We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Cool design, Friendly / helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Maison du Patriote
Ranked #43 of 100 Speciality Lodging in Montreal
Reviewed 21 February 2013

We were very surprised when we got to our hostel to see how clean and nice it was for such a low price. Even in the mixed gender dorm there were plenty of privacy curtains. The staff helped us out with directions and everything else we needed to know. But be careful - on their website it lists the metro stop you should get off from to get to the hostel. We got off at the listed stop only to realize that they had listed the completely wrong station.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacquelinewait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2012

I loved staying here, and it is more then worth its price. Its location is very convenient, right near the old port, but not a far walk from downtown either. There is also quick access to the metro, and many taxis. It is located on a fairly main street, but is all upstairs, and feels plenty safe and comfortable. It is dorm style, but the private rooms allow for variety of experiences. The staff was also super friendly, and created a comfortable and fun environment for everyone!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thally93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

It is very important that you have your door code if you're arriving late because there is absolutely zero staff there after 6pm. When you walk in the place does smell like feet, but that's because everyone must take their shoes off. I found out later, no shoes are allowed because the floor is made of very creaky wood. I stayed in the large upstairs 20 bed dorm and I thought the privacy curtains were a nice touch, something I've never seen at a hostel before. There were only 2 toilets and 2 showers, but I never had to wait long for either and they were clean. There was a washer and dryer available for use and fridge and table in the kitchen. There was a living area set up with two laptops and a computer available to surf the internet free of charge and a couch.

I didn't experience any of the noise issues and there are night clubs on the street, but maybe I was really tired. It's a good location on a very touristy street that is closed to vehicle traffic in the summer and it's near a Metro station. The hostel itself is very cute, but the biggest issue for me was the lack of AC. I don't think the upstairs is air conditioned at all and there were several open windows.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darthgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

This hostel was fantastic! Very safe, quiet location for our midweek stay. The check in process was smooth, and super convient for our schedule. The dorm style living was amongst the most private I have seen in a hostel and the bed assignments were clear and personalized. I have nothing but great things to say!

Room Tip: The dorm style has curtains that make it a very private experience, even while paying the lower rate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneC246810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

At first glance this hostel has a lot going for it. It's conveniently located near the Metro and Old Montreal is beautiful, yet a bit tacky and touristy. And it is a beautiful building, well-kept, with very friendly staff who are helpful when they are around and can give lots of advice on the best ways to get places and things to do. The only problem is they're often not around.

At night, there's nobody on premises. For us this was fine during the weekdays, as the crowd there was fairly quiet and easy going. During weekends, however, it was party central, and nobody listened to the posted quiet hours. First on Friday we had a group of U of Vermont students partying until after 2 a.m., eight of them to a single private room (not allowed, supposedly), and high on (I believe) ecstasy. When we finally bugged them enough that they turned off the music and left, we got an hours sleep before being awoke again by people screaming in the kitchen while making an omelette. At 3:30 a.m. We opened the door to shout at them to quiet down but they actually couldn't hear us. This was the norm for that night.

The next night a group of young tourists again stayed up until 3 a.m. blasting techno, and again left the building only after repeated requests to turn off the music. The room was littered with alcohol bottles after they left. We complained about the noise and staff told us it wasn't normal but with no one around at night to enforce the quiet hours we found the rules were not worth the paper they were written on.

Surprisingly, we stayed in a private room thinking it would be better than the dorm, but found it much noisier. That's because the private rooms are all on the same floor as the common area, and people go downstairs to the common area to make noise to get away from the dorms. They are absolutely not worth the money.

Do not go here expecting sleep, even with ear plugs, at least not during the weekend.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tessa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

This place was both adorable and relaxing; its walls were covered in chalkboards detailing fun activities and important information. I found a communal kitchen up the stairs from the shoe removal station. Next to this was a little music room with dim yet colorful lighting and instruments set up in a semi-circle completed by fuzzy floor pillows. In fact, the staff seemed almost an anomaly to me. They were the most polite and endearing French people I have met to date. Also the price was very good for a two day trip up to Montreal.


We were a young group and the staff goes away at night so not recommended for people who like to sleep and wake early. There are posted quiet hours but not very enforced and people do snore.

Room Tip: Private rooms are most/only quiet ones on busy nights
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s10morr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

The great stuff: The location was AMAZING-We are two twenty something couples who got separate rooms. It was exactly what we needed for three nights.No problems with security, and there was a very helpful staff.

The bad stuff: DO NOT, i repeat, DO NOT go without ear plugs, or during the month of July. It was 60% humidity and 102 degrees when we were there and it was miserable! There was AC in the private rooms, but not the common areas, and i can't imagine how bad it was for the people upstairs in the bunk beds...ick. Showers are small, and the electric isn't equipped for running hair dryers and ac units at the same time... a little shoddy that way.

Would recommend for single travelers more than couples though.Perfect for a backpacker/tumbleweed :)

Room Tip: If travelling on the weekend, request a room not facing the street and bring ear plugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanaT947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier des Spectacles
Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#7 of 165 in Montreal
2,477 reviews
Quartier International
Hotel Le Dauphin Montreal Centre-Ville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#3 of 165 in Montreal
1,108 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#21 of 165 in Montreal
2,753 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison du Patriote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison du Patriote

Address: 169, St-Paul Est, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1G8, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 100 Speciality Lodging in Montreal
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
La Maison Du Patriote Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing