We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historical and relaxing”
Review of Victorian Heritage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Victorian Heritage
Ranked #4 of 144 Montreal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Historical and relaxing”
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We travelled from Ottawa for an Easter getaway. A friend had recommended this B&B so we thought we'd try it, and it was indeed a very enjoyable place to stay. The owner, Denis, has put a lot of effort into the renovations and decor, with a Victorian theme that ties in with the original Monk family.

We stayed in Caroline's room, facing away from rue Ontario. It had a very comfortable bed with a massive ornate carved bedframe. I appreciated the fact that after your day's activities you could come back and rest a bit before going out again in the evening, without feeling like you were disturbing the owner.

Breakfast was lovely--good bread, frittata-type omelette, fresh fruit and blueberry and strawberry jams that the owner makes himself. It was also enjoyable to have a lingering chit-chat over breakfast if you felt like it, but you didn't feel obliged. Thanks, Denis, for everything.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victorien311, Owner at Victorian Heritage, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Thank you Andrea for making this nice review. Meeting you was a pure delight.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    30
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
148
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

My husband and I rented one of the apartments for a romantic weekend getaway. The rooms were nicely decorated, the copper bathtub for 2 a great plus, and the mattress simply 5 star. It was nice to have a full kitchen but disappointing that simple things like dishwasher soap; coffee filters; and coffee and tea were not provided. Although we were told to hang a sign for cleaning and bed making every day, only one day out of our 4 day trip was our roomed "straightened" and even then dishes were not washed. So, it was much more an apartment rental than a B&B (the breakfast was an additional $40 per day for 2).

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joAnn0716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victorien311, Owner at Victorian Heritage, responded to this review, 29 March 2013
Thank you for making this review and for mentioning the comfort of the 1st Floor Apartment. Concerning the daily cleaning of your apartment, I am sorry for skipping some requested daily cleaning, we will definitively improve on that. I will also see what can be added in the kitchen for the future guests. The breakfast is an additional $20 + tax per day for 2, not $40; I suspect that Arturo who greeted you last Saturday might have been confused concerning the price of the breakfast. I will make sure that there is no confusion on his side.

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travellers community.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

My parents and my wife and I spent 3 nights here in October 2012. The house is very old but beautifully maintained and decorated like a 19th century dwelling. There was also a full kitchen which we did not use as we were too busy eating out. The copper bathtubs in the rooms were an especially nice touch. Location was perfect, Rue St Denis with all its shops was a few minutes away. The complimentary breakfasts were excellent, especially the hot dishes that were that were changed every day. Parking is a bit of an adventure - you have to back into a tiny lot in the rear. However, our host Denis was very helpful and made our stay wonderful. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: There is no elevator and the stairs are high, so people who have a hard time walking should stay on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Francis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 26 December 2012

My husband and I spent a wonderful three nights at the Victorian Heritage Bed and Breakfast. The house is beautiful and historic. Denis, the owner, is welcoming, a great conversationalist, and cooks a delicious breakfast. He is passionate about the aesthetics and the history of the house, and has thoroughly researched the Monk family's life in the 1800s. Excerpts from Louise Amelia's diary are available for guests to read in the sitting room. The bedrooms are comfortable, and each have large vintage bathtubs. Finally, the location was very central, within walking distance of Old Montreal. We highly recommend the Victorian Heritage Bed and Breakfast as a unique experience!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2012

I have stayed at Victorian Heritage B&B three times now, and each time in a different room. All have been memorable. Denys is a lovely host, the history of the building has been lovingly restored and updated at the some time. Breakfasts are a joy, if you like meeting other guests, but if you want a romantic morning you can still eat in your room. The art is really interesting and the location, in the middle of the Latin Quarter, is perfect. Best of all is the price. Love it.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterK1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We recently stayed at this fabulous B and B ( our second time!!!) in the "Secret Hideaway Room". Not only was the room clean and stunning, but the proprietor, Denys, was lovely. The breakfast was a variety of amazing fresh baked breads, omelets, fresh fruit, coffee, tea, and more...

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bren74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 October 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at the Victorian Heritage to celebrate our 40th anniversary in the city of our honeymoon. This B&B was excellent and Denis was one of the most accomodating hosts we ever encountered. The room was spacious and exceptionally beautiful. The location cannot be better. The breakfasts were great and it was like eating at home with Denis and the other guests. We highly recommend this B&B. Denis will welcome you with open arms and a great sense that you are coming home, not just visiting.

Jim & Alexandra

Room Tip: The suites are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimW328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
#11 of 164 in Montreal
242 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#8 of 164 in Montreal
1,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#5 of 164 in Montreal
1,041 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#2 of 164 in Montreal
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victorian Heritage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian Heritage

Property: Victorian Heritage
Address: 305 East Ontario Street, Montreal, Quebec H2X 1H7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Victorian Heritage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Villa Right Downtown Montreal. Sumptuous rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Victorian Heritage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victorian Heritage b&b
Victorian Heritage Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing