We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for a great price”
Review of Hotel de L'Elysee

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel de L'Elysee
Ranked #146 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great hotel for a great price”
Reviewed 21 October 2005

We were only going for a weekend and we just found this hotel on expedia. We checked the ratings and decided to give it a shot. Who would've thought that the hotel would turn out this great. We were so impressed. The staff there was very friendly, the rooms were clean and just the right size and, the hotel was close to everything. We would definetly go back again and recommend it to other travellers who are heading to Montreal.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    12
    2
    6
    18
See reviews for
1
7
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 21 October 2005

My daughter and I stayed here for our last night of a 6 day trip to Montreal & Quebec City. (Earlier part of the trip stayed at the excellent Hotel XIX Siecle in Vieux Montreal, but decided to save money for our last night.) Chose this hotel based on good reviews for value and cleanliness. Place was a bit shabbier/plainer than we expected from the reviews but overall room cleanliness was very good for the price. Unfortunately construction going on across and up the street awakened us at 7AM with very loud digging equipment, saws, etc., but that's not the hotel's fault. The surly attitude by the morning front desk person makes me give this place a resounding negative. First, he knocked on our door to inform us that check out time was 11AM--as if we had overstayed, when in fact it was 10 minutes before 11 and we were preparing to leave. Then, he yelled at us for using an upstairs exit door and stairway to bring down a large suitcase. The desk person the day before had allowed us to use this more convenient and less narrow/twisty staircase when we checked in and we assumed it was ok to take the same route for our departure. (The indoor stairway is very narrow and winding and I feared that I'd scrape the walls with my suitcase if I had to bring it up & down that way.) I apologized and tried to explain to him that we had been given permission by the gentleman working the desk the day before, but he just repeated that we were "never" to use that exit and that he didn't care what we'd been told. (Note that I am a woman traveling with my 18 year old daughter, and we did not ask for nor expect any assistance with the suitcase.) I would never stay here again due to his lack of courtesy and overall sour attitude.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Montreal hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 20 September 2005

When we visited Montreal recently, we were looking for hotel with reasonable rates close to the Old City. TripAdvisor reviews of this hotel were consistently positive, and we decided to take a chance. We're very glad we did, and we would definitely stay at the Hotel de l'Elysée again.

Not only is the location great - just a stone's throw from the fabulous restaurants of rue St-Denis and a mere 15-20 minute walk from the Old City - but the staff is outstanding. Many of the TripAdvisor reviews laud Sam at the front desk, and rightly so. Sam ROCKS! The moment we showed up, he was there to let us in and help us up the stairs with our bags. He was an invaluable source of information on everything from where to eat to where we could find a free parking spot for the whole weekend. The entire staff was friendly, and pleased to speak in both English and French (they were extremely tolerant of _mon français mal_!)

I was travelling with two other people, and we had a room with one queen and one double bed. The room was small, but clean and charming with a private bath, TV, and phone, and the rate was excellent. If you're not able or willing to climb stairs, you may wish to request a room on one of the lower floors; ours was on the top (fourth), and we didn't mind the exercise. Free parking was available (including overnight, all weekend) just a few steps away on both sides of rue St-Hubert. There is also a cute restaurant practically next door that serves early breakfast - we found Montreal does not rise early on the weekend.

It rained to beat the band Saturday afternoon, but the location on St-Hubert is also a great starting point for an auto tour of the city's sights, not far from Sherbrooke if you want to see the Olympic Village, or from Mont Royal if you want to tour the swanky heights. And Ile St-Helene is just across the Jacques Cartier Bridge by car if you want to check out the Biosphere or Habitat '67.

Hotel d L'Elysée is no-frills, great value, and perfect for the traveller who is on the go. We'd highly recommend it, and book ahead! We will be next time we visit Montreal.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 20 September 2005

Excellent value! The host was most helpful....recommended excellent restaurants, shopping, called taxis,... Even tracked us down at a nearby restaurant when a mistake in our room assignment was recognized...
Would definitely stay at this hotel again...proximity to metro, St-Denis, St-Laurent, 20 minute walk to Old Montréal,....

  • Stayed September 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 11 September 2005

Everything is close by. Subway, bus station, restaurants, old Montreal etc. Very very clean. Friendly staff. We had a good time.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 9 September 2005

My girlfriend and I spent a lovely 4 days in Montreal over the Labor Day weekend. We chose Hotel de L'Elysee due to its previous reviews on TripAdvisor.com and its wonderful location. The hotel was fantastic! The rooms were VERY clean and the staff was really helpful and friendly! The desk manager went out of his way to find restaurants and parking for us! He also gave us great suggestions as where to eat and places to visit in his city. I would highly suggest staying at Hotel de L'Elysee if you choose to visit Montreal. It is located in the heart of the Latin Quarter and only two blocks from St. Denis, one of the hippest areas of Montreal. We had a great time and will stay at Hotel de L'Elysee whenever we visit Montreal!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2005

My Husband and I recently spent 4 days at the Hotel De L Elysee in Montreal, Canada. I found it through trip advisor and it had some good reviews. The hotel is very clean, the beds are super comfortable and Sam, the manager, was terrific. If we needed anything he would practically run to our room to provide it and even checked out parking spaces for us (parking is not included, but there is a lot nearby). It has little in the way of amenities, no gym, room service, etc, but for those of us who spend most of out time out of the hotel, it's perfect. The price is extremely reasonable and the location is great - several blocks from major restaurants and within walking distance of Old Montreal. We will certainly stay there again.
nnooodles

Helpful?
4 Thank NNoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Bon Accueil
Hotel Bon Accueil
#104 of 164 in Montreal
69 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Elegant
Hotel Elegant
#113 of 164 in Montreal
172 reviews
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Hotel Dorion
Hotel Dorion
#138 of 164 in Montreal
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Le Saint Andre
Hotel Le Saint Andre
#107 of 164 in Montreal
300 reviews
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Hotel Viger
Hotel Viger
#119 of 164 in Montreal
178 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Visitel
Hotel Visitel
#91 of 164 in Montreal
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de L'Elysee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de L'Elysee

Property: Hotel de L'Elysee
Address: 1633, rue Saint-Hubert, Montreal, Quebec H2L 3Z1, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > The Village (Gay Village) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #146 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de L'Elysee 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in the deep heart of Montreal, next to the bus terminal, on the famous street Saint-Hubert at few steps of Saint-Denis Street. The area is known for its many coffee-terraces, restaurants, bookshops, specialized shops of all kinds. We offer peaceful, comfortable and luxurious rooms at prices which defy any competition. Only one visit will convince you to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel de L'Elysee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Elysee
De l Elysee Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing