We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for one, not so great for us.”
Review of W Montreal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
W Montreal
Ranked #20 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 September 2009

W Montreal is a great, stylish hotel in a wonderful location. This was our first W and we were surprised to find the wall between the bathroom and the bedroom is made of glass. They call it an open concept. It means you can see out into the bedroom. And anyone in the bedroom can see into the bathroom. All the bathroom. In our case, not necessarily a pretty sight. It also means if you go into the bathroom during the night and turn on the light, it the entire bedroom gets lit up bright as day.

Internet access in room is expensive but wireless is free in the lobby and mezanene. There is no coffee in the rooms and no free coffee anywhere. But they did put 2 bottles of W water in the car when we left. The concierge was fabulous, sending us out for one of the best meals we've ever had.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yahooer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,477)
There are newer reviews for W Montreal
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,165 - 1,171 of 1,477 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2009

After lugging your suitcases up the steps to the lobby, you will find that the lobby is strikingly lit with soft, but still garish red illumination, furnished with retro-1950s furnishings, and filled with loud electro-pop sound. The W Hotel was clean, the staff was friendly and efficient, and the location is convenient to the downtown business district and to the Old Port. The spacious room had a very large bath and restroom, but the shower stall, though roomy enough for six people, had a single, non-adjustable rain shower-style shower head in the ceiling and placed next to the wall. Very inconvenient. The tiled floor of the shower stall is very slippery. Watch out! We searched for unused electric outlets and eventually found two behind the plasma TV. The small closet had three very small drawers for clothing. The door to the toilet room doesn't have a handle, but instead a tiny two-finger pull. If the door fits snugly, then "good luck" in opening the door by pulling the tiny door pull. The Tivoli clock radio was superb. The king-size bed was comfortable, but the hideous faux-fur bed cover had an odd odor. "W" is for weird.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SLLTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2009

The hotel is in a great location. I stayed midweek and I didn't find the hotel to be loud or crazy as some of the other reviews have stated. I'm sure it may have been busier over the upcoming holiday weekend.

The Lobby is very tastefully done. The meeting rooms are very pleasant. The guest rooms are clean and comfortable. My rooms faced Victoria Square so it was very nice. Some rooms may have "interior" views and I'm not sure whether those rooms will be as nice. The service is very good. This is the fourth W Hotel I've stayed in and I'd have to say they're pretty consistent in terms of the staff, service, rooms, amenities, etc.

Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
Thank MoreFFmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2009

As title suggested, I had a VERY satisfied stay at this property. Arrived on a sold-out weekend (which is very common at this property), from the moment that I stepped in, I was instantly "in-Love" with this hotel.

Check in
There were only 2 clerks so there was a bit of line but it is not as bad. There are signature W drinks, Apples, and some cheesecake bites for you to enjoy during certain times of the day. Its located on the side of the Welcome Desk.

Room/Suite
I received Fantastic Suite. In this property there are Extreme Wow, Wow, Fantastic Suite (junior suite), Mega room (with 2 Queen Beds), and Wonderful room. Fantastic Suite is very nice. Its a junior suite with swivel TV between the living room and bedroom area. Large chiase sofa and working desk in the living room portion. I love the bedside table. Its the laminated blue color (see picture). I asked the concierge why there are so many blue color in the room. He told me the blue is the official color of MOntreal so the hotel used alot of blue to decorate. Bathroom is very big open plan bathroom (with see-through showers). There are curtain to divide the living room and bathroom area but I know this can be an issue to family. However, not an issue for me. The Bed was very clean and sheets/liens were all in the perfect condition.

Pool
No Pool at this property

Spa/Fitness Center
Located in the basement level. The "Away Spa" is located in the SS1 Floor offers some massage n facial services (no steam room / jacuzzi of this kind), due to limitation of spa facility size, there is no Bliss spa at this facility. The Gym (Sweat) is located a level below that. There are only two elevators at this hotel but only one goes down to the gym so you have to either take that elevator (on the right) or u have to go via spa entrance. Gym is equipped with modern gym facilities and its very well-kept clean.

Staff/Valet
The valet and staff were excellent. Most staffs were very friendly and seems like to enjoy their job. I had an issue where my aerobus driver forgot to pick me up. They were really helpful and trying to contact them for me and offer me alternative solutions to the airport.

Location
Located right across street from metro station (Victoria Square). Easy access to everywhere in downtown Montreal. Easy 10-15mins walk to old town Montreal. 10 mins walk to the Shopping area in Montreal too. Montreal is VERY SAFE to walk at night (I am a solo traveler and couldn't feel any safer).

Overall
This got to be the BEST hotel in Montreal (for young generation) and I did run into some business people who had the meetings there, and a family. They all LOVED this hotel! This hotel's occupancy rate tells you how much people love this place. If you want to have a wonderful getaway, this is the place to be!

*** I have to add that Concierge Daniel was the best concierge I have met so far. He was very knowledgeable , professional yet humerus. I believe the staff /service is the big factor to make a hotel to be "good". Thanks for the good management and staffs at this property, I am very pleased and would definitely recommend this property to my friends.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Doraemon79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2009

We had a fantastic weekend in the Extreme Wow suite! It's the perfect hang-out - we had another small room for 3 people to sleep - and 3 slept here quite comfortably. It's kitted out with some great technology - 2 plasmas and in-room controls for the blinds too. The balcony is a great size and my single family/friends found it quite impressive to bring friends back to :)

Highly recommended overall! Great dinner at OTTO.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikeyyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2009

I want a hotel room, not a 7-11. The room was filled with for sale food, beverages, and even a CD. Even 4 bottles of hard liquor and a half bottle of wine. I don't want to stay in a convenience store. I made them remove everything. Also, I paid with points and dollars. They converted the US room rate quoted basically at par with Candadian dollars--a rip off. "The hotel conversion rate, not the bank rate, applies,"--an insulting rip off that Starwood should not try and get away with.
Despite these (major) annoyances, the W experience was great. The room was outstanding, lofy style. The bathroom and tub were a trip. This was my first experience with the W Group and it won't be my last. It was top notch. And staff was incredible as well.

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2Midwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2009

overall:
even with a free night and free breakfast, it was still a rip-off. nevertheless, i can't deny how great the location and staff were (but i give more credit here to the city and people of montreal than to the starwood hotel group).

pros:
1. location - walking dist from ste. catherine and vieux montreal
2, transportation - entrance to metro is in hotel basement, bixi rack is across street, and easy to hail cabs
3. view of sq. victoria (from some rooms is great)
4. trendy decor and spacious open concept design (contiguous bedroom/bathroom space)
5. staff is very friendly and helpful
6. lounge - a great meeting place before heading out with friends

cons (based on experiences with two different rooms):
1. cleanliness - this hotel is obviously for 20/30-somethings who like to party, which is fine as long as the cleaning crew does its job well. that it doesn't, and it's apparent in the pubic hair left on bathroom floors, grime left on toilet seats and shower walls, and general mustiness in the air and on the linens.
2. cheap, worn out furniture and appliances - it appears that the w hotel has adopted the ikea strategy of using cheap stylish furniture which looks nice when new but crappy with any substantial usage. the hotel obviously gets heavy usage from young people (who themselves have ikea furniture at home) and it's evident in the scratches, dents, and dings in all the furniture (bent curtain rods, torn chairs, scratched up bed frames, dried-liquid splash marks on various furnitures). additionally, some of the amenities are low quality (hair dryer and towels) and the a/c wasn't functioning well enough to pull moisture out of the air (necessary with an open concept design) so it generally feels humid in the rooms.
3. bad smells - hallways occasionally smell like vomit
4. otto restaurant - unimpressive food. don't settle for culinary mediocrity in a city like this!
5. wunderbar - in a city like montreal, where nightlife abounds, i prefer my hotel to be a place where i can retire comfortably after a long day or night out. having a popular bar in the hotel makes it convenient to party (and bring hook-ups back to your room), but makes it difficult to rest on the weekends.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GIJOE512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#8 of 165 in Montreal
1,447 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 165 in Montreal
1,356 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#7 of 165 in Montreal
2,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier International
Hotel Le St-James
Hotel Le St-James
#41 of 165 in Montreal
535 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#6 of 165 in Montreal
2,178 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
LHotel
LHotel
#19 of 165 in Montreal
1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Montreal

Address: 901 Victoria Square, Montreal, Quebec H2Z 1R1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier International
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#15 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#15 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#18 Business Hotel in Montreal
#30 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: £150 - £393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — W Montreal 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the city's historic Banque du Canada building transformed into a rich, modern tapestry, W Montreal is close to Old Montreal, the Montreal Museum of fine Arts and the city's downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your W Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Montreal Hotel Montreal
w Hotels Montreal
w Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing