We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful Awful Awful”
Review of Hotel de L'Elysee

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel de L'Elysee
Ranked #148 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awful Awful Awful”
Reviewed 10 March 2013

I don't even know where to start...
We arrived at the "hotel" and it was in a dingy, out-of-the-way location. When we went to enter the lobby, the front door was locked even though it was 2 in the afternoon. After some knocking, a man came to let us (4 eighteen year old girls) in. He gave us a weird look, and interrupted our check-in with a call during which he talked loudly (in french, assuming we didn't understand-but we did) about a previous customer who had defecated in one of the hotel room beds the night before. We were slightly taken aback, but kept a positive attitude since our expectations weren't high to begin with. Finally when we reached our room, we found that it smelled bad and wasn't very clean. From there everything went downhill. We were in a room with balcony access, but the balcony was slanted and looked like it was falling off the building... Then we found pubic hairs in the sheets and ON THE DRINKING CUPS. If this wasn't disgusting enough, we found a fake fingernail and a french fry on the ground. The beds were literally held up by bricks and phonebooks. After 15 disgusting minutes we decided not to spend the night, and went downstairs to get our money back. The employee said he could not refund us and said he would call the owner. The owner couldnt be reached, so we decided to leave and call later since we didn't want to waste a day in montreal over bad hotel. While we were on our way out, we heard loud, pornographic sex noises coming from the rooms above. This hotel is definitely infested with illegal activities. When we called back, the owner was extremely rude and yelled at us, never actually giving us a reason for not giving us our money back. He hung up on us after we yelled back.

Don't go to this hotel. It's not safe and it's not worth the cheap price. We ended up spending a mere $20 more for a night in a gorgeous hotel in the heart of downtown.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cassoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    12
    2
    6
    18
See reviews for
1
7
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ajax
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Unfortunately we were looking for a hotel last-minute and this was all that was available. We didn't read the previous Trip Advisor reviews until after we booked (and it was beyond the deadline for cancellation), so you can imagine how reluctant we were as we pulled up.

The entire place is really disgusting. When we entered the 'lobby' there were dirty sheets and clean (?) sheets on the public lobby couch, I assume waiting to be folded. Also, the pics don't really give an accurate representation of the place - it's much grosser. We inspected the bed for bed bugs, and as far as we know there weren't any in our room. However there were a few other issues. The sheets had blood stains all over them. The window near the exterior stairs did not lock so we had to lock our valuables in the car. And lastly, the toilet didn't work. Of course we didn't find that out until after we used it. The guy at the front desk gave us a plunger that wasn't exactly effective when the toilet wouldn't flush anyhow. We tried and tried and eventually water came over the toilet seat and all over the floor. Ew ew ew.

That was all in the first half hour, so we ended up forfeiting our payment and going elsewhere. Worst of all, it was a busy weekend so they charged us $130 a night! But I think that's a small price to pay to avoid all the possibilities that can come with bed bugs, as well as to avoid the traumatic experiences that the other reviewers endured. Don't stay here, even if it's the last place available.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Montreal hotels

Toronto
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

I stayed for a few days and it was just terrible.

The service was unfriendly, the room was small and not very clean.

But the works came when I noticed marks on me and my boyfriend. Itchy marks. I didnt realize it was bed bugs till I went to a doctor , who confirmed bed bugs, and then I packed up, the hotel refused to give me a refund , I couldn't believe it, I argued with them, had to pay to see a doctor, but all this hotel cares about is grabbing your money and screwing the customer.

Don't go! Just don't.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AnnieO_70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2010

We had numerous troubles:
The towels were too small and were never changed, even upon request, for 3 days. No facecloths, hand towels, soap, shampoo. We asked for more towels repeatedly and they were not available.
They advertise air conditioning but it was rarely on, and this weekend was very hot.
Rooms are dirty, smelled and bedding did not get changed even after requests.
Garbage was never removed.
When asked for a refund, we were told to wait for management who did not arrive at the suggested times. When the manager finally arrived, we were told that it was too late in the day. Luckily a friend had another room in a close hotel so we were able to move at no extra cost. The staff, except for one day person pretended not to understand English. Both English and French were NOT their first language which made communication even more frustrating.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oreoToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal,quebec
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2009

I read the reviews and I thought this would be a good place to stay, but if you pay attention to the reviews, the last good one was before 2006. I know there isn't a Sam or Eddy there now. It is 3 Chinese brothers. I stayed there for a week, while I was touring the universities. The were so rude, just snooty in general, very nosy. I think they even go in your room when you aren't around. The place is infested with hookers, seriously. EVERY night, I heard guys coming in and out of rooms, loud sex. So noisy as well. Not safe, window latches broken. Fan in washroom broken. breakfast is literally bread and instant coffee.I woke up with bed bugs bites all over me, it became swollen and so itchy, and i mean all over. My boyfriend had it too. I went to 2 doctor's and they both told me it was bed bugs(Scabies). I was extremely upset. I gathered my things and was leaving, I told him I was not paying the remanding amount which was over 100, because I had to pay to see 2 doctor's ($60/each) as well as pay for a prescription. They grabbed me, my stuff, 2 guys (my bf wasn't there when I was leaving). They basically trapped me, finally I gave them half. I was so upset, crying. They yelled at me telling me It was my fault and there was no such thing as bed bugs. This isn't just the worst hotel, this family is beyond rude, no manners, disgusting people that would treat a GUEST this way. Someone that stayed over one week. They even treatened to call the cops on ME when I asked for a receipt. PLEASE DO NOT GO HERE THIS PLACE NEEDS TO bE SHUT DOWN. IT IS DISGUSTING, INFESTED WITH PROSTITUES AND INSECTS,DO NOT GO HERE THERE ARE A TON OF HOTELS, YOU WILL REGRET IT.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank missah85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Que
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2007

My boyfriend and I decided to stay in Montreal one night just for the fun of it. We walked in and asked for a room. It seemed to have some renovation going on, but we didn't care.
During the evening my boyfriend kept saying he was being bitten by something, but there wasn't anything anywhere. When we finally did got o sleep he woke me at 4am yelling about there being bedbugs and him being bitten. Sure enough we throw on the lights and check the edges of the matress and there were bedbugs scurrying away as well as under my pillow. My boyfriends armes were red with the bites as was his torso. We went downstairs right away and told them there were bedbugs everwhere and we didn't want to stay there and wanted our money back. He pretended he didn't speak English. He wouldn't give us our money back. DON'T EVER GO THERE!! I would have been happy with my money back, after that I didn;t feel clean again until I got home and showered.They have BUGS! They know they have bugs, they weren't surprised. We even killed some bedbugs and left them on the nightstand!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — The bed bugs!! And not getting my money back.
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank missy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicoutimi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2006

This was the worst experience I've had at any hotel.
the rooms are really dirty and miserable for the price you pay.this place is not recommended.

  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank nabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Le Saint Andre
Hotel Le Saint Andre
#103 of 165 in Montreal
309 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Bon Accueil
Hotel Bon Accueil
#112 of 165 in Montreal
70 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Elegant
Hotel Elegant
#119 of 165 in Montreal
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Hotel Dorion
Hotel Dorion
#144 of 165 in Montreal
47 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Roberval
Le Roberval
#79 of 165 in Montreal
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de L'Elysee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de L'Elysee

Property: Hotel de L'Elysee
Address: 1633, rue Saint-Hubert, Montreal, Quebec H2L 3Z1, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > The Village (Gay Village) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de L'Elysee 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in the deep heart of Montreal, next to the bus terminal, on the famous street Saint-Hubert at few steps of Saint-Denis Street. The area is known for its many coffee-terraces, restaurants, bookshops, specialized shops of all kinds. We offer peaceful, comfortable and luxurious rooms at prices which defy any competition. Only one visit will convince you to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel de L'Elysee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Elysee
De l Elysee Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing