We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Book early to avoid disapointment!”
Review of Gite Ocoin B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gite Ocoin B&B
Ranked #14 of 146 Montreal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Book early to avoid disapointment!”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We had a very comfortable stay here for 3 nights. Rene is a great host, he is always up for a chat and should really write a book to describe his life - quite a few good stories!

The room was clean and a good size, we had an ensuite toilet but the bathroom was shared with one other room. This wasn't too much of a problem however as he provides nice fluffy bathrobes and we never had to wait to use the shower. The room was right beside the street but we didn't have too much trouble with noise.

Breakfast was nice, probably the best we had cooked for free in US and Canada. Rene was full of advice on where we should visit during our stay, the area known as "The Village" nearby is colourful (to say the least), wouldn't recommend to families after dark.

One awkward moment occurred when Rene left our omelette in the grill and didn't notice for 24 hours until he found it and thought we had tried to cook a chocolate cookie (??) and left the charred remains in there for him to clean up. He then told everyone else in the B&B that we had done this until we corrected him when we arrived at breakfast. Maybe a bit more subtlety would avoid offending other travellers. Just a thought? :)

Overall though we would return, it definitely is an experience you won't forget

Room Tip: If a private bathroom is a must - book early. Otherwise, we had no problems with our shared bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JodeCam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
87
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We stayed at Gite Ocoin for 1 night (for the second year in a row as it turns out) and had a
fantastic time. I don't remember much about our first visit but this was excellent. The place was immaculate, and there was free street parking. As many reviewers have mentioned, the owner Rene was the best part of the stay. He is hilarious, made us feel at home, and went out of his way to help, even driving us to our dinner restaurant. I look forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goonergal69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Gite ocoin is a small bed and breakfast, with 4 rooms. The location is away from downtown, but only minutes away from Frontenac metro station. The metro in montreal is very good, and you can use it to get to most places in the city. I booked a room with a separate/non-shared bathroom. The room is nice, clean with a comfortable bed. The shower cubicle is inside the room, which was different, and the bathroom is across the hallway. The free wifi was good.
Breakfast was also excellent, which is made by the host and owner Rene. Breakfast included eggs, cereal, juice, fruit and yoghurt, coffee and pasties.
The most important aspect is the owner. Rene is a very friendly guy, who genuinely wishes to provide comfortable and excellent accommodation for his guests. He chats and tells stories about old montreal, and gives advice regarding the city. Along with the location close to a metro station, this makes it a very good place to stay. Would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bas17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Although the location isn't nearby the viewpoints but it's easy to take metro to go everywhere u want. We won't forget the host, Rene. Not only friendly, also helpful. He took care us everything, just like our uncle. And u can chat with different country visitors. If u have a GPS, it's easy to find the place. In the cool weather, this B n B made us feeling warm.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Shadowso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Normal, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

My husband and I spent four nights at Gite Ocoin. For us the B & B offered everything we wanted, although it definitely has the feel of a home, so you should make sure that it what you are looking for.

Rooms: Our room was very comfortable and everything that we wanted/needed. We were in room one and had a toilet and sink in our room and a shared shower down the hall. I could potentially see having a room with just a shower being a little odd, but that was not the set up for our room.

Location: The B & B is extremely well located. We like to walk and we were able to get downtown in less than an hour of walking. The metro is also only located about a five minutes walk away. The immediate neighborhood feels very safe and quiet and about fifteen minutes walk away there are lots of restaurant options.

Breakfast: The breakfasts are definitely a B and B highlight. Everything that Rene served us was delicious and we really appreciated being able to eat such a good breakfast every morning.

Host: Rene is an excellent host. He is warm and friendly and willing to help us out with our plans without ever being overbearing. The first night when my husband had arrived and I was en route he even offered to pick me up at the bus station. He definitely cares about his guests and goes out of his way to make everyone's stay as enjoyable as possible.

If you are someone who likes B & Bs and a home like atmosphere than this is definitely the place for you!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachmishon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed at Gite Ocoin for 2 nights and had a great time. Rene is a wonderful host and makes you feel at home. He will go out of his way to help you. The room was very comfortable and had everything we needed. Breakfast is served from 7:30-11:00 am and is very filling. There is 24 hour coffee / tea and you can use anything in the kitchen / refrigerator anytime you want. Frontenac is the closest metro station and is at 4-5 min. walk from Gite Ocoin. Parking is a bit limited, but don't worry Rene has you covered. Everything is good about this place, but what makes this place special is Rene. He is a wondeful person and genuinely cares about you.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bhramar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

My partner and I were very pleased with this bnb during our stay in Montreal. Our room was big, clean and fairly well soundproofed. Breakfast was good; go for the eggs benedict! Rene, the owner, is a very charming and hospitable character. The bnb located in the eastern part of town; not the nicest part but the surroundings seemed safe and the subway station is 5 mins away. Would definitely recommend this place to any couple, of any age.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank XavLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#2 of 165 in Montreal
357 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Bed & Breakfast du Village - BBV
The Village (Gay Village)
La Loggia Art & Breakfast
La Loggia Art & Breakfast
#11 of 146 in Montreal
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Victorian Heritage
Victorian Heritage
#4 of 146 in Montreal
226 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Auberge de La Fontaine
Auberge de La Fontaine
#15 of 146 in Montreal
376 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Petite Auberge Les Bons Matins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gite Ocoin B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gite Ocoin B&B

Property: Gite Ocoin B&B
Address: 1930 due Dufresne, Montreal, Quebec H2K 3K6, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gite Ocoin B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gîte Ocoin consist of a self-contained, fully serviced four bedroom, two bathroom ground floor apartment with it's own private entrance. In the same building as your hosts, it is ideally located in a quiet and safe area of the city just three blocks from the Frontenac subway station and a mere twenty minute walk to the central core of the city with it's festive venues, museums, shops, restaurants and eateries, to name a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Gite Ocoin B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing