We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, homey, historical building, B&B, abosolutely fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
University Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #37 of 146 Montreal B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 10 October 2012

This was our first trip to Montreal. We absolutely loved the B&B. The rooms are lovely, we had a great window seat overlooking the street view. Our furnishings looked so warm, homey and appropriate for this beautiful old building. Bed was very comfortable. A great breakfast was very nicely served in the kitchen/breakfast room. Fabulous coffee, our first experience with Montreal bagels, we really loved them. The location is great right near the university and a lovely walk up Mount Royal. We also took advantage of the city bike rental system. If we return to Montreal we will definitely stay in the B&B again. Chris and John C

Room Tip: We stayed in the Queens Room, third floor, walkup beautiful old staircase. Shared bath, very clean a...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
There are newer reviews for University Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2012

This b and b is in a great location, in a beautiful historic home, and has delicious breakfasts that include organic cereals, fruit, montreal-style bagels, croissants, yogourts etc... I will most definitely be coming back here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stef G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

I have only positive things to say about this place. The rooms were adorable, convenient and had everything I needed like a small kitchen, wifi and a hair dryer. Right when I booked the hotel they called me to inform that they didn't have one room for me and I would have to change rooms in the middle of my stay. This barely was a hassle as they took care of moving all the luggage and I could enjoy exploring Montreal in the meantime. It did give me a chance to see that each room is uniquely decorated in a homely manner. Some may call it outdated, but I think it was adorable. There was no safe, which was not a problem for me, but some readers may want to know about this. The breakfast was tasty and elegantly served. I guess the most annoying part was looking for a parking spot. Sometimes it would require squeezing into a tight spot, not to mention that the street has strange parking laws (make sure you read the signs, with my very basic French I could figure out what was written but if that's a problem just ask inside the hotel upon check in). Nonetheless, there is parking on the street and it's free.
Bottom line: Good location, friendly service and not too pricey.

Room Tip: I found the wifi on the second floor was better, probably because it's closer to the office.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SillyMidget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We found this to be a charming B&B, with interesting architectural features, and pleasant decor. We had a room in the Castle with shared bath. Everything was clean and neat. The office/breakfast room was relaxed, homey, and the staff played great music. Nice breakfast, with good variety and great coffee! The staff was friendly and helpful, and very gracious with breakfast service. We liked the B&B a lot, but this is not the best place to stay if you have a car. Parking in this area of Montreal is practically non-existant. When we arrived, we were not told about a parking garage, which I now see others have mentioned. We got a place on the street, but one day when we moved our car, it took us an hour to find a space when we returned. Lots of nice places to walk to and not far from Vieux Montreal and other sights. Ask for the garage, and don't hesitate to stay here.

Room Tip: We loved our third floor room overlooking the trees on the street, but some folks might not apprecia...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Excellent location for walking in Montreal. Friendly, helpful, and competent staff. On street parking is really difficult, but $10 extra per night you get secure locked garage parking...well worth it. You won't beat this one for the breakfast and what a B&B should be. Not fancy...just very nice.

Room Tip: Web site is accurate as to what the rooms really are.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimwoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

We had four rooms in the castle for a couple of nights in June. Overall, it was an average stay for me.

Pros:
Staff were friendly and polite (though insistent you pay on arrival and not happy for us to leave bags)

Parking in private garage - but had to pay for space and only got it if you arrived early)

Fairmount Bagels for breakfast one morning - saved me a walk to the shop

Location good - 10 mins to the subway and a nice area near McGill Uni

Cons:
4 rooms sharing one bathroom is crazy (not the most modern bathroom either) - not sure how we managed it with 7 of us. At least we knew each other, but it would have been awful if you didn't know the people in the other rooms.

Breakfast was good quality, but basic. Yoghurt and simple cereals on the side, and then you'd get offered 'a croissant' or 'a bagel'. Never a mention of seconds. And the other places we stayed (in Ottawa and Quebec) did full cooked breakfasts. Have to say the coffee was great.

Price - ended up being the most expensive place we stayed (don't forget that we were sharing a bathroom with 3 other rooms) and in other B&Bs in the major cities (including Toronto) we had bathrooms and cooked breakfasts.

So, overall whilst the stay was fine, in comparison to the value for money we received elsewhere, it didn't compete. I would say it was ok, but I wouldn't rush back.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katiek14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2012

I would like to correct following small pieces of misinformation:

Parking: There is ample free parking on the street and you can leave your car for several days. Since we have a small garage which can fit only 3 cars, one can reserve a parking space even form our website (for a fee) while reserving a room and can arrive any time.

Bathroom Issue: Please note all our suites have private bathrooms. But these guests stayed in rooms which share a bathroom which share not one but 2 bathrooms. I think the problem in case was the group size. Since they were 7 people arriving at the B&B all at the same time I can see that waiting for the bathroom could be a problem.

Breakfast: We serve several kinds of fruits (Orange, apple, bananas), bagel, croissant, cream cheese, 3 kinds of jam, several kinds of cereals, several kinds of artisanal bread, orange juice, coffee, tea, 2 kinds of milk and cream and several kinds of yogourt and boiled eggs and seconds are always offered and available for self serve on the counter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

PROS:
- Spot on recommendations on where to eat from the staff (yummy food and affordable)
- And help getting everywhere
- Breakfasts where you get to meet other travelers
- Breakfasts that include famous Fairmount bagels, croissants, fruits, yogurt, granola, hard-boiled eggs, milk and cereal, juice, tea, coffee
- Accomodated 3 of us to a room by providing an extra little mattress
- Location was great (closest to McGill U) but we also had a car
- Able to find parkin close by easily - just need to pay attention to when the meters are on and where it is residential only parking

OK:
- Stayed in the traveler room. There were 3 of us and it was on the smaller side with all our stuff but would've been fine if there were only 2 ppl
- Shared bathroom was not the cleanest at times (open and spilled shampoo bottles in the shower) but things were always stocked
- Internet if you have your own computer
- Garage parking - had that for one night and the spot is small and took a little maneuvering to get into in the corner but wasn't too bad

CONS:
- No office computer for guest use

Overall this place was a great value. Thought it was super cute and the staff was wonderful. Maybe next time we would get a private bathroom. But would definitely return!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nutstarr02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Parc Suites Hotel
Parc Suites Hotel
#18 of 165 in Montreal
551 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
L'Appartement Hotel
L'Appartement Hotel
#39 of 165 in Montreal
749 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Castel Durocher
Castel Durocher
#22 of 99 in Montreal
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Angelica Blue Bed & Breakfast
Parc du Mont-Royal
Casa Bianca
Casa Bianca
#39 of 146 in Montreal
95 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Auberge de La Fontaine
Auberge de La Fontaine
#16 of 146 in Montreal
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Bed & Breakfast

Address: 623 Prince Arthur West, Montreal, Quebec H2X 1T9, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in Montreal
Price Range: £44 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — University Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Montreal B&B, located near University Street, at the quiet end of Prince Arthur St. which is one of favourite Montreal spots full of sidewalk cafes and bring your wine restaurants. Train station, downtown shopping malls, Chinatown, festival sites and Montreal's biggest green space (Mount Royal Park) is all within 10-15 minutes of walking distance. We give delicious continental breakfast (bagels, croissants, cheese, jam and coffee). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your University Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Hotel Montreal
University Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing