We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent customer service & vibe at W Montreal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of W Montreal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
W Montreal
Ranked #20 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Boston,MA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent customer service & vibe at W Montreal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

What a fantastic experience at the W Montreal! From the moment we pulled up to valet we were given excellent service. Pat, who I feel was always there for us when we walked out was without a doubt a professional and an expert in treating guest the way they should. Back to Pat later!

Overview:
Wife and I drove up from Boston to celebrate our 3 year anniversary and 9 years together. W Montreal is in a prime location, steps from Old Montreal and Ste-Catherine. We pulled up and right away Pat came and assisted us with valet our vehicle, and got our bags and brought them inside. Super personable and engaging and just overall very helpful. The exterior of the building is very trendy and modern. It must as it houses both Wunderbar and Otto, two hot spots in Montreal.

Check in:
Super quick check in, never had to wait in line and there were no issues to speak of. Lobby is beautiful with dark lighting, red couches. Definitely our style

Room:
We booked a Fabulous Suite which is the highest category before the WOW and Extreme Wow suites. If you can get the room, I'd recommend it. It's a large open space, with an open bathroom concept. Don't worry, there is a separate are with a door where the toilet is. So there is privacy. Bathroom has both double sinks, huge 4+ person shower with a Rain shower head and there is a separate deep soaking tub. It's a corner unit so you have tons of windows that overlook the park. Fabulous view and tons of sunlight in the morning.

Nightlife:
You really do not need to leave the hotel to experience nightlife in Montreal. They have the super trendy "WunderBar" with a DJ spinning and great visual lighting and beautiful & stylish people. Wife and I are big into fashion so we noticed.
There is also a separate lounge called Plateau Lounge. Cool spot that made some delicious drinks. I had a dirty martini which was made perfectly. And we enjoyed people watching while sitting on the comfy lounges.

Concierge:
Wow! These guys are awesome. I planned a nice surprise for my wife, and the executed the surprise perfectly. I had requested rose pedals all over the room, draw a bath and chocolate covered strawberry's, etc. They timed everything right and the bath was still hot. All of their recommendations for restaurants were outstanding! Thanks again! Wish I remembered their names!

We absolutely loved our stay and we're planning on making a trip back in late November/Early December.I am a SPG Gold member and hope to earn a Lifetime Platinum Status in the next few years. We only stay at Starwood hotels, and we absolutely LOVE the W brand.

We hope to see the same crew there and maybe grab a beer with Pat. Tell him Doug and Julia said hi!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GottisEgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MtlWInsider, Manager at W Montreal, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the great feedback you have provided.

We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our valet service.

Thank you for your review, we look forward to welcoming you again soon !


Sincerely,

W Montreal Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    862
    339
    125
    54
    40
See reviews for
106
560
118
362
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

Another awesome W Hotel that definitely raises the bar in every imaginable category for excellence. Wonderful n Wow & Whatever n Whenever is the motto. If you are looking for the ordinary mundane and vanilla boring flavor then this magnificent hotel is not for you.

As an SPG "Lifetime Platinum" member with over 1,000 nights in 9 years clearly represents my LUV for SPG. Many people never travel often and if they do they typically never leave their comfort zone. I always travel and continue to explore the vast richness of Canada. This W Hotel is a definitely experience to constantly leave you in AWE. From valet to checkin to drinks in the colorful Living Room to the Mega Wow Suite is truly like no other run of the mill blah blah blah no-tell motel.

Don't be boring and boring and boring like every other individual out there that's unhappy and miserable. Step out and mingle as you network with vibrant and energetic people in a Hot Hotel - voted winner of Conde Nast Traveller. Make sure to visit Square Victoria Park right outside your windows n front door, plus have your Google Translator iPhone App ready in case you need to speak some occasional French.

So, enjoy life to its fullest and take no prisoners....book the W Montreal and make history as you are in the centre of the old town with breathtaking culture, attractions, sights, shows, cuisine, and have fun like there is no tomorrow..... In one of the most "ROmantic cities in the world. I don't want to leave this beautiful city and actually, I think I'm gonna stay:))

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Westondrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Our very small room looked into a conference room in the building next door, so was not private if the curtains were open had electrical outlets that failed to work( so my phone did not get charged) had no nightlight in the bathroom and a glass wall from the bed to bathroom meant that anyone getting up in the night, had to light up the whole room to go to the toilet. At least the beds were comfortable, the sheets were good, and thankfully, the room was quiet. But overall the experience was not positive, because we also were not told that the decent sized room we had booked with a view over the park was unavailable, Although we have been to it a half dozen times in the past, we will not be returning. That probably suits them as well. We are not their preferred demographic.

Room Tip: When we had rooms overlooking the park on a high floor, we liked them. However even if booked, ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank auditorgeneral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MtlWInsider, Manager at W Montreal, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you for posting your feedback from your visit at W Montreal.
We are sorry to read that you didn’t enjoy your stay because of the room’s facilities. It is unfortunate that you encountered these issues, our Whatever/Whenever department is always there to assist with any issues.
Thank you for your comment, we will be able to provide the best service possible for future experiences.
I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you once again in a W Hotel and give you an enjoyable experience.

Sincerely,

W Montreal Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

Booked the W for 3 nights. Room was internal with a view into an atrium. Was clean with friendly staff but the biggest gripe was very simply that the hotel, reception and bar was very very dark. I genuinely have no idea how the cleaners know of they've cleaned rooms properly even with all the room lights on. W has a reputation for cool hotels but I think this one misses the basics in its desire to be hip.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirtbuttons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

I've been to many hotels over the years for work, and I can honestly say this is one of the best I have ever stayed at. It is ultra modern, extremely clean, and the service was second to none! I only stayed for 3 days as I was there on business, but I wish I could have stayed longer. I usually struggle to fall asleep at hotels, but instead here, I struggled to wake up as the bed was the most comfortable I have ever had in a hotel stay. I will certainly be going back next time I am in Montreal!

Giulio.

Room Tip: I am confident that whatever room you choose in this hotel you will be fully satisfied!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaianoG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
444 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

I have been to this hotel many many times. We had a few business meetings and I also go sometimes just because I like this hotel. The service is excellent! It's fun to go somewhere and people know you have been there a few times. The bar on the second floor is very cozy. I always get upgraded when I come to this hotel and I am so grateful for this gesture. I have tried most of their rooms on the 10th floor, 9th floor and many different kinds of rooms throughout the hotel. The rooms are romantic,and one of the nicest W I have been too! The restaurant near the lobby has good food but is also a bit expensive. On Friday's and Saturday's people come to the bar in the lobby area so the hotel gets very busy and very noisy. Lot's of people waiting in line outside and the bar and lobby area is packed with people. That could be a bit annoying sometimes. The elevators are safe and like any W you have to put your room card to go up to the floors. It's funny one thing I don't like here is that they don't have a coffee maker in the room for the morning. You need to get dressed and go and get your coffee near the front desk if you want complementary coffee. Overall it's a nice place to stay and walking distance to many of the top restaurants in Montreal.

Room Tip: Corner suites are larger and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
304 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

The W has a bit of a different, non-traditional vibe. Our view was over Square Victoria, and was quite nice. The staff was friendly and housekeeping always did a really nice job with the room during our 4 night, 5 day stay. The rooms are a little funky with huge open shower/bathroom and very modern furniture. The hotel is nicely situated near the Metro, shopping and many restaurants all within walking distance (including the underground RESTO). Old Montreal is also within walking distance, as is the water which offers many opportunities for activities including boat tours.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#5 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Quartier International
Le Westin Montreal
Le Westin Montreal
#27 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,707 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#9 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Montreal

Property: W Montreal
Address: 901 Victoria Square, Montreal, Quebec H2Z 1R1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier International
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#15 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#15 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#18 Business Hotel in Montreal
#30 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — W Montreal 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the city's historic Banque du Canada building transformed into a rich, modern tapestry, W Montreal is close to Old Montreal, the Montreal Museum of fine Arts and the city's downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your W Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Montreal Hotel Montreal
w Hotels Montreal
w Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing