We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply the best....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Montreal Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
Ranked #23 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Simply the best....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

The title says it all.
We stayed for 3 days in this fine recently renovated hotel and found it to be excellent in each and every area. We booked the hotel online through the hotel website and find the rates in par with other websites.
It is not a very big hotel in contrast to other downtown hotels but surely the best in its class.
The location is excellent with walking distance to all the tourist spots, malls and restaurants.
There are couple of metro subway stations with in minutes of walking. The airport shuttle service stop is just at the door steps of the hotel.
We flown in so didn't used the hotel parking.
The staff at the reception goes beyond to please and accommodate requests, we asked for an early check in and it was done with a smile, thanks Nicholas.
The concierge staff at both the entrances are so helpful in advising the places to visit with the help of maps, all are fluent in English.
The lobby area is small cozy with two areas for sitting.
The Wifi is complimentary both in lobby and in room.
The elevators are fast, quite a few and requires card entry for added security.
We booked the King room, which was very large, up to date, very clean with a desk area, a sitting corner with double sofa and a nice big king bed with a very comfortable mattress.
The floor to ceiling window provided excellent view of the Montreal skyline.
The washroom is very big, with a large mirror and a large walk in standing shower. There is no tub. The walls and floors are all marbled with nice pictures on the walls.
All the amenities and toiletries were modern and ample.
The daily maid service was right on time, when ever we came back in the afternoon our room was made up.
The room has a mini fridge, coffee maker with free coffee refills and a complimentary 2 water bottles.
The Hotel has a swimming pool / gym which we didn't used.
There is a nice restaurant near the lobby, with an excellent view of the surroundings through big windows, provides great tasty variety buffet, please do try the plain croissants, very good.
We mostly used the nearby outside restaurants to feel the city more.
One of the beautiful mall of Montreal is just in front of the hotel, The Desjardin mall, great shops and the most beautiful food court ( Separate review).
Highly recommend this hotel for its location, facilities and most of all customer service conscious staff.
Room Tip: Choose high floor rooms for great view of the city.

Room Tip: High floors rooms on east side
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Brad J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francis B, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Montreal Downtown, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
We would like to thank you very much for the great review. The hotel is new and has been open only since late september 2013. Your review is very detailed and it does reflect our hotel. We do have some beatiful spaces for our guests to meet and relax on the main floor and also on the second floor just up at the top of our stainless steel stair case.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    468
    235
    55
    16
    31
See reviews for
216
257
32
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

This hotel is new, fresh and clean. Located in a great area, close to restaurants and shopping. There is an IGA located across the street for any items you wish to purchase and store in the rooms mini fridge. The room has a Keurig coffee maker so handy for the first cup of morning coffee. The hotel restaurant is very nice and offers a nice breakfast and dinner menu. Close walking distance to Old Montreal. All staff were helpful and very professional. For anyone interested in taking in a Casino. It's an approximate $20 cab ride. Very comfortable beds and really quite.

Room Tip: Higher floor for best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shakerToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Glens Falls, New York, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Stayed here May 5-8, 2014. Beautiful hotel, centrally located. Within walking distance of Old Montreal, Metro, Chinatown, shopping and dining. Rooms were beautiful, spacious and very clean. Bedding was quite comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Two of them in particular went above and beyond to help us. If you get the chance to stay here, Stefano will go out of his way to help you with anything you need. The restaurant and bar area were also quite nice with good service. We were able to connect to the WiFi just fine, but for some reason our cell phones would not work. Not sure why. The only downside of this visit was the room was very noisy at night. There was some noise like something running and stopping and restarting that resulted in buying earplugs to sleep. We were told the hotel was full, so we didn't bother asking to be moved. Did not get the chance to visit the pool/gym area. This was my 3rd choice. First choice was booked, second choice was too expensive. Very happy we stayed here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KJC2692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francis B, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Montreal Downtown, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for your review. We will share this with all our team and will definately give Stephano an honorable mention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Stayed here for 2 weeks on 2 separate business trips last November and December, the hotel had just opened 2 months prior and was still going through some minor growing pains. Room temperature control was the biggest issue that I experienced (maintenance had preset all rooms to a certain temperature and you were not allowed to turn it either up or down, making the room really warm in my case), but other than that it was a pleasant stay overall. Hopefully this issue has been resolved by now, 4 months later.

As with the current Marriott trend, this hotel has the same minimalist/contemporary hotel theme. But I will say that this place did feel and look more high-end than your average Courtyard hotel. It was most definitely an overwhelming improvement over the aging and decrepit Marriott Chateau Champlain a mile down the street. With my Marriott status I was given a larger king-bed room on the 9th floor overlooking the east side of the city (partial view of Old Montreal)l. The room comes standard with a flat screen TV, pull out couch, mini-refrigerator, personal safe and Keurig machine. With everything being new it’s really difficult to find something to complain about.

The gym, pool and hot tub area on the top floor are fantastic. The hot tub is a little deceiving since it looks bigger than it can actually accommodate bathers and there are not enough jets built into the walls. The sauna in the locker rooms are a good alternative if the hot tub gets too crowded. There is also a coin operated laundry facility on the top floor. The in-house restaurant, the Darlington, has a great menu and Happy Hour specials, which was convenient when it was 0 degrees out and you didn't want to go exploring anywhere outside for a quick bite to eat. The restaurant manager and bartender, Meghan and Paula, and the rest of the staff really do a great job of keeping the atmosphere here upscale yet familiar and friendly. I would highly recommend a meal at the Darlington even with all the other options you have in Montreal.

The hotel is conveniently located minutes away (walking) from Rue St. Catherine, Chinatown, The Underground City, Notre Dame Cathedral and Old Montreal. If it wasn't the middle of winter I definitely would have seen a lot more of what this city had to offer. And if you were looking for some basic food and snacks, there is the local IGA supermarket in Complexes DesJardins diagonal and across the street from the hotel. I would stay here again if I returned to Montreal.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sway76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

My friends and I stayed here for 2 nights and this hotel was exactly what we needed! The staff was friendly and accommodating, and the room and the rest of the hotel in general was very clean and well-maintained. The pool and gym area were great and the location of the hotel was perfect, allowing us to be quite close to all the main attractions we wanted to reach (McGill university, the basilica, etc.) All in all, I would definitely recommend this place and I'll check it out again whenever I end up returning to Montreal!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilinca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williston, Vermont
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

My family of 4 stayed here for two nights, and we were very impressed! We have two little kids, and the hotel was pristine. The staff was extremely friendly and very accommodating. Pool area was beautiful and clean. Parking was tricky due to the sharp turns and narrow parking spaces; however we like how secure it was to get in. Thank you for contributing to our wonderful stay in Montreal!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank goconnor08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Terrible customer service - they care more about upholding their unethical corporate policy than their actual long-term, loyal, elite status paying customers. Good luck if you ever accidentally book a room with their advanced rate and try to change it. It doesn't matter if you change it within three days and 3 MONTHS prior to your stay - they can care less. They will take your money and hide behind their corporate policies. I'd go somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Lizz010214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francis B, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Montreal Downtown, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your advance purchase reservation at the Courtyard by Marriott Montreal Downtown.

I have spoken to our General Manager Mr Ghislain Lacelle and he joins me in offering our apologies for any frustration that may have arisen in the handling of your concerns. To uphold the integrity of the rate program, we regret that we are unable to refund your charges. However, in view of your loyalty, the hotel has offered to apply your charge as a credit toward a future stay at their property. Please be assured that we make every effort to publish the terms of our rates. When booking an advanced purchase reservation, it is noted at the time of booking, and again on your confirmation. In view of this we feel Mr. Lacelle’s offer to be a fair and generous response to your concerns.

We truly value your business and hope you give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier des Spectacles
Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#22 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Quartier International
Embassy Suites by Hilton Montreal
Quartier International
Le Westin Montreal
Le Westin Montreal
#28 of 164 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Montreal Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Montreal Downtown

Property: Courtyard Montreal Downtown
Address: 380 Rene-Levesque Boulevard West, Montreal, Quebec H2Z 0A6, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier International
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Montreal Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard Marriott Montreal Centre-ville is located in the heart of downtown Montreal in the quartier des spectacles district, on Rene Levesque boulevard West. The Courtyard Marriott Montreal Centre-ville is a contemporary design by Brian Burrows Architects of Montreal; development by the CANVAR Group of Montreal, a leading Montreal real-estate developer. The Courtyard Marriott Montreal Centre-ville is sure to become a landmark in the downtown Montreal core.Located one block from Montreal's Convention Center and minutes away from the world famous underground city, Place des Arts Theater, shops and boutiques on vibrant Ste. Catherine Street, Bell Center, and 3 street corners from old Montreal.Our hotel in downtown Montreal operates as a full service boutique style hotel, predominately serving corporate travelers; with ample underground parking, sauna, whirlpool, spacious exercise room, indoor roof top swimming pool and outdoor terrace with a fabulous view.Our lobby dining room & lounge at Le Darlington features ample seating in a warm spacious and inviting setting serving: “a la carte” breakfast and continental menu for lunch and dinner daily.For meetings up to 300 people, we offer modern, spacious, well equipped, comfortable meeting/banquet facilities.Courtyard Marriott Montreal Centre-ville will easily become the place to choose for corporate travelers, business meetings or a weekend getaway. We are sincerely looking forward to serving your lodging requirements.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Courtyard Montreal Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing