We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Port Castle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chateau Vieux-Montreal
Ranked #32 of 146 Montreal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Our family had a chance to stay at the Old Port Castle in Montreal. We all were very happy with everything from the reception, the cleanliness and its proximity to everything. We spent most of the time in Old Montreal watching street entertainers, stopping at cafes; however we did visit the King Tut exhibit and had a tour on the St. Lawrence. Everything was walking distance.
We were also very close to Chinatown. It was only a few blocks away and an awesome selection of dim sum.
We arrived around 4pm in the middle of rush hour. The hotel was a little hard to find and the parking was a block away. All this is minor compared to the experience we had.
I would recommend the Old Port Castle to any family wanting to have a unique experience in Montreal.

Room Tip: The smallest room is 3,000 sq. ft. with many bathrooms and excellent comfortable beds.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank sixthcents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
There are newer reviews for Chateau Vieux-Montreal
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

We just fell in love with the place!! Great service,staff, lots of amenities...and what a place!!
6000 sf!! The castle is awesome
In every way!! We stayed for the weekend and had a hard time leaving!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We had our wedding on March 30 at The Castle of Old Montreal and i can say that it was the best decision we took regarding the wedding Thank you so much for making our day the most wonderful day of our lives, it was perfect, just like a fairy tale…. More perfect than any movie I have ever seen!! It sounds over the top but its true. Not only that, you made our whole stay at the Castle perfect. Right from the start you were all so helpful. Lets not forget your advice to hire Chef John Zoumis to take care of the food . He did a great job, we couldn't have asked for more.
Finally, I would like to thank the management again for the wonderful gift (1 night stay )
which we used on July 16th and again was a perfect night which we got to use the terrasse and watched the fire works. .
Magical place , wonderful staff.

Henry K

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Henry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Were you planning on having friends over for lunch?
Were you planning on using the indoor pool or the basement past 9pm?
Did you think that spending over 1k a night entitled you to basic services like wi-fi?

If you answered yes to any of the aforementioned, then you would probably be better off renting an RV and parking it outside of this "Castle".
This $6-million 6000sq-foot suite is had trouble containing sound louder than a hamster wheel. Security cameras surround the chateau and monitor your every movement - think, Big Brother on TVO. Should you decide to have a guest over, one of their representatives will notify you that you have been charged an additional $150, even if they only came over for lunch.
The hot tub had difficulty maintaining temperatures that could even exceed the other side of your pillow. The central air system knows but two temperatures: apocalyptic hot, and ice age cold. Every footstep, finger snap, toothbrush swivel, cell phone vibration, and toilet flush can be heard reverberating throughout the entire compound. This acoustical phenomenon is actually quite impressive, were it not for its unfortunate circumstance. Daily parking, which boasts dimensions slightly larger than a smart car or scooter, is $45/day.
Wi-fi is $25, but who needs youtube when you can open your front door and watch homeless people fight each and yell horrible things to each other in French?

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
35  Thank Johnnn7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Excellent choice in Old Montreal. Beautiful location and very friendly helpful staff. upon early arrival, we were able to store our luggage while the castle was being cleaned. The place is clean and well kept. We can't wait for the chef Thursday evening.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Cathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Had a terrible night with friends and family here. Looks nice from pictures. Terrible management, broken stereo and locked unkept balcony. This place is an absolute joke and anyone who thought they were getting a good deal from groupon is buying a burden.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
38  Thank wettowels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

The location, the food, the attention to detail; everything was great. Francois was so helpful and friendly, he greeted us upon arrival and gave us a quick overview of the neighborhood. We were then turned over to the weekend manager, Laurance, who is just a pleasure to be around.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Luchi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David A, Manager at Chateau Vieux-Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thank you for your review.

Our relationship with our guests is of utmost importance to us.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are looking forward to welcoming your back very soon at the Old Montreal Castle

Old Montreal Castle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#5 of 165 in Montreal
389 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#9 of 165 in Montreal
1,730 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Bonaparte
Hotel Bonaparte
#4 of 165 in Montreal
1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge Bonsecours
Auberge Bonsecours
#36 of 146 in Montreal
79 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge de la Place Royale
Auberge de la Place Royale
#5 of 146 in Montreal
350 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge Saint-Paul
Auberge Saint-Paul
#6 of 99 in Montreal
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Vieux-Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Vieux-Montreal

Address: 452 / 452A Notre-Dame East, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1C8, Canada (Formerly Old Montreal Castle & Suites)
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Amenities:
Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in Montreal
Price Range: £406 - £999 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau Vieux-Montreal 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Chateau Vieux-Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing