We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night but a real experience.”
Review of W Montreal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
W Montreal
Ranked #23 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2009

We just came to pass an only evening at the W. But it was more than a pleasure.
1st: a sweet happy hour on the terrasse (magnificient view on montreal's downtown)
2nd: the perfect area to find the best restaurants in the Old Montreal
3rd: the hype of the different bars inside the hotel, jet-set and good looking people ;-)
4th: sweet dreams int the very design room
5th: my prefered moment for the morning: the rain shower then the perfect brunch...

Hotel W Montreal: thank you so much for this experience !

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MGabor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,499)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,198 - 1,204 of 1,499 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2009

I've been staying at this W since it opened a few years ago, and I have to say that I love it! It's location is convenient, only being a few blocks from old Montreal, and St Catherine st. The rooms are very cool, and spacious. Althought the staff is very attractive (like so many of these boutique hotels), they are still very friendly and helpful. They also have a couple bars that seem popular, so if you're into that sort of thing it's great. If I have one complaint (and I find this in general at W's), it's that the gym is kind of lame and the closest outside option is kind of far. Otherwise I just love this hotel!

Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
1  Thank MiamiBeachPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2009

Montreal, what a town! So happy to have stayed at this hotel. Great location.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TorontoMamato4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2009

A word to the wise...

Do not stay on the 3rd floor of this hotel, especially on a Wednesday night which is considered "W" night in Montreal. I found this out the hard way when I found out that my room was directly above the nightclub which thumps until 3 am each night. Might I add that it was also very nice to see one of the club patrons pissing in the bushes across the street (can I say small pecker)? He didn't see me waving hello.

So now my expense account is paying for a room on the 6th floor with a wretched litle "window" that looks into some office building and I'm still thirsty after my $6 bottle of water.

All I can say is don't judge a book by its cover.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank koorka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2009

I could have stayed at the W Hotel FOREVER!
The design, the music, the ambience and every last detail at the W was well thought out and perfectly executed.
An instant relaxed feeling!!

LOVED IT!!!!!

1  Thank aleksandra55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2009

great place to relax in the genormous tub, terrific concierge service that sent me to the right restaurants, sites & hoods. perfect blend of happening night spot and place to chill all rolled into one!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2009

This is 5th or 6th W I have stayed in .. usually picked because of low rate .. we usually book 50-60 room nights. But we are taking W OFF the competitive list so I hope management reads these. W is a brand for people 20 or under who do not know what hotels are supposed to be about and that does NOT mean gouging every penny they can out of every guest .. the slogan WHATEVER WHENEVER is best translated to WHATEVER W WANTS WHENEVER W WANTS TO DO IT .. how about an omelet for $18 with an extra $3 charge for spinach in the omelet! $9 for coffee! Plus tip plus another silly room service charge!
The attitude of the W staff is always great: it is just that they have no authority and can not think beyond the end of their nose. IF you are under 30, on an unlimited expense account and wish to get silly drunk, lose all hearing from blasting acid rock and stumble around in under lit hallways and rooms, than this is the place for you. All others STAY AWAY. So many better more charming exciting places in Montreal.

Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
5  Thank don b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#8 of 165 in Montreal
1,541 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#12 of 165 in Montreal
1,797 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 165 in Montreal
1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#7 of 165 in Montreal
2,521 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#3 of 165 in Montreal
1,119 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Montreal

Address: 901 Victoria Square, Montreal, Quebec H2Z 1R1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier International
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#15 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#17 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#18 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: £128 - £320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — W Montreal 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the city's historic Banque du Canada building transformed into a rich, modern tapestry, W Montreal is close to Old Montreal, the Montreal Museum of fine Arts and the city's downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your W Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Montreal Hotel Montreal
w Hotels Montreal
w Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing