We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for a short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Le Saint Andre
Ranked #103 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
New Brunswick, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“OK for a short stay”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

A quirky little hotel, quite good value, with breakfast served to your door! It's located very conveniently for Rue St. Denis, and is only a few minutes from Berri-UQAM metro station. If you like walking, it's only about 20 minutes to downtown from there, and about the same to the old city. On the downside, though, it's very noisy, both inside the hotel (guests shouting and walking heavily along the corridor) and the street outside is noisy at the weekend.

The hotel, unfortunately, is very run down. The carpets on the corridor need replacing, the paint on the walls is peeling, and the shower (at least in my room) could do with a good cleaning. On the plus side, the receptionstaff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAROL B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    100
    84
    38
    41
See reviews for
48
120
47
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Le St. Andre always acommodates a quick and clean get away w'end with a great location just off St. Catherine Est. with Metro steps away and the Village at your doorstep. Room rates are just right for a couple of nights stay. Once can always splurge at myriad hotels in DT Montreal - but when you're wanting a more modest trip - Le St. Andre fits the bill. Will happily continue to stay when the need arises.

Room Tip: You may want a couple more pillows as the current ones are small and thin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I've stayed here 4-5 times over the past 3 years and have watched this place deteriorate. First they made the breakfast even more basic then they did away with free parking. This time, we got a room where the shower flooded the bathroom and the TV (a tiny square thing from the early 90s) didn't work. Not only did it not turn on with the remote but it didn't manually either. In fact, the power button was missing altogether. We alerted the staff to this on Day 1/3 and at checkout...they offered no compensation and didn't even offer the charade of taking notes. Stayed in room 338.

All in all, it's a great place to stay in the gay village if you're on a budget and want to be close to the action...just don't expect any frills or staff who care.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank w999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

The St Andre is a little gem in the heart of the Gay Village. The location is perfect. Near the Metro and walking distance to downtown. The Staff are very helpful and friendly but what i love about his hotel is the small breakfast they serve directly to your room at whatever time you want. They only negative i would have to say about this hotel is that it is getting a bit run down. It could definitely use a new paint job, new carpets and the rooms could be a tad cleaner.

But for the price and location you can't go wrong.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank penny687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Hotel is basic, but a pleasant small hotel in Berri-UQAM area. The Staff is very accommodating . A nice touch is having breakfast delivered to your room and that additional "special" service is included. Sometimes a little noisy, but the location was perfect for my needs. Easy connections to Metro.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 741lolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

Great location, friendly staff, clean room, awesome delivered breakfast and cheap! Couldn't ask for more! Definitely value for its price. Breakfast was big enough we could have some of it for lunch also. Lots of cool places to eat and drink nearby.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amba6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

I am writing this review as a courtesy for those who don't want to be bitten by bedbugs. After spending my first nite at this hotel, I started itching all over my body and thought it was food allergy as a result of eating cuttlefish. Then I felt 3 lumps on the back of my head getting itchy a to as well as the rest of my left arm and right foot. Then when I went back to my room to check on any bedbugs, I couldn't believe my eyes when I saw bedbugs on my bed. My friend also found some on the other bed he sleeps in. He picked up a bigger bedbug with a tissue and presented it to duty manager. He advised me that someone also reported bedbugs last year but the customer did not get bitten as bad as I did.

I had submitted this review and attached pics of my bedbug bite marks before but was not detailed enough and so it did NOT get published. I will defer to TripAdvisor as to whether they want to publish this review since this is my second submission. I hope what I had experienced at this hotel won't happen to other people.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gggg7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Montreal hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Elegant
Hotel Elegant
#120 of 165 in Montreal
180 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Bon Accueil
Hotel Bon Accueil
#113 of 165 in Montreal
70 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
#80 of 165 in Montreal
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Casa Bella
Hotel Casa Bella
#117 of 165 in Montreal
134 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Roberval
Le Roberval
#79 of 165 in Montreal
521 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Quartier des Spectacles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Saint Andre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Saint Andre

Property: Hotel Le Saint Andre
Address: 1285 rue St-Andre, Montreal, Quebec H2L 3T1, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > The Village (Gay Village) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Le Saint Andre 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Le Saint Andre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Saint Andre Montreal
Le Saint Andre Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing