We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs Maintenance”
Review of Sunset Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sunset Suites
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Needs Maintenance”
Reviewed 12 July 2007

We stayed in a two bedrooms suite/apartment with a another couple, friends of us. The building is located a little far from Downtown, but it had a garage we could use, which was good. The area where it is located is not very good.
The building looks like it was very good in the past, but it needs some urgent repairs. The apartment we stayed was very big, but in a very bad condition and not clean at all. One of the bathrooms didn't have the toilet seat, and sometimes it would torn on the light. It was actually funny, when we could get the light on we would try to don't turn it off anymore.
The balcony from the master bedroom was in very bad condition, it looked like it would fall at any time. The beds were not comfortable.
There was no room service. Our contact person was very nice. However he would forget whatever we asked him.
If you are in a tight budget and traveling with you family, this is a good option, because the suite is huge, it has a kitchen and a big living room.
I wouldn't recommend this hotel for couples though.

  • Liked — Room size
  • Disliked — Cleanliness, condition
  • Stayed July 2005, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gremio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    8
    3
    3
    8
See reviews for
16
8
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Medina, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2006

Nice accomodations, close to supermarket, andf train station to Montreal., Very nconvenient. Management terrifically helpful, let us choose which unit we wanted to stay in. We had 2 bedrooms and two bathrooms. Kitchen was adequately stocked for cooking.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
Thank cwfjmf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 4 October 2005

I stayed in Montreal for two nights. It cost my brother and I 250.00 $US on my visa but it was worth it for the extra bathroom. The room was very big and we had a dining room section also.

I hate prof.wrestling, so having two tv's was a plus. WiFi was good too but my battery was low. They should rent laptop batteries. Otherwise the stay was reasdonable, even with the exchange rate. The General Manager, Mr.Chad Theriault was exceptional and made sure we were satisfied. He followed up my battery complaint. But, we left that day. I loved Montreal. We will probably come back. Maybe then they will have laptop batteries.

Stayed October 2005
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2005

We all loved it.

It is close to the Trudeau airport and the staff was sweet. It is really a charming place. The lobby is all in marble and the rooms are the biggest I have ever seen in a hotel. We had two bathrooms and two tv's. We were laughing when we walked in because it just kept getting bigger and bigger. It was like a presidential sized room exept they have alot of them and they were really inexpensive at$ 130 US.
Parking was free but I don't know how long that will stay. We have 3 kids, and the room was still too big for us. It is like our house with separate rooms for everything.

We did need to pay for the train and bus but otherwise the building and staff was great. It was the most space for the dollar. Great hotel, we will definitely stay again.

Stayed August 2005
Helpful?
5 Thank Christie77777772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Residence Inn Montreal Westmount
Cote-des-Neiges-Notre-Dame-de-Grace
Hotel Ruby Foo's
Hotel Ruby Foo's
#62 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Parc Suites Hotel
Parc Suites Hotel
#18 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorval / Airport / Train Station
Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Airport
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Loft Jacques-Cartier
Loft Jacques-Cartier
#15 of 94 in Montreal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
LikeAHotel
LikeAHotel
#10 of 94 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Suites

Property: Sunset Suites
Address: 2445 Sunset Avenue, Montreal, Quebec H3R 2Y9, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 94 Speciality Lodging in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether for business or vacation, we offer an ideal solution, with convenient and comfortable fully furnished and equipped apartments for rent.Our furnished apartments are adapted to short-term or long-term stay in Montreal (3 nights minimum). We offer daily, weekly, monthly and also annual rates.Our furnished apartments are spacious, fully equipped and multi-serviced. They provide more space and flexibility than most hotels in Montreal. Rediscover the comfort of home away from home with the amenities of a hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Sunset Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing