We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Deliciousness” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sel Gras Restaurant

Sel Gras Restaurant
Ranked #35 of 5,657 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$37
Cuisines: European, Fusion, Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Delivery, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighbourhood: Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Description: Mediterranean Style Comfort Food. Unpretentious and relaxed atmosphere. Wine, Champagne, Oysters, Cocktails and good Food.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“Deliciousness”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

I've been wanting to eat at this restaurant for a while now. I finally had the the time to go last week. The food is outstanding the service impeccable. Probably one of my better dining experiences in Montreal. Can't wait to try the black cod on my next visit.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ilovefiood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    52
    13
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
“Great meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

The food was exceptional. It was a very enjoyable evening even though the restaurant was a little loud. We will certainly return!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rhona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simply Awesome - Amazing people, food and experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

The food at Sel Gras is always fresh and extremely flavourful. The staff does an excellent job at making each and every dining guest feel welcome. Ask for the bloody Cesar and you will be delighted with the twist the restaurant puts on it - down to the hot pepper and pickled detail. The owners at Sel Gras know how to create the perfect atmosphere for any dining experience- be it as a couple, a large group or a more casual meal at the bar. Simply awesome, if you are in Montreal you absolutely must stop by!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food & great experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

I had a great experience and the food was delicious and the service was great. We shared the grilled octopus and tune tartar to start and had the rib steak and black cod. Each dish was unique and packed with flavor… so tasty. It says a lot about one’s character when faced with adversity and you are able to overcome it. Sel Gras has faced that adversity and come back stronger than ever; it shows in their level of service and the quality of their food.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
444 reviews
311 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit, but not Montreal's No. 1 restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

This restaurant deserves to catch a break, having burned down in an arson attack in September 2013, barely a week after it opened. It just reopened in January this year. But does it deserve its current TA ranking as the No. 1 restaurant in Montreal? First, let's look at how it rocketted to the top slot. Prior to my review, Sel Gras had 1 "Very Good" and 27 "Excellent" ratings. All 28 reviews were posted within the past month, 15—i.e., more than half—within a 2-day period (March 18th and 19th). Of these 28 reviews, 21 were their respective contributors' first and only (at the time I write this) TA reviews. As a result, it is not possible to evaluate how most of these contributors would rank Sel Gras relative to other Montreal restaurants, although I do not doubt that the enthusiasm expressed in their reviews is genuine.

We're lucky to have no shortage of great restaurants in Montreal, and there are many strong competitors in the niche that Sel Gras inhabits. Based on the 4 appetisers, 2 main courses, and 2 desserts we shared, my friend and I agreed that the food at Sel Gras is about in the middle of the pack: good and satisfying (portions are ample), but not standout. This is upscale comfort food, slightly on the heavy side. In the same price range and nearby (about 1 km north on the same street), Pastaga also focusses on whole foods and local ingredients but combines them more creatively. Value-wise, again I'd rate Sel Gras as average, with appetisers ranging from $14–17 and mains from $26–36.

The wine menu, while not extensive, is nicely varied. We had an interesting Turkish red, rustic in style, which was a good match to my rib steak.

Service was very good, verging on excellent. The fluently bilingual staff were welcoming, knowledgeable and attentive. Thumbs up too for overall atmosphere: the decor is balanced, clean and minimalist, and the background music (pop) was kept at an appropriate volume, allowing guests to converse without having to raise their voices. The vibe is perfect for dinner with friends; perhaps not the most romantic for a special date, but certainly a viable choice for couples seeking somewhere for casual dining.

I would recommend Sel Gras to fellow Montrealers looking to add to their repertoire of worthwhile restaurants, and to visitors staying long enough to also try some of the others I've rated more highly. If you are only in town for one or two dinners, consider other options first.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
12 Thank WMarkR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sel Gras Restaurant also viewed

Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Sel Gras Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing