81 of 165 in Montreal
547 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Visitel
Hotel Visitel
#102 of 165 in Montreal
158 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
#86 of 165 in Montreal
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Saint Andre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Saint Andre

Address: 1285 rue St-Andre, Montreal, Quebec H2L 3T1, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > The Village (Gay Village)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range: £33 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Le Saint Andre 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Le Saint Andre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Saint Andre Montreal
Le Saint Andre Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing