We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Wedding Night” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Montreal Castle & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Montreal Castle & Suites
Ranked #35 of 144 Montreal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Wedding Night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We had our wedding on March 30 at The Castle of Old Montreal and i can say that it was the best decision we took regarding the wedding Thank you so much for making our day the most wonderful day of our lives, it was perfect, just like a fairy tale…. More perfect than any movie I have ever seen!! It sounds over the top but its true. Not only that, you made our whole stay at the Castle perfect. Right from the start you were all so helpful. Lets not forget your advice to hire Chef John Zoumis to take care of the food . He did a great job, we couldn't have asked for more.
Finally, I would like to thank the management again for the wonderful gift (1 night stay )
which we used on July 16th and again was a perfect night which we got to use the terrasse and watched the fire works. .
Magical place , wonderful staff.

Henry K

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Henry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    19
    3
    1
    14
See reviews for
26
34
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Were you planning on having friends over for lunch?
Were you planning on using the indoor pool or the basement past 9pm?
Did you think that spending over 1k a night entitled you to basic services like wi-fi?

If you answered yes to any of the aforementioned, then you would probably be better off renting an RV and parking it outside of this "Castle".
This $6-million 6000sq-foot suite is had trouble containing sound louder than a hamster wheel. Security cameras surround the chateau and monitor your every movement - think, Big Brother on TVO. Should you decide to have a guest over, one of their representatives will notify you that you have been charged an additional $150, even if they only came over for lunch.
The hot tub had difficulty maintaining temperatures that could even exceed the other side of your pillow. The central air system knows but two temperatures: apocalyptic hot, and ice age cold. Every footstep, finger snap, toothbrush swivel, cell phone vibration, and toilet flush can be heard reverberating throughout the entire compound. This acoustical phenomenon is actually quite impressive, were it not for its unfortunate circumstance. Daily parking, which boasts dimensions slightly larger than a smart car or scooter, is $45/day.
Wi-fi is $25, but who needs youtube when you can open your front door and watch homeless people fight each and yell horrible things to each other in French?

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
30 Thank Johnnn7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Excellent choice in Old Montreal. Beautiful location and very friendly helpful staff. upon early arrival, we were able to store our luggage while the castle was being cleaned. The place is clean and well kept. We can't wait for the chef Thursday evening.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Had a terrible night with friends and family here. Looks nice from pictures. Terrible management, broken stereo and locked unkept balcony. This place is an absolute joke and anyone who thought they were getting a good deal from groupon is buying a burden.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
34 Thank wettowels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Juliet, Tennessee
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

The location, the food, the attention to detail; everything was great. Francois was so helpful and friendly, he greeted us upon arrival and gave us a quick overview of the neighborhood. We were then turned over to the weekend manager, Laurance, who is just a pleasure to be around.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Luchi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David A, Manager at Old Montreal Castle & Suites, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for your review.

Our relationship with our guests is of utmost importance to us.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are looking forward to welcoming your back very soon at the Old Montreal Castle

Old Montreal Castle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King of Prussia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

Old Montreal Castle & Suite really took care of the place. The B&B was immaculate, and well organized. Service excellent. Not only did our host guided us well, his advise and his personally served breakfast are great! I have 2 strikes against the B&B!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Robarts C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David A, Manager at Old Montreal Castle & Suites, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for your review.
Our relationship with our guests is of utmost importance to us.
We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are looking forward to welcoming your back very soon at the Old Montreal Castle

Old Montreal Castle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

We just spent a night in the castle for a bachelor party and it was a great time. We could not have asked for a better place to host 13 people in a private, comfortable atmosphere. We were blown away by the fit and finish and all the amenities. It took us over an hour just to find everything this place had to offer from the pool, hot tub, roof top terrace and all the bathrooms you could possibly need. We opted for the private chef which was able to prepare a fantastic 5 star dinner for 13 people with only 2 hours notice. We could not have asked for a better weekend. I would recommend being upfront with the management as we did and not try and hide anyone who might attend. They were very accommodating and went over and above to make sure our stay was everything we had hoped it would be. Please do not hesitate to book this place as we are already planning our return. Thank you David for your effort.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sorry_customer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Old Montreal
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
LHotel
LHotel
#18 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Bonaparte
Hotel Bonaparte
#4 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
La Maison Pierre du Calvet
La Maison Pierre du Calvet
#27 of 144 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge Saint-Paul
Auberge Saint-Paul
#3 of 92 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge de la Place Royale
Auberge de la Place Royale
#5 of 144 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Montreal Castle & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Montreal Castle & Suites

Property: Old Montreal Castle & Suites
Address: 452 / 452A Notre-Dame East, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1C8, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Amenities:
Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Montreal Castle & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Old Montreal Castle & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing