We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a one night stay”
Review of Le Roberval

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Roberval
Ranked #81 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Reviewed 13 June 2014

My husband and I only stayed there one night. We arrived in the afternoon and had a room write away. We had a kitchenette room with a microwave. Room was clean and bed was comfortable. Continental breakfast was basic-croissants, bagels, toast, cereals, coffee and tea. The hotel is located right by St. Denis where they close the streets off to traffic on some days. There are a lot of bars and restaurants there. Hotel was good for the one night we needed it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ANTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (549)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

108 - 114 of 549 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

Good points: the location (near the UQAM metro station), the size of the room (including microwave, fridge, TV), breakfast

Bad points: the noise (of the fridge in the room, of the neighbors' showers, of the street) made the nights short!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank P P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My sister and I stayed here for one night and it was exceptional. The hotel was super clean as soon as you walked in. The room was in great condition. The front desk staff on every shift were super friendly and helpful. They let us park our car in the garage way before check in and keep it there after we checked out for a small fee of $7.50(on top of the $15 for the over night parking which I thought was fair). The garage parking is a bit tight but if you have a small vehicle it's no problem. I would not recommend new drivers to attempt this.

The breakfast is like any other free continential breakfast but the coffee was fantastic.

There was definitely some sketchy people in the neighborhood but overall it wasn't too bad. It was close enough to Old Montreal that you could walk there in about 10-15 minutes and it was also very close to Sainte-Catherine St.

We would definitely stay there again and recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Calista H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I spent a weekend here in July. Montreal weather can be extremely hot and humid, and my hotel room's air conditioning made my stay incredibly comfortable. The hotel is very close to the UQAM metro station which takes you almost anywhere you'd like to go in Montreal, and downtown shopping, the Village, and Old Montreal are all easily in walking distance. As a single traveller I found my room bigger than I would ever need-- a large space, kitchenette, and big bathroom where nice features-- and extremely clean. Having breakfast included downstairs was great, and I found the staff to be very helpful and friendly. I will definitely stay here again next time I'm in Montreal.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jolenetara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I stayed for 5 nights with my husband and my elder son. The room was ready (since I called from the airport to inform of our early arrival). Check in was fast and the front desk lady was friendly and helpful. The hotel is clean, room was clean and we slept comfortably at nights and did not experience any next door noises. The kitchenette was well stocked and of great help. There's a nearby grocery,pharmacy and dollar store for a few things we needed. Continental breakfast for the 3 of us was good enough although it was the same stuff daily. And oh, location is great, Metro station was only a few minutes walk. Wifi was free and fast. Over-all we had a nice experience, very good value for the price and I really told the front desk lady when we checked out.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bel618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I stayed at Le Roberval over a weekend with a friend to celebrate his birthday. Everything was as expected - room was clean and beds were comfortable. Very decent sized room with a work desk and a mini fridge. A 15 minute walk to China Town, and 15 min walk to St. Catherine.

We skipped out on the breakfast option. Reception was courteous. Check in was efficient. Upon check-out they quickly checked the room before we could leave. I found this kind of strange, as most hotels I've stayed in have your card details and any incidentals are charged directly on the card. Our room was fine and all was well in the end so only a minor note. They called us a taxi to get to the bus station which was ready for us when check out process was completed.

Great service, great location. Would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rileyhalden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed one night and overall our experience with this hotel was highly disappointing,

(BED) the largest bed they have in the entire "hotel" is Double bed, and for 10$ more they'll try to sell you a suite which they say has a bigger bed, but is simply a double bed in a larger room, and for 2 adults that size bed can be very small..
(AC) The air conditioner in the room didn't work, and when we called the front desk to ask how to start or fix it, they said during this time of year they weren't up and running, so it's the hotel that decides for you if you need it on or not, even though we (the guests) we're hot in our room.
(NOISE) The walls are paper thin, you hear everything! There was all kinds of noises happening throughout the night, banging, rattling, leaking pipes; my bfs a deep sleeper & even he was awaken 3 times throughout the night
(BREAKFAST) They say breakfast is included, that's a joke, it's more like pastries are included. No eggs, no meats. Its all store bought pastries and toast.
(PARKING) They have no parking, so unless its the weekend, be prepared to spend 12$ a day on outdoor parking

If you're traveling alone for a long period of time, the room has everything you need (bed, fridge, table, TV, stove, etc) . Even though the neighborhood looks very run down, at least you're close to the old port and downtown.

All in all I would not recommend and never return to this hotel especially for a romantic getaway, if you're travelling alone for work or something it's not so bad.
It's way too OVERPRICED for what's provided
this is more of a hostel than a "hotel".

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kristina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
#51 of 165 in Montreal
883 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Lord Berri
Lord Berri
#117 of 165 in Montreal
487 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
#87 of 165 in Montreal
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Y Montreal
Hotel Y Montreal
#70 of 165 in Montreal
199 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Candlewood Suites Montreal Centre-Ville
The Village (Gay Village)
Auberge Le Pomerol
Auberge Le Pomerol
#59 of 165 in Montreal
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Roberval? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Roberval

Address: 505 Rene Levesque East, Montreal, Quebec H2L 5B6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: £51 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Roberval 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Montreal’s Quartier Latin, Hotel Le Roberval is in the heart of the city’s cultural centre. Its proximity to transports, main attractions and major festivals sites makes it the perfect solution for travellers seeking clean and comfortable accommodation at rates defying all competition.All of our 76 downtown Montreal suites and studios will meet our guests expectations, and our professional and friendly staff will do all they can to make sure you enjoy your stay in Montreal!All our rooms are non-smoking and equipped with modern amenities such as LCD flat screen television, high quality mattresses, free WiFi Internet. Our rooms are furnished with wet bar, small fridge, microwave and coffee maker. Our downtown Montreal suites and studios include a kitchenette or full kitchen making them the perfect lodging option for longer stays and weekly and monthly rates are offered all year round. Why pay more for a simple hotel room when you can have your own studio or apartment in Montreal for a fraction of the price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Le Roberval reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Roberval Montreal
Le Roberval Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing