We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rip off”
Review of Sunset Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sunset Suites
Ranked #38 of 100 Speciality Lodging in Montreal
Reviewed 17 March 2012

This is a terrible place! Its dirty, ugly, rundown, and with an extremly unfriendly, arrogant and unprofessional staff. What they promise on the website just doesnt match to the reality. The kitchen has barly nothing in it, you cant even cook a breakfast egg... There is no toilette paper, no cleaning supply. The walls are falling apart - no joke, cracks all over it. The carpet is extremly old and dirty, and it looks like a dog eat part of it - they just tuckered it together!! Overall, its very dirty, the sofa has cigarette burns all over the place. The toilette is not really working, but the water all day long flushing - thats noisy and annoying. So is the staff. Dont even think to complain, they dont listen, and if they do, they insult you. Thats a case for the regie du logement quebec - they should shut the place down. Till than, do yourself a favor and dont go there!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2011

We have moved to Montreal on September and looked for a place to live for the first few weeks. We ended up renting an apartment for a month at the sunset hotel and we were very happy.
Mona – which is in the office helped us to get there and around and gave us useful tips, helped to rent a car and was generally charming.
The hotel has really big apartments and a full kitchen with everything you need to cook. The internet was very good allowing us to be connected to the world as we wish.
There is transportation by bus very close to the hotel.
In general I recommend the hotel as an apartment hotel with nice people, good prices and good apartments.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IfatY Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

In a nice neighborhood, but the Hotel itself is in terrible shape. Spent two weeks (prepaid) there and was so very dissatisfied. It was supposed to be fully equipped and of course CLEAN ON ARRIVAL AND WAS NOT... took me two days to get internet, two days for a coffee pot, three days for glasses, ONE WEEK TO BE CLEANED AS IT SHOULD HAVE BEEN ON ARRIVAL.... ONE WEEK FOR A CAN OPENER.... UNDER CONSTRUCTION so woke up to that noise every day....mold on caulked sink and tub.....was told every day it would all be taken care of "tomorrow". Awakened by tenants fighting and dogs barking! Almost never anyone in the office and no phone in the room to call the office or make local calls. The rooms were spacious but not in good shape and the Hotel itself was in terrible condition.... filthy rugs at the inside entrance to hotel, paint peeling....don't stay there. You will have to walk 15 to 20 minutes to catch bus to downtown and 15 to 20 min. to grocery store.

Room Tip: Don't even think about staying there unless you are in your early 20's and don't care ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tess M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

We arrived late at night, although we have called the receptionist earlier and notified them of our late arrival but there was no one to open the front door for us. I had to call a friend who was residing there at the time to contact the receptionist, who lives in the building, to open the door for us and to show us to our furnished apartment.

there was no concierge so i had to take all luggage in by myself . The apartment was dirty but we slept in that night and asked to change the apartment the next morning. They have given us a better 1 bedroom apartment which was cleaner but not as clean as can be accepted.

there was renovation in the building so everyday early in the morning you would hear the construction builders screaming & working. the internet was free, parking was on the street with a first come first serve bases as you might park a bit far down the street. the apartment was spacious with 2 TVs (one in the bedroom with a broken remote and the other in the living room).

No restaurants in the building and not even close by and most of the surrounding stores close at an early hour. No spa, room service, nor swimming pool.

Basically you can get a much better package with a superior service at downtown montreal with a cheaper price.

Room Tip: Don't accept any room on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FTRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2011

Had a chance to visit this great place where the staff is as helpful as the family members. You just stay what you want and the staff members will try their best to get it for you. A clean place to stay in with comfortable facilities to just relax after work.
Not very expensive furnitures but were decent enough and you get what you require. Must say that the arrangement of the things were perfect and practical too. Just can't stop myself describing about my experience there. I would recommend others to go there as good as the price are in the same limit when I stayed there.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nirav07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2010

Very practical because it is fully furnished and equipped. Perfect for a solo traveller on business because of kitchen, dining room, and quiet area. Very reasonable pricing. I would recommend it also to families because the apartments are very spacious. They are currently renovating some suites and I've seen some of them and they are very nice! But they didn't have any available at the time I was there. Staff is very nice and always willing to help. Although there is not a 24-hour management, someone is always willing to help anytime in case of emergency. I would go back for sure, considering the price, practicality and space!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carlytb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2007

First of all, it took almost an hour just to have the door answered in this very run-down apartment and poorly maintained building by the manager "Maria" (whom I think lives in the apartment?). Our on-line reservation was not honored (we were told it was cancelled when we never did so) and we were given a price higher than what we were supposed to pay. The manager insists it was really reasonable for us to just pay that amount and that we don't have to go through Travelocity. But because we had kids and did not want to drive around looking for a hotel, we decided not to argue and to stay anyway. The rooms have good square footage (as other reviewers have said) because it is REALLY an apartment building with actual people living in it, BUT the place is very rundown and the manager reminds you that it is not a hotel - so do not expect to have towels delivered to you, no wake-up calls, concierge.... and just "don't complain much". We did however complain later about our reservation not being honored through Travelocity, and it took almost 3 months just to have the issue addressed by the manager who would not budge and we still paid the same higher rate and just let the matter go ------There are better accomodations in Montreal for what we paid . We had to park at the streets because of some construction being done and the hotel is easy to miss through the mesh of freeways. Travelocity advised us to write a review.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JumpingNorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#22 of 165 in Montreal
2,723 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
M Montreal
M Montreal
#2 of 100 in Montreal
367 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#7 of 165 in Montreal
2,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
#49 of 165 in Montreal
2,288 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Residence Inn by Marriott Montreal Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Suites

Address: 2445 Sunset Avenue, Montreal, Quebec H3R 2Y9, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 100 Speciality Lodging in Montreal
Price Range: £90 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether for business or vacation, we offer an ideal solution, with convenient and comfortable fully furnished and equipped apartments for rent.Our furnished apartments are adapted to short-term or long-term stay in Montreal (3 nights minimum). We offer daily, weekly, monthly and also annual rates.Our furnished apartments are spacious, fully equipped and multi-serviced. They provide more space and flexibility than most hotels in Montreal. Rediscover the comfort of home away from home with the amenities of a hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunset Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing